We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average LaQuinta” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Hesperia, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not your average LaQuinta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival, we were trying to get our luggage to our room, however the luggage cart had flat tires which made it quite difficult. When we got to our room, there was a strange smell. Our room was missing a chair for the desk, and we only had 2 hand towels in our room. When we asked the housekeeping lady for more, she said the manager will not order more and they are short handed on towels. The front desk lady got us a chair for the room very quick. She was quite helpful. I can't say the same for some of the other front desk staff.

Our room was very small, but it was fairly clean. It did have a microwave and a refrigerator which was GREAT! The carpet needed cleaning as our socks got FILTHY we would not go in bare feet! We did not have a do not disturb sign either. We did try to go to the fitness room on 2 different times and our key card would not work. When we went to the front desk, the young girl said well you have to have a separate key...well no one told us??? Also, the pool area was suppose to close according to the signage at 9PM.The same young girl at the front desk said it was 10PM. I said well last night there were about 10 people in the hot tub until 2:30AM.

The hotel has the old style air conditioners with a wall thermostat. The air blows out and you cannot adjust where it blows. It is extremely loud when it is running. If someone outside of your room is smoking then the smell enters the room. On our last day at the hotel, an employee was using a blower on the walkway. It was stirring up dust which was coming into the room, not to mention the heave smell of gasoline from the blower. He was wearing a mask...um If he didn't want to breathe it in, then why should my family?

The continental breakfast area was well maintained and stocked. Also the lady that took care of the area was very friendly as well. The only complaint is that the coffee is not strong at all. It is like they are reusing the coffee over and over until there is nothing left.

The location is great since the freeway entrance is very close by. You do not hear any freeway noise because the air conditioner blocks all of that noise. There is also plenty of parking available.

Room Tip: You do not want to be near the elevator since it is extremely loud. Also consider a room not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    42
    24
    23
See reviews for
55
50
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camby, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 4 days. The room was dirty and musty smelling. Room service only cleaned our room on 1 of the days we were here. This is the worst la quint's we have ever stayed at. We had to ask the front desk. For clean towels

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean hotel, small rooms, easy to park car in lot
Hard to move into, no one to help us with our bags going to 3rd floor
Had to get a cart on our own, then go out side and puch up a ramp with 4 turns to get to the elevator in a separate building were rooms are
Glade it was not raining
breakfast was poor to fair wath waterd down liquid instant coffee not a good start to the

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second time staying here. Comfortable, quiet, clean and convenient to freeway and good restaurants. Obviously pet friendly, but area is well maintained. Breakfast buffet is standard La Quinta. Parking is good. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can't find anywhere else to stay at comparable pricing with a pet. Believe me, I have done my research. Rooms are simple but clean, and don't smell like pets. We didn't hear any dogs barking and slept well.

All the people we met were super friendly and definitely dog people. If you have a dog you know what I mean! You will be out of place if you stay here and don't bring a dog! haha

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check In took an unusually long time. Property is spread over multiple levels with limited elevator access. It took time and several attempts to find a parking space where one could find their room. No map of property was provided by hotel staff. Compared to a Holiday inn or Hampton inn, this hotel is falls short in all categories. It is an older property with outdated bathroom facilities and beds. The cooling system was very noisey and did not allow a night of full sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This LQ has been recently updated. New carpet, beds, and towels. Was very pleased with my stay with my two dogs. Even though my room was pet friendly I observed no smell and the room was spotless. Only drawback was the lack of dining options at this exit, but a Chilis is about a two minute drive away.
I am always amazed to read negative reviews of this chain where people complain about dog odor and barking.....the entire chain is pet friendly! If you are in the LA area and traveling with your pet (or not) this place is great!

Room Tip: The back parking lot has a nice, safe dog walking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Address: 1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites 1000 Oaks
La Quinta Inn And Suites Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.