We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

stayed at this hotel in may 2014, rooms were small but very well done, service was great. right in the center of the plaza. hotel was decorated with local artists art, sculptures, paintings etc.
loved the hotel. only one thing I would like to see improve is parking for hotel guest. they shouldn't be paying for parking

Room Tip: take a room facing the plaza with that tiny balcony, makes the big difference stayed in 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    243
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
174
435
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last minute trip. The hotel was almost full so the room we acquired was one of the smaller ones at the facility. Newly remodeled, well maintained and very quiet! We enjoyed the entire stay, taking advantage of the lounge, the restaurant and the concierge. The breakfast and dinner food was excellent, and the margaritas were terrific.
The hotel is on the Plaza, and parking was included. We did not need to move the car until we were ready to leave, as the shopping, museums, galleries and restaurants were all within easy walking distance. My only gripe was that the pool was not open until 10:00am. I was hoping to enjoy the pool while my wife slept in. The exercise equipment was available however.
We have tried other hotels in Santa Fe, but this is one we would repeat.

Room Tip: Book early. Most rooms are more spacious than the one we had, but the hotel has been recently remod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent location on the historic plaza. Parking is very hard to find in this area, so having access to the hotel parking garage is a big benefit. Our room #266 was in the newly remodeled section of hotel. The room was extremely small, barely enough room to walk around; however, the bed was extremely comfortable, had a lot of good pillows and nice linens. The bathroom had a very nice tile walk-in shower. The sink/fixtures were high-end and the lighting was good in the bathroom. The bath towels were large and newer. The TV reception was horrible, fuzzy on all channels. There was a Keurig coffee maker, mini fridge and complimentary bottles of water replenished every day. A lot of easy to access outlets for charging; however, no USB outlets. I was concerned it might be noisy in the room as it was surrounded by hotel offices and had a window to the street; however, it was very quiet. The room was clean and housekeeping came every day in a timely manner; however, the bathroom amenities were never replenished throughout our visit (four nights).
The hotel bar had excellent food (we ate there for dinner) and live country dance music every night. There were many of the same local people at the bar dancing each night in addition to hotel guests. The hotel restaurant also had excellent food - we ate there for breakfast.
This was an expensive hotel, but I believe it's prices are similar to similar properties on the plaza area.

Room Tip: As for a room in the remodeled section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just off the main plaza in the heart of Santa Fe this jewel and New Mexico icon is still on top. After a recent, but long renovation, the La Fonda is shining bright. The newly decorated rooms are amazing and comfortably appointed. Beautiful furnishings and all up dated bathrooms. Many of the rooms have small terraces or balconies with views of the city and the sunsets. Try the restaurant La Plazuela while visiting and delight in their excellent friendly service. What a great getaway!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently remodeled, the La Fonda Hotel on the plaza is a Santa Fe icon. The rooms are up to date and beautifully decorated, The staff was outstanding and friendly. They truly make one feel at home when traveling. The bathrooms were very up to date and always clean. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud...not that I ever slept on a cloud...but if I had it would have been at La Fonda.
Many of the rooms have great views of the city and even small balconies. Try the salads in the courtyard restaurant...a great place to lunch. A true Santa Fe experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent three nights at the La Fonda Hotel in old town Santa Fe. We knew the area was in a drought, so we did not bother the staff to change out the towels and linens every day. The room was large and the beds were very comfortable. We had a comfortable and quiet night's sleep each night. The restaurant served delicious meals and the staff at the front desk was very helpful in guiding us to the main attractions in Santa Fe. Because the hotel is in the town square, we were able to walk everywhere. The thing we love most about Santa Fe is the artists' colony of Canyon Road, and we could easily walk there from our hotel. It is so nice to wake up in the morning before the stores open, and look out the window at the charming little streets. Santa Fe is one of favorite places to visit, and now the La Fonda Hotel will be one of favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at La Fonda on the Plaza on Mother's Day, and the choice of this hotel was made by a random decision without placing too much thoughts; It was based solely on what I read about the hotel ranking from tripadvisor. It is conveniently located at the Plaza and we can walk to everything. We got a very good price booking directly at the hotel website.

I booked two adjacent rooms for us and another couple, good friends of ours. We planned to stay for one night after a business meeting in Albuquerque. Instead of two rooms, I clicked (or over-clicked) and booked 4 rooms by mistake. I called the hotel to make sure that the mistake was corrected. From that time on, I felt that La Fonda is a nice, relax, and friendly place with great staff. You have a reasonable request, they will take care of it; you have any problem, they will take care of it.

We found the hotel staff to be friendly, easy going, and courteous. We were treated with good manner, and the hotel provided the charm and the beauty that we haven't experienced during our traveling these days.

It was an one night short stay for us; we used the coupon for breakfast in the beautiful glass paneled open space. We used the $2 discount for the Margarita, and we tried the dessert place near the bar; except for the drinks, we were not disappointed. The room was newly renovated. Our room had a beautifully wooden floor. We got so excited about the room, we asked our friends to come over to view this beautiful floor. The bed was ultra-comfortable, and the wireless was readily available.

We wished that we had a two-night stay, and could definitely skip the airport stay. It is such a short distance from the airport, it would have worked fine.

It took us almost half a life time to finally visit NM. We might never come this way again. However, the stay at La Fonda which is such a classy place with the old world's charm, and it has made all the difference in traveling when we stay in a hotel like this. We are happy to say that our visit to NM is worth the waiting for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.