We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Santa Fe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Santa Fe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I just came back from a trip to Santa Fe and stayed at La Fonda Hotel. The property has recently been rennovated but retains its historical charm. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the food came out promptly and was prepared exactly as ordered. I would highly recomment La Fonda when planning your stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    281
    72
    34
    38
See reviews for
192
516
59
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the La Fonda to celebrate my father's 85th birthday. Together, family members had 4 rooms. It was the first trip to Santa Fe for most of us and we relied on the hotel concierge to recommend and make dinner reservations for all 4 nights. Our party was on the large side (9), but the concierge secured reservations at 4 wonderful restaurants in record time. The staff went above and beyond to help us coordinate a couple of impromptu birthday events. The rooms were great, and I loved the Bell Tower rooftop bar. The location was perfect - we could easily explore Santa Fe on foot from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great location in the Plaza, interesting historical building with lots of New Mexican artworks, easy car parking, rooms small unless you book the Terrace suites. Rooms over priced for what you get. Bell Tower on rooftop for drinks with great Santa Fe views. Lovely breakfast / dinner central restaurant in hotel self made courtyard. Two step band plays at night in bar. Cute. Concierges could not be more helpful. Make sure you get a large room otherwise, we found the two of us could not enter the bathroom together, too small. Definitely for a special trip otherwise just the rooms are too expensive. We had the most noisy air conditioning unit. Kept us awake most nights. The bathroom funny ledge/table above toilet kept on rocking as wasn't level on floor so couldn't rest any toiletries. Room is essentially a "dog box" and we paid between $289 to $269 a night including breakfast! Would not return. Overall Santa Fe is over priced everywhere including restaurants. This hotel is a classic example.

Room Tip: If you can afford ask for the Terrace rooms. Otherwise get a room with 2 beds. Our King size bed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenville, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The La Fonda is one of those rare finds that is historical, convenient, and fun. Walk out the doors and your on The Plaza. Go to the roof top, watch the sun fall behind the mountains and sip a cold drink. It is not the most expensive hotel which is also a surprise. If your looking for a great stay and not just a place to lay your head, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday, and it couldn't have been more charming. This place is unusual in its history and decor. There is original artwork throughout, including the rooms. Like visiting a bygone age, except with modern equipment. True to its tradition as a fine southwestern inn, La Fonda is warm and welcoming, yet also luxurious. There is not another hotel like this one anywhere I have ever stayed. The room ran about $240 a night, so I would stay there on a special occasion like this one. Right on the corner of the old plaza and within walking distance of the restaurants and museums nearby. On premises parking garage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice clean and interesting. Good lounge food and entertainment. Fine dining was also nice. Concierge very helpful. Super busy and yet staff was friendly and easy going. We really enjoyed the band in the lounge. Easy parking in basement garage. Right in the very heart of town. Historic area and building. Room was very nice, perfectly clean, and recently renovated. Well decorated room. Comfortable bed. Rooms are moderate size as one finds in any elegant old downtown hotel, but that was not an issue in any respect. The entire downtown area is full of fascinating things to do and stellar shopping. Plenty of things to see as one strolls the streets. Will most certainly select again if return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a fabulous vacation at this wonderful old hotel. The central location is perfect and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Concierge services were best I've ever experienced. I look forward to staying here again when we next visit.

Room Tip: Different room types available. Some rooms have nice views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.