We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Newbury Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Thousand Oaks
Los Altos, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The hotel is lovely with large and beautiful rooms. The parking is free and plentiful. There is free wifi in the rooms which worked well. We had a very nice continental breakfast at the hotel, which included hot oatmeal. The hotel is in a very convenient location off of Hwy 101. If you want to stay in the Thousand Oaks area, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
34
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

As said this was a Great Hotel option for doing biz in the south Simi Valley or visiting the Santa Monica Mountains, why do I know.. Because we did both. My spouse joined me on travel out here while in Simi for biz. The Courtyard shares the parking lot with a Chili's and several other restaurants are within one exit either direction. The hotel is minutes from the Santa Monica Mountains National Recreation Area just along the historic El Camino Rael. About a 1/4 of a mile from the hotel is an historic inn along the historic stage coach trial that ran along the ECR from the turn of the last century. The hotel is about three years old, but very well kept up to look brand new. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, as my buisiness travel always comes with special request. The outside parking area was well lit and the area appeared very safe. The only complaint I would have is that the hotel did not spend a lot of money on the A/C units as they make the room more humid than the air outside. The little kitchenette was a delightful suprise and all the fixtures were modern. The bathroom was clean as was all the linens. My wife thought the breakfast options were expensive and thought for $3.50 her outmeal was soggy, but all in all I believe we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying several times at the Marriott Courtyard, Thousand Oaks. All aspects could not be nicer. It is a newer Courtyard property and it appears they have learned from earlier mistakes. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are good sized and the beds are wonderful. The staff even makes cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

We decided to stay at The Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks on a special rate (Target G.C. Promo). We were visiting The Ronald Reagan Library/Air Force One Pavilion on President's Day (Feb. 16th, 2009) and we decided to stay close to the library by getting a room here. As we checked in, the staff were very efficient and quite friendly. They congratulated me as a Marriott Rewards Silver elite member and allowed a nice upgrade for my parents and me. We got the keys to Room 354, a nice quiet room with views of the courtyard/pool area. Being a fairly new property, the room was fresh and clean. The beds were very soft and the fridge and microwave added a finishing touch. In & Out Burger and Vons were nearby. Right off busy Hwy 101 - Overall, A nice Marriott Property. I would most certainly return. Peace - JG

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas Valley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

My wife and I, along with our 3 month old daughter stayed for 2 nights a few weeks ago. The hotel seemed to be well kept. The front desk staff were friendly and attentive. Checking in was very easy. The lobby was simple but very nice and clean.

Our room must have, at one time, been a double queen room because it was fairly large, which was great for setting up the baby's cradle. The room was very clean and I must say that the shower/tub was the cleanest and whitest I can remember in ANY hotel. You won't really get much of a view, considering the area, but the property itself in kept in good order.

The Chilli's in the front parking lot was a plus, and there are grocery and drug stores nearby. Even the liquor store down the block was of the "non-sketchy" variety.

The breakfast buffet was fairly well appointed, though a bit pricey. I guess for the area it wasn't half bad, but nothing to write home about as far as the food goes. Still not bad. The staff were all very pleasant and right on time replenishing food items and drinks.

Though there were other properties in the area that offered cheaper rooms, I think the extra $10 or so per night was money well spent for the cleanliness and comfort that this place offered.

Kudos to the management and staff. We had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Clean clean clean!
  • Disliked — Nothing really negative to say.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Marriott is the best by far when it comes to reasonably priced, attractive , hotels with lots of perqs. After 3 nights being underwhelmed in three different Hilton Hotels, our reception at the Marriott was a nice surprise. From the desk clerk to the waitress serving coffee the next day, the help was great. Having free Internet (which allowed us to check e mail) after the irritant of Hilton's outrageous charges for same was the biggest bonus of all. Ergonomically, the best room we have had on this trip. Lots of thoughtful extras and well planned design. The beds and pillows were great.

  • Liked — Free Internet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

The Courtyard by Marriott is a perfectly fine business hotel, with my only complaint being that it is a little bland. The hotel could be anywhere, there was no sign that you were in Thousand Oaks or even in California once you were inside. Saying that, the staff were excellent and I would stay there again if on business.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks

Address: 1710 Newbury Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Courtyard
Thousand Oaks Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.