We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 North Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
1 review
“Best Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We have stayed at Palm Garden several times while on medical trips. The atmosphere is somewhere between a large motel and a convention hotel. A full breakfast is included in the rate and always has hot meats, hot potatoes, cereals, eggs/egg combos, juices and make-your-own waffles. If you like a decent breakfast, as we do, this beats anything we have seen at other places and is definitely a factor in our return visits.

We had a small pet on our recent stay and the "pet rooms" are facing the freeway which was quite noisy. Other rooms we have stayed in on previous occasions did not have a noise problem. The list $30 pet charge seemed excessive, but the manager waived the charge at checkout.

We have eaten at the attached Eric's Restaurant a couple of times and the food and service are good, if a bit pricy. We generally eat dinners elsewhere.

The buildings have obviously been around for a few years and have been generally updated quite satisfactorily. We always make use of the microwave and fridge. The rooms have always been clean and tidy, although on one visit we hit the jackpot with a dozen minor defects and a phone that wouldn't accept incoming calls. We had no problem getting moved to another room after contacting the desk.

Management and staff have always been courteous and helpful and checkin/checkout have been quick and efficient.

Overall Palm Garden is a nice place to stay, although we would feel overcharged if we had paid the rack rate.

  • Liked — Hot breakfast selections
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicmanagement, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
The start to a good day is a healthy big breakfast! We're always happy to hear compliments of our exceptional complimentary breakfasts.

Next time you stay, don't hesitate to dine at our award-winning restaurant, Eric's. We are constantly running specials so we're sure you will be able to find a delicious meal within your budget.

We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Patrick K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    74
    26
    21
    23
See reviews for
64
56
24
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

I stayed at the Palm Garden Hotel for 12 nights in December. I was there as part of a business trip, and was only in my room at night, but every day I would come back to a spotless room. The pool is being remodeled, but the grounds are beautiful. They provide a hot buffet-style breakfast every day, and happy hour with 1 free drink on the weekdays. The hotel is located by a strip shopping center that includes a 24h grocery store and a Starbucks. It's an easy walk over to the grocery store. The rooms have a refrigerator and microwave, so I was able to keep a few groceries in the room with me. It is very convenient to the interstate. My room was facing the interstate, and there was some noise, but not enough to cause a problem for me. They do not have interior corridors, but I felt very safe coming back to my room at night. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable environment that made me feel safe.
  • Disliked — Really don't have any negatives...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicmanagement, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
We're so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay! We strive to offer the best service and value in our class.

The breakfast and happy hour are easy to enjoy and if you sit outside on the courtyard tables overlooking the pool it is even better. Please come back soon!

Regards,
Patrick K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stay here for one night with our two teenage daughters. The room was VERY clean and the whole place seemed well kept even thought there was significant upgrading in progress.

We had dinner at the on site restaurant, Eric's and were wonderfully impressed at the quality and presentation. We would recommend them highly.

Even the included breakfast was excellant with make your own waffles, a basic sellection of cereals, freshly made eggs, bacon, etc - this was NOT you typical "continental breakfast"!

We will stay there next time we pass through LA.

  • Liked — Very clean room and nice service.
  • Disliked — We had no problems at all.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicmanagement, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
Thanks for your awesome feedback!

One night is nice but if you stay longer next time you can try more of the menu in Eric's as well as the new Mall improvements with your daughters!

Please come back soon!

Regards,
Patrick K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed at the Palm Garden Hotel due to a conference/meeting scheduled at the hotel; I was a bit worried about the hotel based on the fairly large numbers of negative reviews of the hotel. However, the hotel really is pretty nice. The rooms are clean, rooms spacious, beds acceptably comfortable, and the food is decent. The hotel is not particularly luxurious, but there was no real problems with our stay at all.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicmanagement, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
Thanks for your feedback. We always strive to offer the best value in our class. =)

I hope we can accommodate you on your next conference!

Regards,
Patrick K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

A step up from a Motel 6, but still a motel, not what I would call a hotel. Thin front window and door that allow all passing noise to come through. I was awoken throughout the night by maintenance people, others guests, and the neighbors that live nearby. If you are a light sleeper, this isn't for you. Also, for $120 I'm used to much more.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cicmanagement, General Manager at Palm Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2009
We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay.

We always try to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. I would like to put you in a courtyard facing room on your next visit. =)

Regards,
Patrick K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

I ended up walking in the room, taking in the smell, seeing the dirty bathroom, and pretty much made a decision. I immediately logged on to my computer and found the Courtyard (VERY nice and new) only 1 mile away. One of my major complaints is that this converted motel had a gap under the door and a curtain that did not completely cover the window. So anyone could have walked by and looked into the room - there was about a 2 inch gap. Motels / hotels should need to state that their doors are either enclosed in secured hallways or are open to the outside. The furniture was old and decrepit - I pulled back the sheets to make sure they were clean, but the sheets must have been 1 count or something. I had to use my hotel points I have been dilligently saving for a vacation, but a night's rest in a clean hotel was worth it. I have never been prompted to write a review until now - I will not stay anywhere until I read what others have to say.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2007

Horrible, rude service. Moreover, they are unreasonable. They will quote you one rate, and then jack it up and charge you more when you aren't looking! Go to La Quinta down the street. They are great.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the service
  • Tips/Secrets — stay at la quinta instead
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Hotel

Address: 495 North Ventu Park Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Thousand Oaks
#3 Family Hotel in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Palm Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Thousand Oaks
Hotel Palm Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.