We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total bargain, nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugus
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Total bargain, nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

Anyone who’s read any of my other reviews will know that I’m a fan of the big American hotel chains or the ‘American Travelodge’s’ as I like to call them and this hotel didn’t disappoint. The room was spacious with two queen sized beds, TV, fridge, wash basin with vanity mirror and bathroom with and over bath shower. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels, toiletries and bed linen, there is also plenty of parking. The reception staff were very friendly and knowledgeable and helped us out with local information such as maps, directions etc. There was also a free coffee machine in the reception area – very nice French Vanilla coffee!

The street this hotel is on has lots of restaurants all along the street ranging from steak houses to Chinese (right next door – seemed very popular). There is also a large shopping mall about ¾ a mile down the road which has a large food court and lots of clothes shops as well as a large TJ Maxx and Sears.

To get to Boston was simple enough, the nearest subway station is about 6 miles away and has ample parking. The receptionist told us that they could also book you a cab to take you to the station which would cost about $10. From there the subway will take you right into the centre of Boston, I think it cost about $6 for two of us (return) and took about 20 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who doesn’t want to pay the sky high prices of central Boston hotels and who doesn’t mind using a bit of local transport to get around!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    195
    81
    21
    14
See reviews for
123
166
50
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September. We just needed a base to sleep in while we visited Boston and Salem. The hotel/motel was brilliant, the room was clean and modern and the bathroom was just as good. The staff were really nice and helpful too.

The only fault I would pick with this hotel is the location. It was just a little bit too far from Boston, so I would not recommend it if you like to be central. It takes a bus ride/taxi to the metro station and then a 15 min trip on there into Boston. We ended up spending a fair bit of money on taxis to the nearby metro stations because we couldn't find the bus stop!

Other than that, it was a nice place to stay and I would recommend if you are on a tight budget, as hotels in the centre of Boston are far to expensive.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed two nights at this place. It is right off highway 1. Our room was on the third floor. It was quite big, nice, and very clean. It was good value for what we paid: $89 per night compared to other Boston hotels. There are plenty of restaurants around the area. I don't know if they have non-smoking rooms, which is usually our preference. The floors smelt awfully smoky! Make sure you have a car though or at least a ride from the subway station. This place is around 8-9 miles from the airport. The best way to go downtown is to park at Wonderland station for 3-4 bucks per day and take the subway. There's plenty of public transport to take your around the city or you can walk to most places. Downtown parking is pretty expensive. If you are planning to visit downtown more often without a car, it might be better to stay at a hotel closer to a subway station.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Very nice suprise the hotel was very clean the restaurant next door was fantastic, the price was good, but if you can afford to pay a little more, I would say, it is worthy to pay and stay closer to Boston, the only thing that I hated was the location it was horrible to merge in the freeway the hotel is right on a very busy freeway the traffic to the airport was very bad, it is 7 miles from the airport but it feels like 20 miles between the traffic and the bad drivers it is stressful to drive. I rented a car to get to the hotel as I figured a cab will be more expensive, it is about the same expense to rent a car or take a taxi. I like staying closer to the city, the hotel is good but too far and complicated to get to the airport and to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

We picked this hotel since it was an more inexpensive option than the typical Boston hotel in the north end of town. We decided to upgrade our room which we were glad we did. Thus we got things like internet connections with the room. The room was small but clean, and the staff was friendly. It is on a very busy route though, and at times was difficult to get out of the the parking lot and onto the highway. On the whole it suited our needs for our time in Boston.

  • Liked — Inexpensive hotel in the location we wanted
  • Disliked — Was hard to get out onto the busy highway it is located on.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

The hotel is located about 8 miles north of Boston, directly at route 1 with many restaurants nearby. Although breakfast was not included in our rate, tea and coffee were complimentary all day. Make sure to get a room which does not directly face the street and which is not close to the elevator (it's really noisy). We were quite content with our room, it was large, clean, had cable tv, wi-fi, microwave and a fridge. The only odd thing was that the basin (which you should think is in the bathroom) was right next to the entrance door. But besides of that, we enjoyed our stay and had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed in the Red Roof Inn, Saugus for 3 nights in June as it was by far the cheapest option our travel agent could find for a room with two beds near Boston. As it's basically a travelodge I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised.

As we were being all touristy and didn't have a rental car we got a taxi from the airport. This was about $25 which wasn't too bad and no more than we would have paid to our travel agent for transfers, even to a city centre hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel they couldn't find our reservation - it was made for the Red Roof Inn in Woburn. It turns out that when the travel agent made the reservation she told us the correct Red Roof Inn (Woburn) but when the tickets came through for the vacation they said the Red Roof Inn Saugus so everybody just assumed the other one was unavailable. However this was not a problem. The hotel staff were friendly and were able to transfer our reservation to their hotel for no extra cost, despite the daily room rate being above what we paid to our travel agent. It was also an hour before checkin but we were able to go to our room immediately as one was ready.

The room was really good considering it is basically an American version of travelodge which we have in the UK. It had everything you needed, had enough room and was comfortable.

The hotel itself is situated on Highway 1 which is pretty noisy when you're outside the hotel but we didn't hear much from inside our room. The only thing we heard was the occasional big-rig lorry going over a bump in the road but it wasn't a problem. If you're renting a car there is a plenty of parking available and it's easy to get into Boston. If you don't have a car it's not too difficult either. All you have to do is walk about 3 minutes down the road to a bus stop, get bus number 430 to Malden Centre and you are able to get the orange line subway directly into all the main stops in Boston.

People have said there isn't a sidewalk by the hotel. This is true but only directly outside the hotel. If you leave the hotel by the entrance at either side then there is a sidewalk in that direction. Or, if you prefer, you can walk though the parking areas of the stores and restaurants next door. There isn't much nightlife in the area but there's a few restaurants and stores. It's only about a 10 minute walk from a big Mall too - all you have to do is walk to where the bus stop is, cross a bridge and you're at the entrance to their mall parking. The mall has loads of stores and a food court. Boston isn't a 24 hour city like new york and things start winding down earlier anyway so you'll find it better to go to sleep earlier and get up earlier.

The hotel is 24/7. There is coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc available 24/7 and there is always somebody at the front desk to deal with any queries. We needed to depart from the hotel to go to the airport at 5.30am and they organised this for us too.

So yeah it's a nice hotel if you don't mind catching a bus to the subway and want to be in a more residential area of the city. In rush hour it can take up to an hour to get into the city if you don't have a car of your own but we got there in under half an hour one time which wasn't too bad. It just depends on the connections.

Overall I was impressed with this hotel. If I go back to Boston on a budget I'll consider it again, however some people may find it awkward being a few miles outside of Boston. I guess it just depends on what your standards are and what you expect in advance. I liked the place.

  • Liked — the staff and the service they provided
  • Disliked — it was a little way out from boston although not so far it was a big problem
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan

Address: 920 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Saugus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saugus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non-Smoking Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan is Newly Renovated and a great place to relax after seeing Boston's sights- Newbury Street, Boston Commons, Fenway Park, Quincy Market, Boston Harbor, The Freedom Trail, The North End, Back Bay, The New England Aquarium, The Swan Boats, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Science Museum, Harvard University, M.I.T, Tufts University, as well as other famous universities, and so much more. If you are traveling on business, we are just miles away from The Hynes Convention Center, The World Trade Center, Boston's Financial District and Boston Convention and Exhibit Center. If you are here on leisure, catch a concert or see the world famous Boston Celtics or Boston Bruins at TD Garden in Boston or head over to Fenway Park and see the Red Sox! Boston has plenty of fun to offer and in the historic Theatre District you will find several live performances nightly at the Orpheum Theatre, Citi Performing Arts Center, The Charles Playhouse and many others. The Red Roof Inn in Saugus is only 5 miles away from Revere Beach, America's 1st Public Beach as well as Suffolk Downs where you can see exciting horse races most of the year. Don't feel like driving into Boston? Don't worry, we are just 5 miles away from Wonderland T Station (subway) where you can park all day for a very low rate and take a quick 15 minute train ride into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan Hotel Saugus
Red Roof Inn Boston Saugus
Red Roof Inn Saugus
Saugus Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.