We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrazzo level at La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rooms from $219
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“terrazzo level at La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Thanks to concierge Mary Anne before we even arrived and Rebecca during our stay, we experienced almost no stress as we negotiated reservations for lunch and dinner. The room was, of course, not comparable to a modern hotel, but provided the view, the comfort and the amenities of larger chain hotels while maintaining it's historic appeal.
We found the bar area disconcerting in it's public openness (you walk through the buffet/bar area to get from one side of the hotel to the other). It did not feel intimate at all. The restaurant, La Plazuela, was more separate, had good solid southwestern/Mexican food, but did not the feel of a special restaurant. We loved the Luminaria restaurant at the Inn at Loretto and were appalled by the Tabla restaurant at the St. Francis hotel.
So, we do recommend the Terazza level to those who can and are willing to spend more to ensure a quiet, restful, no stress vacation.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    329
    85
    36
    39
See reviews for
230
621
66
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

I am a former resident of New Mexico. I still have great fondness for the place, the people, the cultures and the food. I return from time to time and have stayed at different Santa Fe hotels, including ordinary rooms, and the presidential suite at El Dorado, and suites at La Fonda. The suites in the newer La Terraza section of La Fonda are pleasant.

La Fonda has an unrivaled location and history. It is not upscale. Given La Fonda's location and history the ordinary rooms might be described as interestingly eccentric or funky. Without the location and history they would simply be tacky. Still, it is very nice to venture out to the plaza or walk to Canyon Road and return easily to the hotel for a break.

Service at La Fonda ranges from friendly and helpful, which is what I have usually encountered, to disinterested or even surly. Steve the concierge is excellent and knows helpful details. Some of the management at the hotel restaurant, La Plazuela, needs to take a Dale Carnegie course or perhaps return to their previous employment as a bar bouncer.

Skip the Christmas buffet at La Plazuela. In reality the buffet is not in the airy restaurant at all. Instead, you will be escorted as cattle to a dark, windowless side room where the tables are close together and there is an attempt to overwhelm the cheerless environment with loud music. Eating a pushcart sopapilla seated on a bench outdoors on the plaza would be a better choice.

I do recommend this hotel, but with caution.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

I've been visiting Santa Fe for 35 years, camping on the outer limits, staying in crappy motels, staying in funky motels, wonderful casitas, mediocre condos, upscale hotels, everything. I always thought La Fond would be too expensive though I adore their bar with it's free live music and local crowd and history. This year, we stayed in La Terraza, the concierge floor, in the slight downtime before xmas. An incredible bargain, relatively speaking, but even better: a beautiful room on the concierge level, a fabulous concierge (thank you, MaryAnn, for your smiling face, beautiful persona, and all the help and you, too, Adrian.). The location is impeccable. We never want to stay anywhere else!

I will be honest and tell you that the food is average but large helpings, the service is slow but friendly. Extremely convenient and economical parking. The beauty, the history, and the ambiance are just superb.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

From the staff to the meals, this is the finest in Santa Fe. It doesn't get better than this. Most pleasant and comfortable setting in this beautiful land. Our stay was a trip to remember. This hotel has all the elements of home and leisure. You will love it!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Started our stay greeted by two lovely gentlemen ( Marcos and Gabe). Thy were humourous and had knowledgable answers to all our questions. After seeing our firplace in the room we ran back down to the front desk to ask the nice boys to have it lit. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in our guest robes. It was a perfect birthday weekend retreat. The rooms were set up culturally and cozy. Enjoyed every second of our stay except for leaving!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

For the last 10 years we have stayed at the La Fonda every December for Los Posados (2nd weekend of December) that takes place in the town Plaza - it's a great time! The La Fonda has such a quaint atmosphere; filled with the authentic ambiance that one would expect - and want - when you think of a visit to Santa Fe.

Located on the plaza, and literally at the "end of the Santa Fe Trail" makes this an absolute superb location to park your car on arrival and leave it until you depart! From the earth-tone tiled floors, hand-carved log beams throughout, southwest artwork, variety of shops, AMAZING food at both La Palueza and the amazing lunch buffet in the bar, to the rooftop lined luminarias that sets you in the Christmas mood - the La Fonda captures your senses and delivers on ALL levels! Oh yes, the rooms are also incredible!

The staff is amazing - and Rebecca (Front Desk Manager) could write a book on "How To Deliver The Best Customer Service"! One of the nights, we had very noisy neighbor in the room next to us, and Rebecca went ABOVE and BEYOND to fix the situation and ensure that we remain life-long fans of the La Fonda! Thank you Rebecca!

We have traveled the world and stayed at MANY hotels. But the genuine, yet reliable experience that we have come to love about the La Fonda brings us back year-after-year and has become a wonderful family tradition. The La Fonda IS Santa Fe for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We came for Thanksgiving day and didn't know that Winter Indian market was going on. After dinning at La Fonda, which was superb by the way, we meet the most extraordinary concierge Steven Wimmer. He got us organized and got us to the market where we found several things for your pottery collection. Steven was so helpful we went back to pick his brain some more since the the one thing we wanted badly for our collection was a Santana pot. Steven sent us to a wonderful shop three blocks away and there was the Santana pot exactly where he told us it would be.
On our return to the hotel for the third time we stopped by to thank him and we mentioned the only thing we really needed now to complete our shopping excursion was a 3rd phase chiefs blanket. Don't you know he knew where one was in a trading post on the way to the Grand Canyon. I stopped on my way home to Phoenix and there it was magnificently hanging on a dress form in the rug room.

He is amazing. He must have eyes in the back of his head--- or maybe he astrally projects at night on shopping trips.

Steve is one of the best reasons to stay with La Fonda. The next visit to Santa Fe we are going to stay there for sure. Thank you La Fonda for employing such a professional and knowledgeable staff member.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.