We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Red Roof that's a Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saugus
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Red Roof that's a Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Red Roof is one of the unique units for a chain that is primarily motels. Exterior and interior updated, newer furniture, decent mattress, multiple pillows, flat screen TV, work desk that is more than just a table. Three negatives location, literally on a busy divided highway, US 1, the remodeled sink and no amenities other than coffee and a free package of tissues. Getting out of this hotel is a little dicey and not for the timid driver as you are merging into moving traffic coming out of the property, miss the entrance and you need to go down an exit, u-turn and travel back to the previous exit to u-turn and try again. The sink is aesthetically cool looking but is a large square sitting on top of the counter making a simple act like washing your face a task unless you're over 6' tall. But the positives outweighed the negatives for this business traveler, I will definitely try to stay here again on my next trip to the Boston area. There are many restaurant options close by no matter which way you go on the highway. Note: request a room towards the back of the property again the Hotel is on Rt. 1.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the hotel away from the highway, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear chainboss,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to read that our newly renovated hotel exceeded your expectations and previous thoughts about the chain. The hotel room you stayed in is updated from the previous Red Roof Inn Generations - however it can now be experienced throughout the entire brand as we continue a $90 Million Re-Design. I know the location can be a bit difficult to navigate if you are not familiar with it, our Front Desk team is here to help with maps, directions and recommendations 24/7 to make your travels as easy as possible. I am glad the positive outweighed the negatives and I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    178
    72
    18
    10
See reviews for
116
150
46
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

At first I was nervous because I have seen what the Red Roofs have looked like before their upgrade, but I was completely blown away!! Everything was brand new, clean and the staff were extremely friendly/helpful. My boyfriend & I travel a lot, and for the price of the room- this is a great option! Flat screen tv, his & her lamps over the bed for reading, fridge & microwave (very useful). I also loved that it was hard wood floors, it seemed much cleaner than the normal hotel carpets. My boyfriend & I were very impressed and will stay here again for sure. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mthaggard,

Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your experience. I am glad the newly renovated rooms were refreshing to you, and I am happy to announce that similar renovations have taken place all across the company... so look for the Red Roof when traveling, the product has enhanced but the value remained the same! I am glad to hear the staff treated you well, I will be sure to share this with them and appreciate when our hard work is recognized. All rooms now have the fridge and microwave as you mentioned, plus coffee makers, safes, etc. so we have all the necessities covered. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A nicely redecorated hotel that had everything I needed. I stayed here one night, the price was just right, the room was very comfortable and will be staying there again soon. I really like the rooms tv, fridge, and microwave. I do wish the tv was more centered but that is nitpicking. Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0305, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear NEnglandTraveler,

Thanks for staying with us and for writing this review. I am glad we offered everything that you needed, we try our best to offer the best value without sacrificing necessities. All of our rooms have fridge, microwave, iron, iron board, hairdryer, coffee makers, work desks, free wi-fi, a safe, and more! Also, the rooms are all newly renovated and am glad to hear you enjoyed the new look! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet and very nice for the price. Our room had hardwood floors that seemed to be pretty much brand new and that is so much better than the idea of hotel carpet! Wall mounted flat screen tv, very attractive furniture/decor. Large desk with lamp, small frige and microwave. This place must have just been renovated because it is above par. They also offer a Military discount so if you have a Military ID, don't forget to ask. You would be hard pressed to find a nicer hotel for under 100 bucks! I would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0305, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Jonesthegi,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We greatly appreciate the positive comments you've made and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to offer a nice clean, friendly and affordable place to stay every day and am glad to hear that is just what you got! The design as you mentioned is new, Red Roof Inn has implemented a major brand wide renovation with hard wood flooring and area rugs under the beds, large flat screen TVs, comfy new beds, and much more! We also do now have fridges and microwaves in all the rooms and complimentary water bottles inside waiting for you upon arrival. Thanks again and I hope that should you return to the area you stop by and see us again.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spacious room, very clean and quiet. Obviously recently renovated. For a two star hotel, we were very impressed. We did not expect the room to be so nice and were pleasantly surprised. We stayed there for three days and enjoyed every minute of it. There is a fridge and a microwave in the room, which is very useful in the case of a long stay. The staff was also very helpful. We would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0305, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear zazou5656,

Thanks so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. We greatly appreciate these kind words and are so happy to hear you were impressed with our hotel. Though we are a 2 Star hotel, we try our best to offer exceptional service, a clean and full functional room, at a great value. Also, we have recently finish a complete renovation so all of the rooms do now have fridge, microwave, coffee makers, large flat screen TVs, new comfy beds, a new design and so much more! We really appreciate the review and hope you return next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel in June 2012. The room was comfortable and clean (refurbished with new furniture / tv etc.) and the staff was very friendly and helpful (thanks Jennifer for helping us with contacting the city hall!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0305, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Fabian_Sent,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and we appreciate the kind comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and the cleanliness and comfort was to your expectations. We also greatly appreciate the kind words about our staff and service and work very hard to make each guest have a memorable experience, I will be sure to share this with the team. Thanks again and we hope to see you next time your travels take you to Boston.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Darvin was a great help this morning in getting us set up with another room. Pleasant man to deal with. Thank you and see you again on 1/7/2013. Rooms are very clean, close to Logan Airport for us. We always stay at this hotel when we come down to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0305, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear shrtstf,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad you found the rooms to be clean, distance to Logan Airport was what you needed, and that Darvin provided you with excellent service. We appreciate the kind words and I will be sure to share this with Darvin and the rest of the team. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla, General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan
920 Broadway
Saugus, MA 01906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan

Address: 920 Broadway, Saugus, MA 01906
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Saugus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saugus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non-Smoking Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan is Newly Renovated and a great place to relax after seeing Boston's sights- Newbury Street, Boston Commons, Fenway Park, Quincy Market, Boston Harbor, The Freedom Trail, The North End, Back Bay, The New England Aquarium, The Swan Boats, The Museum of Fine Arts, The Science Museum, Harvard University, M.I.T, Tufts University, as well as other famous universities, and so much more. If you are traveling on business, we are just miles away from The Hynes Convention Center, The World Trade Center, Boston's Financial District and Boston Convention and Exhibit Center. If you are here on leisure, catch a concert or see the world famous Boston Celtics or Boston Bruins at TD Garden in Boston or head over to Fenway Park and see the Red Sox! Boston has plenty of fun to offer and in the historic Theatre District you will find several live performances nightly at the Orpheum Theatre, Citi Performing Arts Center, The Charles Playhouse and many others. The Red Roof Inn in Saugus is only 5 miles away from Revere Beach, America's 1st Public Beach as well as Suffolk Downs where you can see exciting horse races most of the year. Don't feel like driving into Boston? Don't worry, we are just 5 miles away from Wonderland T Station (subway) where you can park all day for a very low rate and take a quick 15 minute train ride into the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Reservation Counter, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Boston Logan Hotel Saugus
Red Roof Inn Boston Saugus
Red Roof Inn Saugus
Saugus Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Boston - Logan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.