We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For that special trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“For that special trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday, and it couldn't have been more charming. This place is unusual in its history and decor. There is original artwork throughout, including the rooms. Like visiting a bygone age, except with modern equipment. True to its tradition as a fine southwestern inn, La Fonda is warm and welcoming, yet also luxurious. There is not another hotel like this one anywhere I have ever stayed. The room ran about $240 a night, so I would stay there on a special occasion like this one. Right on the corner of the old plaza and within walking distance of the restaurants and museums nearby. On premises parking garage.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    238
    68
    33
    39
See reviews for
169
428
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angola, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice clean and interesting. Good lounge food and entertainment. Fine dining was also nice. Concierge very helpful. Super busy and yet staff was friendly and easy going. We really enjoyed the band in the lounge. Easy parking in basement garage. Right in the very heart of town. Historic area and building. Room was very nice, perfectly clean, and recently renovated. Well decorated room. Comfortable bed. Rooms are moderate size as one finds in any elegant old downtown hotel, but that was not an issue in any respect. The entire downtown area is full of fascinating things to do and stellar shopping. Plenty of things to see as one strolls the streets. Will most certainly select again if return to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had a fabulous vacation at this wonderful old hotel. The central location is perfect and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Concierge services were best I've ever experienced. I look forward to staying here again when we next visit.

Room Tip: Different room types available. Some rooms have nice views and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a whirlwind trip through northern New Mexico and spent one night in Santa Fe at the La Fonda. I had been in Santa Fe years ago and wanted to stay there. This is a very old hotel (1923) and a hotel has been on this site since the 1600's. It is old but very modern on the inside. The rooms were clean, spacious, with a very nice seating area. The bathrooms look like they have been updated in the last few years. We asked for a none feather few room and got it. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of nice shops in the lobby and close to very thing on the square. Don't miss the sunset from the Bell Tower, nice breeze, great view and a good selection of drinks. It can get a little crowded but tables open pretty quickly. Worth the wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

stayed at this hotel in may 2014, rooms were small but very well done, service was great. right in the center of the plaza. hotel was decorated with local artists art, sculptures, paintings etc.
loved the hotel. only one thing I would like to see improve is parking for hotel guest. they shouldn't be paying for parking

Room Tip: take a room facing the plaza with that tiny balcony, makes the big difference stayed in 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute trip. The hotel was almost full so the room we acquired was one of the smaller ones at the facility. Newly remodeled, well maintained and very quiet! We enjoyed the entire stay, taking advantage of the lounge, the restaurant and the concierge. The breakfast and dinner food was excellent, and the margaritas were terrific.
The hotel is on the Plaza, and parking was included. We did not need to move the car until we were ready to leave, as the shopping, museums, galleries and restaurants were all within easy walking distance. My only gripe was that the pool was not open until 10:00am. I was hoping to enjoy the pool while my wife slept in. The exercise equipment was available however.
We have tried other hotels in Santa Fe, but this is one we would repeat.

Room Tip: Book early. Most rooms are more spacious than the one we had, but the hotel has been recently remod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location on the historic plaza. Parking is very hard to find in this area, so having access to the hotel parking garage is a big benefit. Our room #266 was in the newly remodeled section of hotel. The room was extremely small, barely enough room to walk around; however, the bed was extremely comfortable, had a lot of good pillows and nice linens. The bathroom had a very nice tile walk-in shower. The sink/fixtures were high-end and the lighting was good in the bathroom. The bath towels were large and newer. The TV reception was horrible, fuzzy on all channels. There was a Keurig coffee maker, mini fridge and complimentary bottles of water replenished every day. A lot of easy to access outlets for charging; however, no USB outlets. I was concerned it might be noisy in the room as it was surrounded by hotel offices and had a window to the street; however, it was very quiet. The room was clean and housekeeping came every day in a timely manner; however, the bathroom amenities were never replenished throughout our visit (four nights).
The hotel bar had excellent food (we ate there for dinner) and live country dance music every night. There were many of the same local people at the bar dancing each night in addition to hotel guests. The hotel restaurant also had excellent food - we ate there for breakfast.
This was an expensive hotel, but I believe it's prices are similar to similar properties on the plaza area.

Room Tip: As for a room in the remodeled section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.