We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, rooms not stellar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location, rooms not stellar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

i stayed at the La Fonda for a short 'get away break" 2 nights in September, We booked a suite room, location was great but the rooms are a little dated for the room price. There was a fridge in the room which was a bonus. On the second day we received a notice that the hotel would have no power from 1 am to 4 am approx , according to the written notice this was a " scheduled " event, one person in my party had medical needs and being with out power during the night was not an option for us, I was dismayed that a nominal refund for this inconvenience was not offered to the guests when the power outage notce was placed in the rooms, We ended up switching hotels at some inconvenience to us, I would have appreciated an e mail, or some information on this before I checked in for my stay. I personally would not pay full tarrif for a hotel without power.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    298
    78
    34
    38
See reviews for
211
558
61
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights. Room large but a bit shabby, windows very dirty. We were told the regular rate for the room would normally be double the amount we paid, As I made the reservation on the phone I took the word of the reservationist. Turns out I was duped. Good location, nice tile on the ground floor, but not a personable experience.
Fitness center / a joke. Like a closet. Swimming pool area run down, enclosed in a small courtyard, pool water was very cloudy.
Lots of noise from neighboring rooms and hallway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had one of the deluxe rooms for three nights. The room was OK. A bit dated but the place is old and historical. The food was stellar in either the lounge for their lunch buffet or a light dinner. Food in the main dining room was wonderful. Fairly attentive service at all the venues. A surly concierge who has probably worked at the job for far too long but he knows where all the dead bodies lie. The main problem with the place is the noise. Paper thin doors to the hallways and adjoining rooms as well. Without even trying you can listen in to conversations going on in the next room. As for sleeping forget about it. Elevator noise most of the night along with drunk friends biding friends good night at all hours. Great food. Great location. But the paper thin doors and related noises made for a miserable experience. Then there was the fact someone kept knocking on our door. Probably just a ghost as no one was ever there. Sadly, there is only a yes or no if we want to recommend the hotel. I would only recommend the place to someone who doesn't mind noise at all hours.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The La Fonda is a beautiful hotel! It is very clean, comfortable and the customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Well, once again I enjoyed a stay at La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. What a treat. I don't relish travel these days but together Santa Fe itself and La Fonda as a part of that experience, make it worth the effort. The hotel is like no other I've visited, and I'm always happy to return. Now to plan next years meeting and push for a Santa Fe/La Fonda location again. . . .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The customer service was excellent. They were very friendly and eggar to please every guest as quickly as possible. I will stay at La Fonda whenever I'm in Santa Fe because of the tip notch customer service I recieved.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We’ve stayed at La Fonda for 25+ years on professional & personal trips. Five stars to these features:
–restaurant has developed innovative yet local cuisine;
–CEO Jenny Kimball marries the best of both worlds: traditional and innovation, sustaining a fine balance between conserving the hotel’s rich cultural history while offering, for example, free wifi, cable, and fine spa
–concierge Steve Wimmer is the best we’ve worked with in 20+ countries (kind, intelligent, funny, educated, patient, unending repository of local data & lore);
–the entire hotel IS a remarkable art collection and on a par with local museums and galleries;
–the hotel keeps caring, local, longterm staff;
–we’ve always had spacious, comfortable rooms with original Indian art and Spanish colonial furniture;
–the hotel, its restaurant and its shops have an unbeatable central location and is a constant gathering place for Santa Fe cultural events, activities, and local notables
–disabled access and services excellent.
Simply the heart of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.