We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interlude at La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Bloomington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interlude at La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A great place to unwind with a night cap before enjoying a goodnight chocolate or a great place to get a little exercise on the dance floor at the La Fiesta Lounge before bed. Enjoy a spectacular view of Santa Fe from the View on the roof while sipping a Margarita or a glass of wine with a tapa or two. Very friendly staff from reception to wait staff to concierge, newly refurbished beautiful rooms which still retain the original flavor of La Fonda. What's not to enjoy? La Fonda is the perfect location for galleries, shopping, cooking class and all within walking distance. We parked the car and didn't get back into it until the day we left. Our stay at La Fonda was perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Just remember when you close the shower curtain be sure the loop goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
188
506
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We arrived earlier than expected (midday) and our allotted room was not ready. No problem. We were immediately upgraded to a concierge room with a vast private balcony. Nothing was too much trouble for the experienced staff. The room was a delight. It came with breakfast included, which we took in their colourful restaurant. That was the only small disappointment. I would rather have ordered from the menu and paid for it as the offering wasn't up to the hotel's otherwise exemplary standards. Overall tho -- highly recommended.

Room Tip: See if you can swing an upgrade!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently stayed at La Fonda for 2 weeks. The hotel is lovely, comfortable and well located. The service at La Fonda was incredible. From check in at the front desk, through many meals in the hotel, room service, concierge, bell staff and check out...without exception the service was second to none. In particular Daniel Martinez was always available to help, always pleasant, always smiling...though in fairness I could not find one employee of this property who did not demonstrate a similar level of exceptional service. The French Patisserie off of the Lobby was terrific...service was great and the French pastries and coffee a daily must! I had many meals at both the Restaurant and Bar during my stay and the food was always excellent and service impeccible. The Margaritas are the best! I would highly recommend La Fonda and certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Staying at La Fonda allows one to really experience the rich history of this amazing old city called Santa Fe. You can't go wrong with getting a room here as the place is eye candy for all things New Mexico from the fantastic artwork to the authentic building itself. While the place has been remodeled it still has much charm with modern efficiencies.

Room Tip: I enjoyed being on the second floor in a two double bed room which allow easy access directly up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

On a spring break road trip with my two sons, we had been staying in chain hotels, which is a pretty homogenous experience, so the switch to a unique but still very comfortable setup was a welcome one.

The very nice people upgraded us to a suite, which I gather they do regularly when they have a suite open. It was a lovely room, every comfortable bed and luxurious (if cavernous) bathroom. Upon our request, two people from housekeeping came to make up the hide-a-bed for my youngest son - they were there inside five minutes and it took them barely two minutes to complete. Our interactions with the staff could not have been better.

La Fonda offers walking tours of downtown Santa Fe in the mornings. Though we did not have the time to do it, we ran into one of the guides out on the plaza the night before, and he selflessly offered us some fascinating history of the monument and the buildings around. The history of Santa Fe is eye-opening and I would highly recommend this tour that I admittedly did not take.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Location is in the city center, the check in process was nice and the rooms have recently been renovated, that is the good. The rest, not so good. The turn down service was them throwing three chocolates in the bed, not making it or closing the blinds. The front desk clerk gave absurdly wrong information for hiking, the lobby is nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nites and had a suite that had a bath and a half. That was great -- it really cut down on the noise in the morning when I was trying to sleep and my husband was up and about. The suite had a large living room area with a good sized desk. The bedroom was also well sized and the full bath very nicely set up. The staff was always helpful and we were happy we picked a location right on the plaza. It allowed us to walk all around and never need to worry about a car. We walked to many good restaurants -- skip eating in the hotel as this was not a highlight.

Room Tip: corner suite is the roomiest and we had one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.