We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week at La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely week at La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We decided to upgrade and stay in the terrace rooms at La Fonda and we are very glad we did. The hotel is quite big and busy. People everywhere but the terrace section is a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle. Each room has a terrace and a hot tasty generous portion breakfast in the room or on your terrace is included. I took advantage of the terrace private workout space which is VERY small. I was the only one in there every time. It only has cardio equipment but all was up to date. We took a dip each afternoon in the terrace private outdoor hottub to soak after our days adventure. We never saw another soul out there. Our view was of the church which did awaken us each day at seven sharp with the bells which was fine since my husband had to leave early for his meeting. Other rooms might not be quite so close to the bell tower. We also took advantage of the private concierges. Both Mary Anne and Eric were quite helpful with recommendations and excursion planning. The only problem we encountered was that our key did not work for the first couple of days. The hotel worked on it and finally got it figured out. They gave us a bottle of nice wine and chocolates for our trouble. I have no complaints.

We enjoyed watching the sunset form the hotels tower bar. It appears to be the highest point downtown. We had a great stay and I recommend the terrace rooms.

Room Tip: If you are not an early riser try to get a room which does not face the church beltlower. However t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    260
    71
    33
    38
See reviews for
184
477
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

200 years ago the historic Santa Fe Trail ended at this hotel location on the Santa Fe plaza/square, with the current facility in its various iterations existing since the early 1900s. The redone adobe exterior and trees in the soaring sunlit atrium dining area add to the authentic feel, with a first class staff and service. The additions of wings, rooms, and hallways over the years create a fascinating labyrinth to explore. Both self and valet parking are available, with self-parking less expensive than valet. A wonderful restaurant and bar that includes local cuisine and entertainment is complemented by a simpler and quicker but fine French breakfast and lunch cafe. The hotel facility includes fascinating shops. Beds are very comfortable and bath rooms excellent, with room interiors recently updated to compete with fine hotels while retaining the Southwestern charm. Dogs are allowed and less than soundproof rooms sometimes allow barking and running children to disturb sleep, depending on the room's location. The location is in the middle of the historic part of downtown Santa Fe, convenient to excellent restaurants and bars besides the ones on the premises and interesting shops and museums, with the local chapel's bells periodically creating an additionally charming ambience. I am repeat visitor over several years and rank it among my favorite Santa Fe lodging destinations. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and floor without pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

SUPERIOR experience. The service, ambience and food at this hotel was phenomenal. As a refurbished historical hotel it is a jewel. It is centrally located and the staff goes above and beyond to make your experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panora, Iowa
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our stay at the La Fonda was simply outstanding. Service was outstanding and friendly. Staff would take time and talk with you, curious about the quality of your stay and how you enjoyed Santa Fe.
The VP for Sales, helped us when we were trying to find out way in the hotel, offered us lunch and a history of the hotel with pictures in addition to helping us get to our room. What a place!!!!

Location is in the middle of everything and they will help you enjoy your stay!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A beautiful authentic hotel in central location in Santa Fe. The safe parking next to the hotel a bonus. We were met with very friendly staff during our stay and the little extras are all here. The old world charm and art in the hotel is just amazing. Loved the shops integrated in hotel and central to take walks around town and return for lunch. Great pool to swim in. Breakfast was great with lots of options. Our room was beautiful. Loved watching the sunsets from the rooftop Bell Tower. Loved every moment of our stay here and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The La Fonda on the Plaza has a fabulous location, beautiful unique rooms with hand crafted furniture from local artists, extremely friendly staff, accommodating concierge , delicious food and centrally located. It is near a cathedral that has lovely chimes that go off from 7a.m. to 7p.m. Very soothing. We return to Santa Fe every year and have stayed here for 4 yrs. now and we love it. There are lot's of activities that go on in Santa Fe and the weather is always so good with beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: rooms in the Terraces are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The renovated La Fonda is lovely and the location on the plaza can't be beat. However, our room , with a lovely balcony, was right on the busy street and was very noisy. The bell tower is a great location for lunch, drinks but the main restaurant was below par. Don't think we will be staying there again on our annual visit to the opera.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy B, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Martinibass,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our renovated balcony rooms and the convenient proximity to the Plaza.

My apologies that the street noise was disturbing to you. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and sleep well during your stay with us.

We also appreciated your comments on our award-winning restaurant, La Plazuela, and are so sorry that you felt that the food was below par. We hope that, on your next annual visit, you will give us another chance to meet or exceed your expectations.


John Rickey CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.