We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great wine pour, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonefire Grill

Stonefire Grill
3635 East Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Thousand Oaks, CA 91362
(805) 413-0300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 183 Restaurants in Thousand Oaks
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly service, great wine pour, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Line to order often gets held up by first time visitors deciding what to eat. Salmon is very good. They are always generous with their wine pour. Quick service and nice outside dining.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at this Stonefire Grill, just at closing time on a Thursday night, but they invited our party of three to stay and eat. As with the Stonefire Grill in Canoga Park, the food is excellent. I have tried the ribs, the tri-tip, pizza and salads and never been disappointed. I decided to try the rigatoni marinara with added tri tip. It was delicious! Never would have thought to add the tri tip to the pasta dish, but it worked. I could probably eat at Stonefire once a week, it is that good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I'm not "Rib-in You"!!!....This stuff is Good!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

For the Uninitiated...Stonefire is a small Los Angeles Restaurant Chain specializing in Grilled meats. You walk in and order in front & pay....they bring your food to you...in a large Restaurant Woodsie comfortable atmosphere. The Specialty is Tri-Tip , BBQ Chicken & Ribs. You can buy all meat or as meal or mix your meats. I've been to about 3 of the StoneFires and they seem to be equally good. Salads are good also.... and come in about 4 different sizes...so it's easy to mix a plate of meats with a large salad & other sides...and share the whole thing. For the first couple of years going there I stuck with the Tri-Tip...finally I tried the ribs and it was also pretty good...then I tried a Tri-Tip Chicken combo...Chicken was excellent. The price is pretty good...I just can't seem to find a complaint with this place!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mico, TX
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent but SO many flies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I split the small garden salad with grilled chicken, and while it was plenty of food for 2 people, it was bland. The chicken was hardly seasoned and the vegetables were not very crisp, which leads me to think the greens are not kept cold enough in the kitchen. This was my first experience with this chain and I was surprised at how busy it was (there was a long takeout line). The best thing about the meal was the breadsticks, they were great. Maybe the pizza is better but I was so put off by all the flies in that place I'm not likely to give it a second chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value for the $$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not normally into self ordering/self seating places, but the food here more than makes up for it. Don't order the "large" size or you'll be eating salads for a week!!! Perfectly done food, nice help from the staff. Will be going back time and time again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonefire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stonefire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonefire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.