We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hot dogs in Thousand Oaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garage Dogs - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garage Dogs
2626 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd., Thousand Oaks, CA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Thousand Oaks
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hot dogs in Thousand Oaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

No other place can touch Garage Dogs for hot dogs. I always order the chili dog. They even offer turkey dogs. If you want the best hot dog this side of New York, I doubt you'll any that beats Garage Dogs. I discovered this place the first week it opened and have been a steady customer ever since. A really little place on T.O. Boulevard, but a BIG treat for any who discover it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    3
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Veggie dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A hot dog place. You can get a veggie dog charred or boiled in any style with any toppings. They have lots of nice sides like garlic fries, tater tots, sweet potato fries, or onion rings. Some toppings cost extra. Prices are a little high, but not unreasonable. Service is very good. Some outdoor tables.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fancy hotdogs that are overpriced for what you get. There is little seating inside. It is an interesting concept but somehow, it isn't working. It might be helpful to add some regular hotdog choices to the menu at a more reasonable price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not your average Hot Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Garage Dogs is a cool little place to grab a Hot Dog, Tater Tots and a Coke. They have named their many differnet hot dogs after cars, like the Camao, Mustang, and Corvette. Each one is uniquely built, from your standard dog with chilly, to a dog wrapped in bacon and deep fryed. The Continental is incredible, 2 dogs and fixins stuffed in a burrito wrap (substitute the chips for tater tots), you won't be disapointed. Overall a fun place to eat lunch. (on a nice day, sit out back under the oak tree at the picnic tables).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Hot Dog!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My daughter (a sometimes vegetarian -- meaning she eats meat occasionally) had told me about this place when we were planning our visit to see them. I like a good Chicago Dog or Chili Dog and have a favorite place in Seattle (where we live). This place is very popular, there is usually a line, but you are served quickly and the food is prepared when you order and without much wait. There is a real variety of hot dogs, all named for cars or something automotive. I had a "Garage Dog" which is one of the menu items that is bacon wrapped (how can you miss?!) with other yummy condiments. They even do "Rippers" which are hot dogs deep fried until the casing rips. This looks like a family business, very friendly and personable. Give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Dogs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garage Dogs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.