We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again - with benefits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Home again - with benefits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Was there for business conference with my family. They were coming in from different originating cities. Flights got totally messed up with everyone arriving at least a day late. My son (minor) was the first to arrive and Hotel staff took care of all different arrivals with no fuss and let him check in and had him fed (most important part for him) until I arrived much later in the evening.

This hotel boasts about making you feel like family. It is not an idle boast or marketing tool. Staff from concierge to housekeeping were friendly, kind and flexible. I've been to the hotel a number of years around the same time (Spanish Market). Even though it is literally jam packed with people, there wasn't anything we requested (rollaway; extra blankets; towels) that they didn't deliver or hand to be reminded.

And unlike other 4-5 star hotels, you don't get the "attitude." Even during the peak front desk time, they have 4-5 people at the desk, helping guests check in, out and taking walk up questions from non-guests, everyone treated in a courteous and friendly manner.

Due to airline rescheduling, we had to check out of the hotel before 5 a.m.. Someone was there, had my bill ready and it was a breeze.

The hotel was such a welcome oasis during our trip, and it's the staff that made all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the La Terraza tower. If it is too expensive, then for a wonderful New Mexico sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

When we checked into the La Fonda, we found that our room was right next to the elevator. Concerned about the noise, we asked if we could be moved to another room. Not only did Patrick move us to a much quieter location...he also gave us vouchers for breakfast for two days!! We were very pleased with the location, the food, and the staff at La Fonda...we look forward to another stay in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worland, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at the la Fonda and it was a nice experience! The rooms have original art and it is really an experience to stay here. Loved it and would stay there again. They have great breakfast and everyone was so accommodating.



Very one w

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It was July. It was hot and crowded outside during the Folk Festival Weekend. I decided to shop inside in the La Fonda Lobby. Where would I buy that painting I'd been waiting for? I had to look no farther than the gift shop where I selected from a group of Mary Beth paintings. I bought a landscape and a painting of a doorway with flowers from Canyon Road. Just down the hallway was a group of shops selling everything from handbags to jewelry to clothing. There was even an Indian gallery. When you wanted lunch, right there next to a painting of a Spanish dancer was the French Pastry Shop, the best restaurant in town with artistic animal breads and luscious chocolate mousse. In the atrium sat La Plazuela. Complete with public restrooms and its own parking garage, what more could you want? The Santa Fe outside La Fonda's doors was only second best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

As all the reviews note, La Fonda has a great location in the heart of Santa Fe. It is a lively, bustling hotel, nicely decorated. However, should you have any reason to deal with a front desk clerk named Jeremy, run the other way.

High points - larger than expected rooms. We booked a one bedroom suite. We expected it to be a good size, but it exceeded expectations. It had a good size bedroom, large sitting room with sofabed, large walk in closet and supersized bathroom. Room was pleasantly furnished in an understated southwest style. Breakfast (included with our package) was well worth it - delicious food and large portions in the attractive interior roofed courtyard.

Lesser points - Despite being really large, most of the bathroom was empty space, and there was oddly limited room for toiletries, makeup kits, hair curlers, etc. Also, the hotel is not set back from the street at all, making the rooms on lower floors (which is most of the rooms) right at or just above street level. Finally, air conditioning didn't work real well, so it was always a bit too hot in the room at night (despite being cool outside - but street level room prevented us from leaving the windows open at night).

Our horrible front desk experience: Our introduction to La Fonda started out poorly, and then got worse. Knowing the narrow and crowded streets around the Plaza, we called the hotel from the road to get instruction on where to pull up and drop off our luggage. The hotel's website gives directions to their connected parking garage, but I didn't notice any instructions about bell service for luggage. In case, we called the front desk shortly before arrival to inquire about where to drop the luggage. We spoke to Jeremy, who told us that upon arrival we should pull up at the front door and bell service would find us. We were specifically told that bell service was available at the front door, but not in the parking garage. This turned out to be false on both counts. You want to go to the parking garage, and there is plenty of assistance available there. I have no explanation for the completely wrong information provided over the phone by Jeremy - the conversation was very clear and there was no chance for confusion - except that he messing with us just for the sadistic pleasure of it.

We when finally got the luggage straightened out upon arrival, we were greeted at the front desk by Jeremy. As he was pulling up our reservation on the computer, we mentioned that we hoped he could assign us a quiet room, not too close to an elevator. He shook his head, said that they had only one room in our category (one bedroom suite, one of their nicer rooms) available, that it was on the first floor, right by the street and right next to an elevator. He said that no one liked that room, and suggested that we cancel our reservation and that they might be able to help us find a room at another hotel somewhere in Santa Fe. We were shocked. We researched our hotel carefully, and chose it based on location, room size, amenities, and comfort for three people in one room. If we wanted to stay somewhere else, we would have booked somewhere else. We had never been welcomed by hotel so apparently eager to get rid of us. He eventually was able to come up with a room with two double beds, instead of the king and sofa bed, but that didn't fit our needs and would have been a smaller room category. Had two double beds been acceptable, we would have stayed at the Hilton where we could have stayed for free.

Eventually we located a manager who was much nicer, was able to show us one other one bedroom suite, and was generally a kind, concerned and accommodating person, totally unlike the first clerk. We eventually ended up staying in the room on the first floor near the elevator. The noise didn't end up being too bad, but the air conditioning never worked right, so we didn't sleep well for that reason.

In all, if you avoid Jeremy at the front desk, you should enjoy La Fonda if the other reviews make it sound like a place you want to stay. In the end, two of the three in our group liked it overall, and one hated it. If you want a bit greater chance of quiet, then perhaps choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear TravellerPGH

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at La Fonda. We deeply apologize for the misdirection you received upon your arrival to the hotel. It absolutely should have been explained in more detail to you that the garage entrance is where the valet service is located. More importantly, your reception at the front desk is absolutely inexcusable and should never have taken place. We were glad that Fermin was able to direct you to three available rooms, one being the one-bedroom suite that you selected and that you graciously accepted our conciliatory offer of champagne, chocolates and a discount on the suite during your stay. We hope that you will give La Fonda another chance to improve upon your initial impressions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We decided to upgrade and stay in the terrace rooms at La Fonda and we are very glad we did. The hotel is quite big and busy. People everywhere but the terrace section is a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle. Each room has a terrace and a hot tasty generous portion breakfast in the room or on your terrace is included. I took advantage of the terrace private workout space which is VERY small. I was the only one in there every time. It only has cardio equipment but all was up to date. We took a dip each afternoon in the terrace private outdoor hottub to soak after our days adventure. We never saw another soul out there. Our view was of the church which did awaken us each day at seven sharp with the bells which was fine since my husband had to leave early for his meeting. Other rooms might not be quite so close to the bell tower. We also took advantage of the private concierges. Both Mary Anne and Eric were quite helpful with recommendations and excursion planning. The only problem we encountered was that our key did not work for the first couple of days. The hotel worked on it and finally got it figured out. They gave us a bottle of nice wine and chocolates for our trouble. I have no complaints.

We enjoyed watching the sunset form the hotels tower bar. It appears to be the highest point downtown. We had a great stay and I recommend the terrace rooms.

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser try to get a room which does not face the church beltlower. However t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

200 years ago the historic Santa Fe Trail ended at this hotel location on the Santa Fe plaza/square, with the current facility in its various iterations existing since the early 1900s. The redone adobe exterior and trees in the soaring sunlit atrium dining area add to the authentic feel, with a first class staff and service. The additions of wings, rooms, and hallways over the years create a fascinating labyrinth to explore. Both self and valet parking are available, with self-parking less expensive than valet. A wonderful restaurant and bar that includes local cuisine and entertainment is complemented by a simpler and quicker but fine French breakfast and lunch cafe. The hotel facility includes fascinating shops. Beds are very comfortable and bath rooms excellent, with room interiors recently updated to compete with fine hotels while retaining the Southwestern charm. Dogs are allowed and less than soundproof rooms sometimes allow barking and running children to disturb sleep, depending on the room's location. The location is in the middle of the historic part of downtown Santa Fe, convenient to excellent restaurants and bars besides the ones on the premises and interesting shops and museums, with the local chapel's bells periodically creating an additionally charming ambience. I am repeat visitor over several years and rank it among my favorite Santa Fe lodging destinations. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and floor without pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.