We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The La Fonda on the Plaza has a fabulous location, beautiful unique rooms with hand crafted furniture from local artists, extremely friendly staff, accommodating concierge , delicious food and centrally located. It is near a cathedral that has lovely chimes that go off from 7a.m. to 7p.m. Very soothing. We return to Santa Fe every year and have stayed here for 4 yrs. now and we love it. There are lot's of activities that go on in Santa Fe and the weather is always so good with beautiful sunsets.

Room Tip: rooms in the Terraces are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    271
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
188
506
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The renovated La Fonda is lovely and the location on the plaza can't be beat. However, our room , with a lovely balcony, was right on the busy street and was very noisy. The bell tower is a great location for lunch, drinks but the main restaurant was below par. Don't think we will be staying there again on our annual visit to the opera.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy B, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Martinibass,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed our renovated balcony rooms and the convenient proximity to the Plaza.

My apologies that the street noise was disturbing to you. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and sleep well during your stay with us.

We also appreciated your comments on our award-winning restaurant, La Plazuela, and are so sorry that you felt that the food was below par. We hope that, on your next annual visit, you will give us another chance to meet or exceed your expectations.


John Rickey CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have traveled to Santa Fe several times in the past couple of years for medical conferences and vacations, but stayed at other hotels. First time to stay at the La Fonda. Exceeded even our rather strict expectations for a hotel of this class. We will always stay here on future trips. Great location,staff, old world charm and an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms have been recently renovated. Don't think you can go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCrosse,WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just returned from a five day stay at LaFonda. We have nothing but excellent comments about our stay. From the parking attendants, reception staff, to the housekeepers we were treated so kindly!! The rooms have been redecorated and are beyond comfortable. No complaints about our room at all.
This hotel is conveniently located with great shopping and restaurants close by. The plaza is always filled with activities with markets and music always happening. We fell in love with Santa Fe and have nothing but five star comments to say about our experience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our room was huge and had balcony overlooking downtown and the Spanish Market going on that weekend. Nice SW feel to it all. Great location in walking distance to all downtown attractions. Nice choice of restaurants including a French Bakery downstairs. I had a business conference there and the conference facilities were real nice also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The best part of Santa Fe! Every modern convenience and comfort with regional decor and charm. The location cannot be beat. You literally step out the door of the hotel and you are on the Plaza. Spitting distance to St. Francis de Assisi Basilica Cathedral and walking distance to The Loretto Chapel and San Miguel's Cathedral. Not to mention shopping on the Plaza and wonderful shops and restaurants in the hotel itself! And the staff is outstanding! Haven't been treated so well by hotel and restaurant staff since our Disney cruise! (Especially Dylan at the front desk and Elena and Jorge in the lounge, and Jorge in La Plazuela!) Best breakfast ever in La Plazuela! The Bell Tower Bar on the rooftop cannot be beat for outstanding views of sunset on the city. I would not even consider returning to Santa Fe if I could not stay at the La Fonda!

Room Tip: We have experienced four different rooms at this hotel and could not say there is a bad one. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This historic hotel was renovated in 2013, and it is lovely. The location is superb for tourists.

It's a great place to hold a meeting. I was there for a conference of about 110 people, and the facilities and hotel staff were perfect for the event.

Something to watch out for is room location. The hallway will be noisy outside many of the 1st and 2nd floor guest rooms. The hallways on these floors get a lot of traffic due to meeting rooms, offices, pool, banquet facilities, etc.

When I checked in early, I was offered a 1st floor room directly across from the pool/spa, on a heavily trafficked hallway. I declined, and happily waited a couple of hours, until the usual check-in time, so that I could get a 3rd floor room which was perfectly quiet.

The reason I deducted one point: the free wi-fi is often very very slow:

This very slow wi-fi happens during the day if there is a meeting going on, when attendees use their phones or laptops, and it happens during the evening as well. It was not good enough for a Skype voice call, much less a Skype video call. Sometimes I went to the free "business center" on the 2nd floor to use their desktop computers, because they had a much faster internet connection. I'm not sure what the problem is -- maybe the hotel just doesn't have enough wifi capacity, or maybe it's because everyone is using a single easily-remembered password that doesn't seem to change.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, specify the third floor or higher, not near an elevator. The first floor room I wa...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.