We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Redding, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“stinky”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had read a previous review that the room smelled funny, well the room stank! It smelled like bleach and throw up. Very small rooms, but a nice pool and hot tub area. The area seemed like a nice one, but I think the they are letting rooms out to prostitutes. Very questionable things going on and my family could not get over the smell. Not going back, ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    44
    27
    27
See reviews for
63
53
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a meeting place for hookers. I went there for dinner and saw a steady stream of men coming in and out of the rooms. On asking, I found that they were there for hookups with the girls who make this their business address. The hotel management were completely uninterested in the report.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

From the creeps in the parking lot to the gross bathroom to the A/C that only ran on "blast" or "off", this hotel was gross. It had a motel feel, instead of feeling like a hotel. While traveling down the coast, I picked this hotel because I thought that the Thousand Oaks area was generally a reasonable one...this hotel did not match up. The price needs to be cut in half to match the experience I had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place is pretty gross, for the most part. Their "pet friendly" rooms smell hideous and more likely than not, they will pass one off on you even if you are not travelling with a pet. It's not just that these rooms smell like animals, the carpets are stained, there is a very pungent mixed odor of urine, sweat, dog, ammonia and some other chemicals that make it hard to breathe. We called a day ahead to make sure we did not get a pet friendly room and even though we were assured by Amber we would not get one, they put us in pet friendly and tried to do it again three more times when we complained. Obviously their customer service is seriously lacking. Another front desk employee, Ilene, became hostile after we told her to stop pawning off the pet rooms on us and just give us a room on the non-pet friendly side that smells normal. I also have to add the people that stay there appear extremely unsavory, so keep your door locked and the curtains drawn. If we had not been stuck here on a business trip I would've just taken my bags and left.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice, clean and comfortable.

Stayed in a 'restricted mobility' room, which was nice and spacious and well located. Having read previous reviews, was initially concerned about safety, as we were on 1st floor adjacent to the car park at the rear of the building, but no issues became apparent on our stay...if anything the night was uneventful and peaceful.

Breakfast room was well decorated and furnished with a good range of options.

We did have an issue whilst booking into the motel which, when constructively communicated to the management was acknowledged and resolved in an effective timely manner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

It was near the Camarillo Premium Outlets, but there are tonnes of other hotels nearby too. I didn't know the area coming into it, so I can't complain too much. Bottom line, I'm used to staying low end on these one-night stays as we were moving across the area from one outlet mall to the next but I have to admit... this was pretty low even on the low end scale: I'd rate about 2-star.

Didn't care for the renos going on next door so it was pretty dusty in the area, so didn't feel I could leave the doors/windows open. Best thing about the place was the continental breakfast, which was decent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Pros:
1. Cheap.
2. Takes pets, no problem.
3. Inexpensive
4. Pool area is OK.
5. Did I say cheap?
Cons:
1. False advertising - no "pillowtop" mattress.
2. Terrible ventilation - no windows that will open, so the noisy AC must be on most of the time.
3. Drug dealers in the parking lot; prostitutes galore.
4. Lowlife customers: screaming couples, drunks.
5. Cars not safe in parking lot.
6. Construction gooing on next door; starts at 7AM.
Conclusion:
If you have to stay here, insist on a room facing the front - not the parking lot. Oh, and the police (who visit with some frequency) are nice to 'normal' people.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, facing front (pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park

Address: 1320 Newbury Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites 1000 Oaks
La Quinta Inn And Suites Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
La Quinta Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Thousand Oaks Newbury Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.