We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful suite -- nice furnishings and very comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Rehoboth Beach
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“wonderful suite -- nice furnishings and very comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nites and had a suite that had a bath and a half. That was great -- it really cut down on the noise in the morning when I was trying to sleep and my husband was up and about. The suite had a large living room area with a good sized desk. The bedroom was also well sized and the full bath very nicely set up. The staff was always helpful and we were happy we picked a location right on the plaza. It allowed us to walk all around and never need to worry about a car. We walked to many good restaurants -- skip eating in the hotel as this was not a highlight.

Room Tip: corner suite is the roomiest and we had one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    263
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
185
495
57
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NM USA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The renovated La Fonda beautifully embraces the warmth and art of the Land of Enchantment. Hallways with contemporary and historic native art,
headboards painted by artists in the original La Fonda style,
and art in the rooms with descriptions on the origin of the pieces
all add to a truly Santa Fe experience. We loved finding the Kelly Jo tile art
in the shower and the Sheldon Harvey painting down a hallway. Tastefully done.
Service was excellent, from check-in to late-evening snack in the La Fiesta lounge.
The room was comfortable; the small balcony (one chair and a small table) overlooked Loretto Chapel. Keurig machine in the room for morning coffee, and the free wi-fi worked well.
Location of course can't be beat, steps from the Plaza and Cathedral. Common areas on main floor maintain the historic look and feel. We used the adjacent parking garage, it costs $15/night. We could hear some noise in the hallway in the early evening but the place was quiet the rest of the night. Our first stay at La Fonda, it was a treat.

Room Tip: room 408 has small balcony overlooking Loretto Chapel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Recently spent 4 very relaxing days at La Fonda- the most comfortable bed, with lots of pillows and a clean spacious and quiet room, safe, refrigerator, bathrobes, chocolates on the bed at night. Keurig coffee maker with selection of pods, and complimentary bottled water that is refilled daily. Close to the Plaza, shopping, museums, and restaurants. Parking is $15/day for hotel guests. Very friendly service. Unfortunately the pool and hot tub were closed for 10 days for repairs. Won't wait another 15 years to visit Santa Fe and will be sure to return to La Fonda!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobargo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been in Santa Fe for the last two weeks for a conference and have found the hotel a beautiful comfortable home away from home, the staff have been helpful and kind with young Daniel the bellhop outstanding in his kindness and humour helping deliver groceries around the hotel. A inspiring experience. I recommend it to anyone who wants a genuine experience of a beautiful city and people.

Room Tip: The bed are very comfortable and twin share beds are huge. Warm and snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

this was our 4th visit to the La Fonda, 1st since the renovations, the up grades to the rooms were terrific......we choose this hotel for its great location (on the Plaza) its very attentive staff that always exceeds our expectations, add in great food....it is our hotel of choice we visit Santa Fe

You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at La Fonda a number of times over the years and have never been disappointed. The hotel is a complete experience in its own right due to having so many enchanting and first rate attractions. The main restaurant is beautifully appointed with the best breakfast food and service in Santa Fe. There is a charming and delicious coffee shop that serves French pastries along with fresh brewed coffee drinks. There is also a small book and magazine shop, indoor and outdoor bars, and many fine shops. The History of La Fonda going back to the Harvey Girl era of the early 1920's is well preserved and illustrated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Came from Australia to a conference at LA Fonda being a first visit to USA and the service has been amazing. Danny on the desk, Daniel and Reuben with the luggage,the concierges Rebecca and maryanne, Mary who organised a new fridge, nothing is too much for them to help you. I don't want to leave.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.