We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umami Burger

Umami Burger
2200 E Thousand Oaks Blvd, Thousand Oaks, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 152 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Thousand Oaks, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Unique burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been to this restaurant several times now. Having a 16 yr. old son definitely makes this a top choice (especially for him)! I'm not a huge burger fan but, have to say, I will eat one here easily! The meat is freshly ground, buns are freshly made and condiments excellent and housemade. I really like the way the meat is prepared since it's more on the rare side but, my kids will request well-done so, be aware that you can make special requests on how to cook it. I've tried many different burgers here and each one has been unique and very good. The fries are delicious- perfectly done, thin and crisp on the outside. My favorite dip is the garlic aioli but, there are four other choices and each are very good depending on your taste.

We have always had very good service so, I can't complain at all in that area. Personally, I think this place is on the expensive side so, don't come here if you're on a budget or you'll be shocked!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The burger was good but the service was horrible. Took forever to get drinks, the waiter seemed annoyed with us. Very disappointed I was excited to eat at here. I had heard so many good things about it. Probably won't go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your everyday burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Umami us a small but growing burger chain with a very lean menu containing several designer hamburgers. The meat is of excellent quality and is recommended on the rare side. There are always a couple special sides that aren't on the menu, and food quality overall is good.
The menu is a bit pricey for what you get, and this is NOT the right destination for a typical backyard-style burger craving, but it has its own place in the food universe.
Overall this is a diversion from the typical burger experience and one worth at least trying for yourself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were heading out for a beautiful Sunday adventure. Went to Umami Burger at the Lakes in Thousand Oaks.
We ordered two different burgers with fries and onion rings. The sauces were absolutely fantastic. The burgers were done to our likening.
Service was great! Wonderful place to sit and relax.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hamburger (challenges The Counter). They use a quality ground beef they ground up on site, out of sirloin. Approx 10 different choices of burgers each with different high quality cheese and other ingredients. 11-13 dollars for just the burger, but the price can be justified by the quality of the ingredients and taste. Try something from the large dessert menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

Thousand Oaks, CA
Thousand Oaks, CA
 
Thousand Oaks, CA
 

Been to Umami Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umami Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.