We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a fun place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melting Pot

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Melting Pot
3685 E Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91362
805-370-8802
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 152 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marmon
Description: The Melting Pot is the nation's largest fondue restaurant chain, offering a combination of great food, intimate atmosphere and interactive dining. The Melting Pot strives to help guest create memories through event dining as a destination restaurant perfect for a romantic dinner or a family gathering.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“always a fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

its fondue, keep it in mind. Always a lot of fun. I like that they have a number of cooking "oils/broths" available. While the portion looks small at firsty, it is more than enough without being served piles of junk and carbs. This place is perfect for couples or small groups.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's the Melting Pot experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Four of us dined at this Melting Pot for a special occasion. The wait staff was pleasant, and we were seated quickly (we had reservations). The choices were the typical Melting Pot choices for soup, main, and dessert (if you've been to Melting Pot, you'll know what I mean). We started with beer-cheese soup, then had the fish, Angus steak, and vegetarian items. Finished with dark chocolate and fruit for dessert.

The experience was typical Melting Pot, and I don't have much positive or negative to say.

In my opinion, Melting Pots are priced high for the food product you receive. With four glasses of wine and three courses, the bill was over $250, Much of what you pay for is the time at the table and the experience. You aren't rushed to leave, and you can take a long time to enjoy your dinner and company. You pay for that privilege, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Starter and Dessert are the best part of this restaurant. It is a fun and interesting experience. The entrée course is only an okay thing for me. Unfortunately it appears that the wines are not being kept pre-chilled and therefore, the white wines aren't really served at the proper temperature. We had to wait for them to briefly chill it before they brought it to the table. They placed it in a bucket but without ice to chill it further. The last time we were here, the same experience happened to the guests at the next table. If they chilled their wines, it would improve the experience. What I really liked is that for special occasions, they do have some semi-private rooms that create a private eating experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Terrific service -- average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I'll begin by saying that you can't beat the service. Multiple servers per table, always on the spot to keep glasses filled and to ensure all is well.
The experience is fun, but it's difficult to access fondue pots that are not directly in front of you. I had to reach across the person next to me way too much. I finally settled for using only the favors in front of me. The food is average. For the cheese course, I would have preferred more veggies and less bread. There was LOTS of dry bread. The meat/fish course was very tasty -- if I just could've more easily reached the second fondue pot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This unusual restaurant makes you cook your own meat. No problem: it was delicious. The atmosphere was nice and quiet. One flaw was when the waiter told us that if my partner had any of my food, she would also be charged. What?....Come on!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.