We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel -- don't miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rooms from $219
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Southwest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great old hotel -- don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This is a fantastic hotel with a lot of Santa Fe history right in it. Don't miss it -- even if you stay somewhere else. The Santa Fe style art and architecture are great and are themselves important parts of Santa Fe history.

It is an old fashioned busy downtown hotel like you don't see anymore. People are constantly walking through the lobby going to the restaurant, the pastry shop, the cantina, the shops. All are good. Every famous person who ever lived in or visited Santa Fe came through here.

The rooms are very nice if a bit pricey -- but you are right on the plaza. Off-season you can often negotiate a great deal. Service is very good.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    328
    85
    36
    38
See reviews for
228
615
66
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

We recently hosted a business event at the La Fonda. The meeting room was outstanding, the food presentation fabulous and the service impeccable. Parking for our guests was very easy in the underground garage.

The guest rooms were lovely and we also enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant.

In addition to the amenities, La Fonda’s location on the Plaza makes this an enjoyable place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinios
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Stayed here when I went on my honeymoon & returned once my divorce was finalized (old buisness to attend to) I find it funny that previous reviews gripe about the size of the rooms and prices (you don't like it move on!, other people do like it!) The place has improved since I was last here in '92 and I'm sure its also improved since the Scientist from Los Alaos stayed here as well!. This place is a great hotel and they work very hard at making me feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

I have stayed here before. YES...it is a historic hotel....i know this...I am from Virginia...HOME of historic hotels....BUT TRUST ME...nowhere in Virignia woud you find a place this crummy. YES...it is well located...but for god's sakes don't try to cram two people in a room meant for JUST one. Beds are Marriot wantabees...faux art on the walls...restaurant food just palatble...and not only $249 a Night but $12 a day for PARKING. THIS IS A RIPPOFF PLACE...BE AWARE. I love Santa Fe and New Mexico...BUT...this place...pleazzzz...LOL...a joke it is

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I was quite surprised to read that some people felt that the rooms were small. We just stayed at La Fonda for four nights and we loved the place. We had a standard room with a king size bed and plenty of room for our skis, boots and winter clothing. The room was actually quite spacious and the bed unbelievably comfortable. The location of this hotel is also amazing. You are next to beautiful stores, art galleries and excellent restaurants. We will definitely return to this hotel on our next stay in Santa Fe.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

La Fonda on the Plaza is practically a historic institution. I enjoyed my stay here but rated it neutral because the room is very old, esp. the bathroom. Lovely balcony. Location is great, heart of the Plaza. The French Pastry shop downstairs is very good and the restaurant was pretty lively with live music and dancing. Service is fine. I would stay here again but not without looking at other properties in the area.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit County, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

La Fonda is like no other hotel on earth. It not only has a great location, terrifically friendly and knowledgeable staff, fabulously appointed beds, hand-painted decorations, a long and interesting history and delicious food but it also has a unique and quirky personality and local flavor. This is a place where you find comfort in the idiosyncrasies and enjoy the things that make it different from every other place—just like home. I would highly recommend La Fonda to my friends and family.

  • Liked — The bedding
  • Disliked — Bellman was MIA
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.