We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Fe La Fonda Hotel-the best location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Santa Fe La Fonda Hotel-the best location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This property is the best place to stay in Santa Fe New Mexico- you are walking distance to everything-best restaurants, fabulous shopping and all the sites on the To Do list. The restaurant in the hotel is wonderful for breakfast before your tours and shopping. Delicious fresh food and reasonable prices. The Roof Top Bar is fantastic- views of all of Santa Fe while having the highest rated Margarita in all of Santa Fe. Try the guacamole with the delicious tortilla chips!
The rooms have new beds and beautiful linens. Service was excellent and the room rates were reasonable. Loved it. A must stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Sized bed- the larger rooms seem to be on the first floor and there is a huge ADA roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I went this weekend for our anniversary and we couldn't have been happier! The room was cozy and clean. Our room overlooked the pool which was very cute. We went down that night, my only complaint would be that the hot tub didn't "bubble". We couldn't have had a better location on the Plaza. We were able to walk EVERYWHERE!! When it came to the accommodations in the hotel we really only went up the the bell tower. It was beautiful up there, but it was very busy and we didn't receive the best service. If you're not a morning person just remember that there are a lot of different churches in the plaza and we were up by 8:00 am by church bells on Sunday morning. There is a great Keurig coffee bar in the room. And a delicious french pastry shop downstairs. I can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We loved our recent visit to La Fonda, mostly because of the location. We were able to walk everywhere and it was great to be so centrally located! The hotel has been recently renovated and we had a great room. It was very clean; in fact, this hotel cleans the phones and remote controls in the rooms which we knew because they were wrapped in cloths when we first got to our room. Also, our room was on street level and I was very concerned about street noise but the glass must be very thick because we didn't hear a thing when the windows were closed. The service was more than fine but I didn't feel that any staff members were going out of their way for us. I must acknowledge though that we were celebrating our anniversary and the hotel did have a bottle of champagne chilled and waiting for us in our room when we checked in which was a nice touch. Housekeeping needs to work on consistency as we never knew how many towels we would find from day to day, whether or not we would have chocolates at night, whether our soap would be replenished, etc. although they did respond quickly when we needed extra towels on the days that we didn't get enough. To end this review on a very positive note, be sure to visit the roof top bar for excellent views and a relaxing start to your evening plans.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the cutest, historic but updated hotel. The room was large and had a corner fireplace. It is summer and we did not use it, but would be nice to have in the winter, after skiing, ect. The food was great, staff was friendly, and the location is perfect. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others to truly experience the Santa Fe ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from business trip to Sante Fe and loved staying at this hotel. Excellent service and friendly staff added to the ambiance of the hotel that has beautiful appointments, artwork and tile. The king bed room was comfy, clean and had all the comforts of home (fridge, bottled water, K-cups, etc.) The location provided easy access to the plaza, shops and restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are charmingly decorated and the bed was very comfortable but our standard king room was quite small with barely enough room to walk around the bed. There are no luggage racks so we slid our open suitcases under the bed. There is no bureau and no drawers anywhere in the room, just a tiny shelf under the nightstand and a couple small shelves in the armoire next to the mini fridge. The public areas are inviting and there are surprise nooks and crannies everywhere. The whole hotel is a maze and difficult to navigate, but part of the charm I suppose. There are a lot of shops at street level with both streetside and hotel entrances. The fitness room is quite small and tight but they fit in two bikes, two treadmills, an eliptical and resistance machine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank RobUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After a complete exterior and interior remodel, it's better than ever. The bathrooms are beautifully updated (love the barn door!) and the furnishings are a mix of new and old. The restaurant and other downstairs areas look brighter. I was there many years ago, and it still has the same charm but the facelift makes it more cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaxyeHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#