We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 Newbury Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Thousand Oaks
Hurricane, Utah
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were in the area visiting family and had booked a room at another hotel, which turned out to be absolutely a travelers nightmare, dirty and high priced. That hotel offered a free nite but we chose to go to the Marriott. We did not have reservations but the desk clerk Janet was amazing, getting us the room and turning our trip into a wonderful travel experience. We stayed 4 nites at the Mariott, everyone was friendly and helpful. Loved the coffee and the breakfast buffet had a wide assortment of items. Plus loved that you could order eggs the way you wanted them. Definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
34
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a King Executive Suite. I loved the big rooms and the decor. The rooms were very clean. The bed was soooo comfortable. Customer service is great because everyone is so nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was well priced, delicious, and fresh daily. My only complaint would be that the "Happy Hour Bar" is only open Monday through Thursday; however, there are several restaurants close by that are terrific. The pool area is pleasant and private in the middle of the complex. There is also plenty of free parking. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We commend desk clerk Janet for outstanding customer service. We checked in late in the evening on August 2, 2013. We went to our assigned room, and found it smelling of cigarette smoke. Even though she was extremely busy, Janet found a room for us and accommodated our needs cheerfully and quickly. Two very tired travelers were very happy with Janet's prompt attention to our concerns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed for a one night trip, I debated over here or the La Quinta Inn nearby. Since many of the reviews at LQ showed pet smells and smoke in rooms along with noisy AC.


I had a room with double king beds. Comfortable, plenty of counter, closet space and towels.

Glad I stayed here. Quality clean comfortable room. Very modern and up to date. I was surprised to learn it was going to be renovated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are delighted to have received such a positive review from you on TripAdvisor. Our team is committed to providing the best service and accommodations in Thousand Oaks. I agree with you on the surprising fact that our hotel will be renovated later this year. Our team in Thousand Oaks keeps the place spotless, however Marriott requires their hotels to update every six years, and since we opened in late 2006 it is almost time to update. During the renovation our lobby, fitness room and guestrooms will be updated to reflect the latest modern style and furnishings and we hope you will come check us out and see our fresh new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I had booked a King, one bedroom suite at his hotel. We were warmly greeted by the front desk person, and she explained everything to us, very well.

The suite was large with nice furniture, flat screen TV's in each room, nice kitchen area in the living room and a huge bedroom.

There was a desk on rollers and plenty of closet space so one could unpack for a longer stay. Everything was spacious, extremely clean and nicely decorated.

The lobby of the hotel is well spaced out - an area for breakfast time, but not too exposed where people could sit and feel stared upon during their meal. In the back there was another sitting area with a large screen TV and comfortable seating. There was a nice pool area that we took advantage of, and a good shop that had a little of everything. When we did take out dinner it was good knowing we could get plastic utensils at the front desk. In fact, they had everything under the sun there, and not charging the guests for it. This included laundry detergent and dryer sheets; excellent items to have available complimentary.

There was a 24 hour fitness room; meeting rooms and a laundry room. It was surprising to only see one washer and dryer for that size of a hotel. They should have more laundry rooms so people don't have to run back and forth hoping that it is available.

There is one team member that we had enough of by the time we left. Her sarcastic comments when we came back from being on the road were not necessary. I have a teenager with a serious chronic illness and when making the reservation I made this clear as we might need some acommodations. One day she was able to walk down on her own and get some treats - when charging them to the room, the lady looked at the account and saw the notes of "a sick family member." She inquired with my daughter who said it was she who was sick and the lady said: "You can't be too sick if you can eat that candy bar you bought." I found it to be offensive and uncalled for. I did not find this out until we left because my daughter knew I would have gone downstairs and addresses it, and it would have stressed her out.

Beyond this, it was a great hotel, great location, great price and I liked that they were always cleaning the hotel, including the hallways. I would stay here again, as long as I didn't have to deal with that one lady again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelWebster, VP Operations at Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent visit to our hotel in Thousand Oaks. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the majority of the team members you encountered during your visit. We take all guest comments very seriously and will use your comments for training purposes to provide better service in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Close to LA, and we stayes here as option closer to LAX. They gave us late checkout, so we could stay at the pool before flight back home. Decent rooms and helpful staff. Restaurants are close and plentyful. Still not easy to get around Thousand Oaks by foot and have to take car everywhere. Not to far from Malibu if you want to go to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in several hotels during our move from Texas to California over a period of 2 months, and Courtyard by Marriott in Thousand Oaks BY FAR had the best service, and was the nicest hotel we stayed in. We stayed in several Marriott's during this time, as well as other hotels and nothing compares to the treatment we got here. At check in, the evening receptionist was SUPER friendly(we were there July 6-8). I only wish I had her name to put here. She was so helpful and kind, even gave my toddler a little gift. Janet was amazing as well. We had an issue at checkout and she was incredibly friendly and helped us resolve it right away. She also offered to help me out in the future with recommendations of anything we needed since we were just moving to the area. This service was unparalleled, and we'll be having all of our family and friends come stay here. Great service, Big modern rooms, very comfortable!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks

Address: 1710 Newbury Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Thousand Oaks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Thousand Oaks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Thousand Oaks California, the new Courtyard Marriott Thousand Oaks is l mile from Stagecoach Inn Museum and within a few miles of Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, Ronald Reagan Library, Camarillo Premium Outlets and the Strawberry Festival. Malibu Beach, Ventura Beach, Santa Monica Mountains and Channel Islands are all within 20 miles of the hotel. The Courtyard Cafe serves breakfast and dinner. Enjoy the outdoor pool or a beverage in the Courtyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Thousand Oaks Hotel Thousand Oaks
Courtyard By Marriott 1000 Oaks
Courtyard Thousand Oaks
Marriott Thousand Oaks
Thousand Oaks Courtyard
Thousand Oaks Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Thousand Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.