We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Cedar Creek, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Charming hotel with a rustic flare. Located right on the square with great shopping in every direction. Canyon Road is only a short distance away. Carry your Gold Card for that shopping adventure. It appears that the rooms have undergone a resent upgrade, but still have a Southwest flavor. Great breakfast and lunch restaurant. So many good restaurants within walking distance, that we never made it back for dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    263
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
185
492
57
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is an affordable location, convenient to downtown attractions and within walking distance of many others. Good, affordable, clean restaurant. Amiable, helpful staff are always available to answer questions about nearby spots. During the remodel, they were concerned that we might be comfortable, so they moved us to a nearby hotel at La Fonda's expense. This kind of concern for our well being caused us to reserve a room for several days this Fall. We're looking forward to our return to Santa Fe and to La Fonda.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view of San Francisco--very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have stayed here several times and we really like the atmosphere. The staff is very welcoming and the accommodations are always wonderful. It's close to everything, safe and clean. We will for sure stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Just steps from the Plaza, the La Fonda is a wonderful place to stay. I first checked into a smaller darling Queen room with a balcony and great view near the bell tower...but upgraded to a second floor King balcony room (wonderful in the mornings and evenings to be able to look down on to San Francisco Street) which also had an impressive hand painted headboard...nice linens...but was a lot roomier with a relaxing sitting area and fireplace...and a large bathroom with sliding barn door. So easy to park in the garage and walk right out to your vehicle without having to wait on valet service. Being able to park at your hotel and near the square is a huge plus. When in SF...make sure you have pocket change...most of the places I shopped or dined outside of the Plaza area haven't upgraded to credit card parking meters. Upstairs outdoor bar...a couple of restaurant areas...bell tower...several small shops...walls full of shadow box vignettes where shops and artists are advertising their wares...all in one convenient, historical hotel. Blocks and blocks of shops, galleries, restaurants, and churches...all within walking distance. Been many times and have my fav places to stay, but this was my first time to try La Fonda. Love Santa Fe!

Room Tip: Loved staying on the second floor close to the parking garage in a large King room overlooking San F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

In February (2014) we started our relationship with La Fonda on the Plaza as we were planning our wedding. As the owner of a travel agency and someone who frequently travels around the world, I have pretty much seen it all. In planning a destination wedding, I was not looking for an ostentatious venue, but rather a place where our loved ones could gather and feel as if they had been invited to dinner at our home. From the first night we stayed at La Fonda, we have not just felt like honored guests, but family. I am sure many people say that in their reviews, but for us, I feel it is a bit more special as we are two men. Growing up in Texas, we are accustomed to raised eyebrows, gawking, and staring. At La Fonda we were treated like family.

During our planning we had the pleasure to spend a few wonderful weekends at La Fonda and it has become something we look forward to now. It would seem that each day is one less day before we get to go home to La Fonda – where we can relax and be family. A place where THEY not only look forward to your return, but the honor of caring for you while you are there. La Fonda is serious about hospitality and I imagine we will be guests in that hotel on July 5th many more times.

Planning a wedding is stressful. Planning a destination wedding as someone in the travel industry is just terrifying. Sami Doerfler became my partner in planning and was every bit as committed to making sure our weekend was perfect as I was. Ed Pulsifer ably assisted by Jessica Armijo was relentless in their attention to our room block. Shawn Murphy and his able food and beverage team made sure we had every conceivable thing we needed at a moments notice. Rebecca Hammer and the entire concierge staff made the Ritz-Carlton brand look a little lazy (and I have great regard for Ritz-Carlton). As I have said, these leaders inspire their teams to act as if their guests are family and we sure feel that way. I have no doubt that this philosophy is the result great modeling of these traits by Chairwoman, Jenny Kimball – who also made a personal investment in the success of our event.

We ended up with almost 80 people from around the country attending our wedding. I am a big believer that perfection is a goal, not a reality. La Fonda proved me wrong. Perfection is attainable and I will be forever grateful to these lovely people for the memories I will always treasure of our incredible experience of getting married on the terrace of La Fonda at sunset on July 5th 2014.

If you are looking for a snotty, glitzy, place to party with your “peeps”, this is NOT the place. If you are in search of a culturally relevant, historic gem that has been lovingly cared for and preserved through rehabilitation of the highest standards – a place where you can bring your loved ones for a special occasion or event – a place to call home in the storm of our busy lives … THIS very special Fonda is it. I truly cannot say enough about the structure – the service – the staff.

My only regret is that it has taken me such a long time to write this review.

Room Tip: We love the terrace suites. They are the only rooms in the hotel that were not touched during the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Excellent hotel and accommodations. If I ever have a problem, it is immediately rectified. The staff - be it at the front desk, restaurant or parking lot are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are Southwestern style and really nice. I have never been disappointed at La Fonda. Great room rates too. Centrally located - right there on Santa Fe Plaza with lots of sightseeing and shops within a short walk. As a business traveler, I also appreciate how close it is to other business and amenities. The hotel is very friendly to both business and leisure travelers. Restaurant and bar have courteous and helpful staff. I have eaten breakfast at the restaurant during several stays - the types of omelets and eggs benedict including their Southwest chile flair, were tasty and different.
(As an aside- In New Mexico, you have to spell chile this way and unlike how the rest of the country would spell the word. Because the variety and tastes of NM chile peppers are so wonderful, I do not differ with how the state wishes to spell it! Also, if you have time, drive the three hours south to Hatch - home of terrific fresh chile!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth,Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had traveled to Santa Fe for the Indian Market. Then we stayed in a casita in Abiquiu for two nights. Because of the distance to the airport in Albuquerque from Abiquiu, and an early flight, we chose to stay another night in Santa Fe at the La Fonda before returning home. Our reservation was for a standard room. We were greeted by a bell hop in the parking structure before we even parked our car. He helped us with our luggage and waited for me to park the car before he escorted us to the check in desk. The person at the desk said he had a very nice room for us. The bell hop said that is a very nice room, of which there are only two like it. We were taken to a suite on the 5th floor (the top floor). The first room we entered was a fireplace room with an eating area on one end (table, chairs, refrig and TV) and a work area (desk, phone etc.) on the other end. Off of this room was the door to the 28ft. long balcony overlooking high end shops and part of the original Route 66. The next room was the bed room with the custom made and painted head board, soft bed, and custom made closets. Beyond that was the completely new bath with all modern appointments. We were charged our online quoted price for a standard room. We could not have been any happier.

Room Tip: Luck on your side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.