We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Beltsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a first-class hotel, right in the heart of Santa Fe, with excellent amenities. Parking on the premises at $15 until you leave. We checked out, went shopping and left our car in the garage until we were ready to leave the city. The staff is VERY friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Reserve early as this place stays booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    239
    68
    33
    39
See reviews for
170
431
55
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We had originally booked the four seasons resort out of town and decided we wanted to be closer to the center of town. We booked a room on La Terrazza section which was a private concierge floor of the hotel with 17 rooms. Our concierge, Eric, was the best! He was a tremendous help with arrangements, directions and advice. Although the room included room service breakfast, be careful in ordering, some things are considered extras and you will be charged. The private terrace for this section with hot tub and fitness room was lovely and private. Try the Bell Tower for drinks in the late afternoon/evening. In the evening, the lobby restaurant has great music nightly with dancing. We loved this place!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 1st anniversary at the La Fonda, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff at this hotel are absolutely wonderful. I booked online through the hotel's website and mentioned in the comments that we were celebrating our anniversary, but honestly didn't think they'd even read it. I was wrong. About 5 minutes after we got to our room, room service arrived with champagne on ice, a flower and a note wishing us a happy anniversary from "Reservations Staff." What a nice surprise! Our room was on the smaller side (just a standard room though), but it was very nicely appointed. We would probably upgrade to a deluxe room next time, as we were able to peek in to one while it was being cleaned, and they seemed much larger. The bed was heavenly. We would absolutely stay at the La Fonda when in Santa Fe again. A big THANK YOU to all the staff for helping to make our 1st anniversary so wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymon, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I go "home" each time I go to La Fonda--at least twice a year if not more. The staff is warm, welcoming, and helpful. The rooms are impeccably appointed and comfortable--even more so after the extensive renovation last year. La Plazuela Restaurant serves delicious food for a supreme and elegant dining experience. If Santa Fe visitors wish to experience the heart of the city, then La Fonda is the only choice. La Fonda offers class, history, and ambience without rival.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location and a beautiful hotel. Service is top notch . We ate in the restaurant , very tasty, and the lounge as well. Our room was small by US standards. We will return. Parking in the garage is ideal, the parking downtown is tight. Be sure and have something from the French Bakery. We had something everyday and enjoyed it all.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location, easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants, galleries, museums. Hotel is old structure with a lot of character. They recently updated the rooms, and they're fine in most ways. But still small by modern standards, with odd features like a step up to the bathroom. Also furnished with a leather chair that looks quaint but is so uncomfortable as to be useless; and there's not enough space for it so it's easy to trip over. The TV is a smallish flat panel. All channels are poor quality analog and pictures are horizontally stretched: really a bad viewing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just came back from a trip to Santa Fe and stayed at La Fonda Hotel. The property has recently been rennovated but retains its historical charm. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the food came out promptly and was prepared exactly as ordered. I would highly recomment La Fonda when planning your stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.