We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent for the value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second time staying here. Comfortable, quiet, clean and convenient to freeway and good restaurants. Obviously pet friendly, but area is well maintained. Breakfast buffet is standard La Quinta. Parking is good. Staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    34
    19
    16
See reviews for
43
39
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can't find anywhere else to stay at comparable pricing with a pet. Believe me, I have done my research. Rooms are simple but clean, and don't smell like pets. We didn't hear any dogs barking and slept well.

All the people we met were super friendly and definitely dog people. If you have a dog you know what I mean! You will be out of place if you stay here and don't bring a dog! haha

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check In took an unusually long time. Property is spread over multiple levels with limited elevator access. It took time and several attempts to find a parking space where one could find their room. No map of property was provided by hotel staff. Compared to a Holiday inn or Hampton inn, this hotel is falls short in all categories. It is an older property with outdated bathroom facilities and beds. The cooling system was very noisey and did not allow a night of full sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This LQ has been recently updated. New carpet, beds, and towels. Was very pleased with my stay with my two dogs. Even though my room was pet friendly I observed no smell and the room was spotless. Only drawback was the lack of dining options at this exit, but a Chilis is about a two minute drive away.
I am always amazed to read negative reviews of this chain where people complain about dog odor and barking.....the entire chain is pet friendly! If you are in the LA area and traveling with your pet (or not) this place is great!

Room Tip: The back parking lot has a nice, safe dog walking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I joined the La Quinta Returns program solely based on the fact that dogs stay FREE at all LQs. I have a 10lb Maltese/Poodle/Bichon son so this was very important to me. To keep it simple, the hotel itself was nice and clean with a lot of included amenities other places nickel-and-dime you for. Fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, free breakfast (although it was meager and we didn't want anything we saw. Wish they had waffles and sausage), free wifi, dog area (but bag dispenser was empty the entire stay), pool and jacuzzi. Front desk staff was not overly-nice nor rude. Just sort of "at work". Our room wasn't ready, even though we came well after check-in, so we sat in the lobby for 15mins. Finally get to our room and it's clean, the bed is comfortable, and there are pink panties hanging from our shower curtain. Wait, what? Panties? Yeah. Panties. Awkward turtle moment. Also, the fridge was so cold it froze my dog's wet food. The fridge, not the freezer compartment. I couldn't find the dial to change the temp so I just dealt. Rather have a cold fridge than a broken one, right?

Overall the stay was good and for the price it really can't be beat. We took the 30min drive down to Malibu, went to a local theater to see Fast 6, ate at a local Chili's...everything went smooth. Dog enjoyed the premises. No barking noise or anything. So aside from panties, great stay. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites 1000 Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel
La Quinta Inn And Suites Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks La Quinta
Address: 1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.