We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Always Stay Here When In Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Will Always Stay Here When In Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have traveled to Santa Fe several times in the past couple of years for medical conferences and vacations, but stayed at other hotels. First time to stay at the La Fonda. Exceeded even our rather strict expectations for a hotel of this class. We will always stay here on future trips. Great location,staff, old world charm and an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms have been recently renovated. Don't think you can go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    254
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
182
455
56
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
laCrosse,WI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just returned from a five day stay at LaFonda. We have nothing but excellent comments about our stay. From the parking attendants, reception staff, to the housekeepers we were treated so kindly!! The rooms have been redecorated and are beyond comfortable. No complaints about our room at all.
This hotel is conveniently located with great shopping and restaurants close by. The plaza is always filled with activities with markets and music always happening. We fell in love with Santa Fe and have nothing but five star comments to say about our experience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our room was huge and had balcony overlooking downtown and the Spanish Market going on that weekend. Nice SW feel to it all. Great location in walking distance to all downtown attractions. Nice choice of restaurants including a French Bakery downstairs. I had a business conference there and the conference facilities were real nice also.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bend, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The best part of Santa Fe! Every modern convenience and comfort with regional decor and charm. The location cannot be beat. You literally step out the door of the hotel and you are on the Plaza. Spitting distance to St. Francis de Assisi Basilica Cathedral and walking distance to The Loretto Chapel and San Miguel's Cathedral. Not to mention shopping on the Plaza and wonderful shops and restaurants in the hotel itself! And the staff is outstanding! Haven't been treated so well by hotel and restaurant staff since our Disney cruise! (Especially Dylan at the front desk and Elena and Jorge in the lounge, and Jorge in La Plazuela!) Best breakfast ever in La Plazuela! The Bell Tower Bar on the rooftop cannot be beat for outstanding views of sunset on the city. I would not even consider returning to Santa Fe if I could not stay at the La Fonda!

Room Tip: We have experienced four different rooms at this hotel and could not say there is a bad one. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This historic hotel was renovated in 2013, and it is lovely. The location is superb for tourists.

It's a great place to hold a meeting. I was there for a conference of about 110 people, and the facilities and hotel staff were perfect for the event.

Something to watch out for is room location. The hallway will be noisy outside many of the 1st and 2nd floor guest rooms. The hallways on these floors get a lot of traffic due to meeting rooms, offices, pool, banquet facilities, etc.

When I checked in early, I was offered a 1st floor room directly across from the pool/spa, on a heavily trafficked hallway. I declined, and happily waited a couple of hours, until the usual check-in time, so that I could get a 3rd floor room which was perfectly quiet.

The reason I deducted one point: the free wi-fi is often very very slow:

This very slow wi-fi happens during the day if there is a meeting going on, when attendees use their phones or laptops, and it happens during the evening as well. It was not good enough for a Skype voice call, much less a Skype video call. Sometimes I went to the free "business center" on the 2nd floor to use their desktop computers, because they had a much faster internet connection. I'm not sure what the problem is -- maybe the hotel just doesn't have enough wifi capacity, or maybe it's because everyone is using a single easily-remembered password that doesn't seem to change.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, specify the third floor or higher, not near an elevator. The first floor room I wa...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a hotel in a historic building that preserves history as well as a tradition of confutable premisses and good service.

Not to mentioned that is located right in central Santa Fe, a walking distance to a series of nice shops, restaurants and museums.

The hotel has a charming restaurant called La Plazuela, located in its internal patio of Spanish style, which is also the place for breakfast. There is also a bar close to the lobby which has live music and space for dance during some nights.

The building was designed by the architect Mary Colter, who also designed many building at the Grand Canyon National Park area.She was hired by Fred Harvey to design hotels and lodges along the Santa Fe railway path for the company to offer quality accommodation and food to travelers at the end of the 19th century/beginning of the 20th century.

She was known for take care of all details, especially for decoration and for making environments that make people feel like if they were at their own or in somebody´s house.

This care for details is reveled all over the hotel, in its entrance, lobby, decoration at the corridors, objects and paintings in this areas and in the rooms. Even in the basement, where the garage is, the pillars are painted with pictures of branches and leaves. The rooms and also bathrooms were charming, well decorated places. The only down side from our room is that there was dirty water coming out of a tube right in the verandah outside our window. it was disgusting to see it and it could easily be directed with an additional tube until the drain. The hotel has a small outdoor swimming pool and a room for massage. There are plenty of shops in the level of the lobby with quality objects and souvenirs, and a convenience store. The hotel keeps a series of interesting photos showing the building in the past and now, after having had a wonderful and careful renovation that managed to preserve the buildings spirit.

The breakfast was good and only offered a la carte. I missed having dinner there. We tried at the night we arrived, but the place was packed and in the next night we went to another restaurant that we had already planned. It seems that it´s usually busy in the hotel´s restaurant. So, if wanting to go there, I suggest making reservations. Many pairings from local artists were added to the hotel´s art collection spread on its premisses.

Same goes for the terrace and bar on the top floor, which is famous for having a very nice spot to see the sunset. However, not only guests, but many people come there for that reason and in order to get a table, it´s necessary to make a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had such a wonderful stay at La Fonda. We enjoyed everything they offered very much; everything was perfect but especially the 5* treatment by the staff, their wonderful restaurant, and the wonderful staff at the Bell Tower Bar at the top!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.