We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolutely "BEST" BBQ in the Conejo Valley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandits Bar-B-Q

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bandits Bar-B-Q
589 N Moorpark Rd, Thousand Oaks, CA 91360-3707
805-497-7427
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 183 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The absolutely "BEST" BBQ in the Conejo Valley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been eating here for years and yet I'd never posted a review. It's one of my favorite restaurants in the Conejo Valley. The BBQ food is absolutely incredible, the Tri-Tip melts in your mouth and the prices are fantastic. I've tried BBQ in other restaurants out here, but they don't even compare to Bandits! The food is hot, fresh, an delectible and the service is great, it helps that the prices are extremely reasonable as well. Great ambiance too with a Take-Out area as well! Overall the "BEST" BBQ in the Conejo Valley and Beyond! A definite must try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    27
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good menu and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

All of the food I've tried here has been well-prepared and of good quality. The BBQ items have good flavor, and the sides are both unique and delicious. The salads and seafood items were also quite good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, pricey,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went there for New years eve, Great Ribs, steak was awesome, menu pricey. Service in the Bar area is the Best. Great atmosphere

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great sit-down family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food at fair prices. They recently did an overhaul on their menu and it is exceptional. The management and employees are very friendly and accommodating. The server "Patty" is one of the best. I highly suggest the steak salad. Good ingredients and lots of meat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than most commercial BBQ restaurants I have visited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am a KCBS BBQ judge so I tend to rate commercial BBQ restuarants like I would if I were judging a contest. Wehn I first went to Bandits I asked the waitress (who got me the manager) if I could buy a rib. I told him I had been disappointed too many times before at other places (they over-cooked them and the meat wasy mushy) so I didn't want to order a slab without knowing how that cooked them. He obliged and I was pleased with the result. I than order my slab and had a very good meal. I went back in November and order them again, same good result.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandits Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Thousand Oaks, CA
 

Been to Bandits Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandits Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.