We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, historic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very nice, historic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights during a conference. From the Santa Fe airport, it's about a $50 taxi / $15 shuttle ride. There aren't always taxis outside the airport (and it takes taxis about 20 minutes to get out to the airport) so plan ahead.

Staff is very friendly and food (catered for our meetings) was very good.

Rooms are nice, but a bit small (mostly because of furniture placement).

I had a room on the 4th floor under the "Tower Bar" It was incredibly noisy in the early evening. People moving chairs over tile floors is way louder than you would think. I thought it was thunder at first. If I came back, I would check in advance about avoiding the rooms in this area.

Hotel seems to be in the middle of everything. Very convenient if you're visiting historic Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    254
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
182
455
56
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is a very nice property. It had obviously been renovated recently, but the staff was great. You cannot beat the location and being able to park your car in a garage next door for only $15 made it even better. You almost have too many choices for restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in rm 404 and had a small balcony. Opened the door in the morning and let the fresh air in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had checked out La Fonda on a previous visit to Santa Fe, but never stayed there before. We knew we were going to try it out on our next visit, and we were not disappointed. Our deluxe queen bed room was spacious. All the amenities were there. The staff was courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The restaurant and bar were lively and the food and drinks were great! The decoration in the room and throughout the hotel was updated but very much in keeping with the history and culture of the hotel and the area. Do ask for feather pillows upon arrival. They will add to your comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We chose this lovely old hotel for its location, adjacent to the cathedral and historic plaza. You can roll right out of bed and be surrounded by museums, history, galleries, and southwestern charm recently remodeled, La Fonda retains it's artsy, somewhat funky vibe, with the added plus of good, functional modern utilities, nice restaurants, a great rooftop bar, and interesting shops. There is no bathtub, but the fixtures in the bathroom are new and nice, the only real negative is an uncomfortable bed and pillows like rocks. Still, I'd stay there again to sample the vibe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles/Tarzana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Walking town. Centrally located. Parking not convenient, no valet at this time.
Nice city, but two days is more than enough unless you are there for a special event.
Lacks space to put cosmetics in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver co
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed at La Fonda for two weeks for a conference. Every detail from the hand painted headboards to the tin-framed light switches was really superb--all in keeping with the Southwest character. Even the parking garage had pole paintings!. So inspiring walking around the hotel every day and seeing the beauty everywhere. Kudos to the decorator! I must praise the staff, as well, who did a great job seeing to our needs and wishes. Daniel, the bellman, was very gracious in helping us get some supplies to our rooms, Rebecca was ever-so-helpful at the concierge's desk, and Andrew was a very attentive server in the restaurant. Thank you all for helping us to have a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Was there a problem when we checked in? Yes, we were in room 450, I cannot believe another reviewer mentioned this issue, I wish I would have read that review. We did have to do some complaining but they rectified the situation and upgraded our room to a roomier quieter room. As my mom said "they really should make room 450 a storage closet!" a room under a bar is a no go. That being said I loved every minute in this historical hotel. The details at every turn were incredible. I am so used to staying at cookie cutter boring hotels, and this is nothing like that. We woke up to the bells of Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi, so beautiful. I loved being in the center of everything. The food at the restaurant was outstanding. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.