We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE maintenance procedures, food safety, and service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Pacifica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE maintenance procedures, food safety, and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family of 4 travelled 7 hours to LQ from No. Calif. for a family wedding in T.O. The front desk staff was very unfamiliar with the layout of their own property. When asked for a room off the parking lot we were told it was grade level with our room on the 1st floor--great for my wife who has limited mobility. Instead it was DOWN a flight of stairs and we found the room door already propped open. Nice, opening it to air it out? Wrong, carpet had been cleaned hours earlier and was so sopping wet that our socks were soaked after taking our shoes off. "No one had told the front desk", was the excuse. Fortunately, we packed extra socks due to the wedding! Moved directly upstairs to another room that we found was UP a set of stairs! It clogged over 10 times in less than the 2 days we were there. LQ only had ONE toilet plunger in the whole hotel and the night front desk person brought it up and wanted it right back. Later, I had to pick it up many times myself from the front desk and NEGOTIATE so that the plunger would stay outside the room door overnight allowing both of us to have access to it overnight. At one of the AM breakfasts, a fully furry, moldy orange was left in the fruit bowl after being noticed by many food service staff. I, myself, took it out and placed it on the counter where it sat for another hour despite staff passing and looking at it several times! LQ comped one night out of the two but I never received LQ loyalty points for either of the 2 nites we stayed there. GM later called, said plumbing was fine-no clogs found (10 times it clogged), and apoligized for all the bad things and sent a 1 night comp. certificate--still no LQ points. We left tips for the maids--it wasn't their fault. EZ location is handy for the area, as we are already familiar with T.O. and Newbury Park, but would things be better next time or is this normal guest procedures and policies for this location? We were SO looking forward to finding a great hotel in the area when visiting family several times a year! :(((

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    42
    24
    22
See reviews for
54
49
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit unsure about this hotel because of the reviews, but after reading I realized a lot of the complaints were ridiculously picky. We stayed 2 nights while visiting LA. Close enough to drive, but peaceful and less hectic in Thousand Oaks. Plenty to do and eat in the area. We arrived at night and the area felt very safe. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and not at all dated. Not a huge room, but bigger than we're used to. Very quiet on the 3rd floor. No noise through the walls. Fast, clean elevator. Great tv channel options, descent breakfast with plenty of seating area. We used the jacuzzi downstairs, and the pool area is clean and inviting. Also used the laundry room, and it was also clean and reasonably priced. We didn't have our dog this time, but I have to include how much I appreciate La Quinta's friendly dog policy. That and their consistent quality across the US has made us loyal La Quinta lodgers. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am rarely happy with accommodations, especially when under $100/night, but this property is clean, Great staff, and run the way it should be.
Great value---Highly recommend!
My only recommendation is a waffle machine--it would have made the breakfast much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, as it was a long one. The staff were amazingly helpful, and the room met my expectations and more. It is a great place to stay, and I highly recommend the facility! Also, there was the added benefit of being close to the freeway, and close to local dining established. You are never too far from what you need when you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked this because of its proximity to Amgen and very attractive AAA rate. Was overall satisfied with the state of service and level of furnishings. May not be the poshest hotel in town but easily accessible from 101, attractively equipped with working amenities (flat screen, fridge, microwave, king bed, work desk, free wifi) and breakfast (waffles, apples, oranges, muffins, orange juice, yoghurt, cereal,...) included. Hotel has a small clean pool and steaming hot tub outside. There is only one elevator and it is is located approximately in the center of the property, if carrying luggage opt for ground level room instead of third floor. Neighborhood and clientele appeared safe. Would return to this one. Ralph's grocery store and several restaurants in proximity (~1mile).

Room Tip: Rooms away from 101 appear to be quietest. For bargain rates reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The front door opens to the outside (I thought Inn and Suites would open to an enclosed building) so some of the guests smoked and carried on a conversation right outside of our door at 1:00am - 3:00am. We had to tell them to be quiet but they kept right on talking. We have stayed in many La Quintas and this was the worst. Next time we will stay at the Hampton Inns and Suites.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Address: 1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites 1000 Oaks
La Quinta Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.