We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great location and a beautiful hotel. Service is top notch . We ate in the restaurant , very tasty, and the lounge as well. Our room was small by US standards. We will return. Parking in the garage is ideal, the parking downtown is tight. Be sure and have something from the French Bakery. We had something everyday and enjoyed it all.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    260
    71
    33
    38
See reviews for
184
476
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location, easy walking distance to many shops, restaurants, galleries, museums. Hotel is old structure with a lot of character. They recently updated the rooms, and they're fine in most ways. But still small by modern standards, with odd features like a step up to the bathroom. Also furnished with a leather chair that looks quaint but is so uncomfortable as to be useless; and there's not enough space for it so it's easy to trip over. The TV is a smallish flat panel. All channels are poor quality analog and pictures are horizontally stretched: really a bad viewing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just came back from a trip to Santa Fe and stayed at La Fonda Hotel. The property has recently been rennovated but retains its historical charm. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the food came out promptly and was prepared exactly as ordered. I would highly recomment La Fonda when planning your stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the La Fonda to celebrate my father's 85th birthday. Together, family members had 4 rooms. It was the first trip to Santa Fe for most of us and we relied on the hotel concierge to recommend and make dinner reservations for all 4 nights. Our party was on the large side (9), but the concierge secured reservations at 4 wonderful restaurants in record time. The staff went above and beyond to help us coordinate a couple of impromptu birthday events. The rooms were great, and I loved the Bell Tower rooftop bar. The location was perfect - we could easily explore Santa Fe on foot from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great location in the Plaza, interesting historical building with lots of New Mexican artworks, easy car parking, rooms small unless you book the Terrace suites. Rooms over priced for what you get. Bell Tower on rooftop for drinks with great Santa Fe views. Lovely breakfast / dinner central restaurant in hotel self made courtyard. Two step band plays at night in bar. Cute. Concierges could not be more helpful. Make sure you get a large room otherwise, we found the two of us could not enter the bathroom together, too small. Definitely for a special trip otherwise just the rooms are too expensive. We had the most noisy air conditioning unit. Kept us awake most nights. The bathroom funny ledge/table above toilet kept on rocking as wasn't level on floor so couldn't rest any toiletries. Room is essentially a "dog box" and we paid between $289 to $269 a night including breakfast! Would not return. Overall Santa Fe is over priced everywhere including restaurants. This hotel is a classic example.

Room Tip: If you can afford ask for the Terrace rooms. Otherwise get a room with 2 beds. Our King size bed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The La Fonda is one of those rare finds that is historical, convenient, and fun. Walk out the doors and your on The Plaza. Go to the roof top, watch the sun fall behind the mountains and sip a cold drink. It is not the most expensive hotel which is also a surprise. If your looking for a great stay and not just a place to lay your head, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday, and it couldn't have been more charming. This place is unusual in its history and decor. There is original artwork throughout, including the rooms. Like visiting a bygone age, except with modern equipment. True to its tradition as a fine southwestern inn, La Fonda is warm and welcoming, yet also luxurious. There is not another hotel like this one anywhere I have ever stayed. The room ran about $240 a night, so I would stay there on a special occasion like this one. Right on the corner of the old plaza and within walking distance of the restaurants and museums nearby. On premises parking garage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.