We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I almost always stay at La Fonda when in Santa Fe, NM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Wash DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I almost always stay at La Fonda when in Santa Fe, NM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Excellent hotel and accommodations. If I ever have a problem, it is immediately rectified. The staff - be it at the front desk, restaurant or parking lot are all very helpful and friendly. The rooms are Southwestern style and really nice. I have never been disappointed at La Fonda. Great room rates too. Centrally located - right there on Santa Fe Plaza with lots of sightseeing and shops within a short walk. As a business traveler, I also appreciate how close it is to other business and amenities. The hotel is very friendly to both business and leisure travelers. Restaurant and bar have courteous and helpful staff. I have eaten breakfast at the restaurant during several stays - the types of omelets and eggs benedict including their Southwest chile flair, were tasty and different.
(As an aside- In New Mexico, you have to spell chile this way and unlike how the rest of the country would spell the word. Because the variety and tastes of NM chile peppers are so wonderful, I do not differ with how the state wishes to spell it! Also, if you have time, drive the three hours south to Hatch - home of terrific fresh chile!)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    260
    71
    33
    38
See reviews for
184
476
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth,Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had traveled to Santa Fe for the Indian Market. Then we stayed in a casita in Abiquiu for two nights. Because of the distance to the airport in Albuquerque from Abiquiu, and an early flight, we chose to stay another night in Santa Fe at the La Fonda before returning home. Our reservation was for a standard room. We were greeted by a bell hop in the parking structure before we even parked our car. He helped us with our luggage and waited for me to park the car before he escorted us to the check in desk. The person at the desk said he had a very nice room for us. The bell hop said that is a very nice room, of which there are only two like it. We were taken to a suite on the 5th floor (the top floor). The first room we entered was a fireplace room with an eating area on one end (table, chairs, refrig and TV) and a work area (desk, phone etc.) on the other end. Off of this room was the door to the 28ft. long balcony overlooking high end shops and part of the original Route 66. The next room was the bed room with the custom made and painted head board, soft bed, and custom made closets. Beyond that was the completely new bath with all modern appointments. We were charged our online quoted price for a standard room. We could not have been any happier.

Room Tip: Luck on your side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I love Santa Fe! I took my mother last Spring for a stay in this beautiful historic town and we stayed at the La Fonda Hotel knowing it was under reinvention. We had a blast. Our room was a little small, BUT all else was fabulous. I have stayed at other hotels in old Santa Fe but something about having shops, choice of resturants are a plus. I'm returning in Sept and will be staying at La Fonda again, staying on La Terraza floor. The staff at La Fonda are wonderful, having private parking for your stay is really important, parking can be a problem. The tour train picks one up right in front of La Fonda. Having the park across the square is a great people watching spot. Of course the Indian open market will be especially special as it's just a short walk across the Plaza It should be a great time especially sharing this time with my super beautiful designer friend......her first time to my favorite city! Santa Fe bound!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

There are more luxurious hotels/spas, but none better located or with a better rooftop bar for taking in the spectacular Santa Fe sunsets! We loved being in the center of everything and the drinks in the Bell Tower were really special. Can't speak to the 'renovation' (it must have really been rundown) but the room was more than comfortable (and we were on the 1st floor) - bed, h/vac, and shower - what more do you need if you don't plan to spend much time in the room?

Walking distance from everything and the plaza area is fun and funky.

Room Tip: Don't reject a 1st floor room out of hand - particularly any on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Santa Fe is one of my favorite places in the world, and La Fonda is one of my favorite hotels. It has all of the amenities you'd associate with a classic top-notch hotel. The service is outstanding, the food is delicious, the decoration is unique with lots of original art, the shops are varied and interesting. We stayed for 3 nights over the July 4 weekend. We reserved two, 1-bedroom suites, one for my wife and me and the other for my son and his girlfriend. They were perfect! The location, right on the plaza, allowed us to walk to several delightful restaurants, and we had several excellent New Mexican meals in the hotel dining room, La Plazuela, as well. Margaritas and tapas in the Bell Tower rooftop bar at sundown are not to be missed!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the 1-bedroom suite with sitting room. Ours was on the 4th floor, far from the hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The terrace level rooms are private and secure. A welcome bottle of wine, with cheese and fruit were on the coffee table. The hot tub and gym are a nice treat! There is a small refrigerator, good soaps, and the towels are plentiful and of good quality. The hotel was recently renovated, so, the furniture is fresh and clean.
Room service delivered a beautiful, delicious breakfast each morning. The parking is self service, and well located.

Room Tip: Terrace level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is an old historic hotel on the plaza in Santa Fe. A little pricey but you get what you pay for. Great food, great service, nice rooms. You must have a margarita on the hotel rooftop bar at sunset. It is amazing. Lots of shopping in the hotel and close by on the plaza.

Room Tip: get a room on the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.