We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Recently spent 4 very relaxing days at La Fonda- the most comfortable bed, with lots of pillows and a clean spacious and quiet room, safe, refrigerator, bathrobes, chocolates on the bed at night. Keurig coffee maker with selection of pods, and complimentary bottled water that is refilled daily. Close to the Plaza, shopping, museums, and restaurants. Parking is $15/day for hotel guests. Very friendly service. Unfortunately the pool and hot tub were closed for 10 days for repairs. Won't wait another 15 years to visit Santa Fe and will be sure to return to La Fonda!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    270
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
188
503
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobargo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have been in Santa Fe for the last two weeks for a conference and have found the hotel a beautiful comfortable home away from home, the staff have been helpful and kind with young Daniel the bellhop outstanding in his kindness and humour helping deliver groceries around the hotel. A inspiring experience. I recommend it to anyone who wants a genuine experience of a beautiful city and people.

Room Tip: The bed are very comfortable and twin share beds are huge. Warm and snug.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

this was our 4th visit to the La Fonda, 1st since the renovations, the up grades to the rooms were terrific......we choose this hotel for its great location (on the Plaza) its very attentive staff that always exceeds our expectations, add in great food....it is our hotel of choice we visit Santa Fe

You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at La Fonda a number of times over the years and have never been disappointed. The hotel is a complete experience in its own right due to having so many enchanting and first rate attractions. The main restaurant is beautifully appointed with the best breakfast food and service in Santa Fe. There is a charming and delicious coffee shop that serves French pastries along with fresh brewed coffee drinks. There is also a small book and magazine shop, indoor and outdoor bars, and many fine shops. The History of La Fonda going back to the Harvey Girl era of the early 1920's is well preserved and illustrated.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Came from Australia to a conference at LA Fonda being a first visit to USA and the service has been amazing. Danny on the desk, Daniel and Reuben with the luggage,the concierges Rebecca and maryanne, Mary who organised a new fridge, nothing is too much for them to help you. I don't want to leave.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We finally stayed here for one night, having for years visited the hotel to use their parking or to pass through and visit the shops. Overall, a good first stay, the ambiance is wonderful and the hotel is nicely appointed. The room was small for the price (romance package), but cozy and we were on the 2nd floor, south side of the building, with a view of Loretto Chapel. I like to crack the hotel window for fresh air at night, but the noise from the garbage collection on the street in the early morning
woke me up and forced me to close it. The shower is small but you can move the extra towels and blow dryer in the recessed shelves into the closet outside the door to make room for your toiletries. I loved the Antica Farmacista Grapefruit toiletries
samples--just a wonderful, clean scent. The blow dryer was just fine for me (an earlier reviewer commented about it), but some of the outlets in the room were a little wonky. The room seemed too cramped for the complimentary breakfast in room, so we ate at La Plazuela, which we had dinner at the night before. Very delicous food and a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere.

Only one thing I found not to my liking: dogs are allowed at this hotel and there were several seen in the lobby, one that was barking at passers-by and a kind of intimidating. Sitting or sleeping where dogs have been just doesn't do it for me (see some of the visitor's photos). I think the hotel should allocate at least a few rooms--and nice ones, too--that are pet free for those who are allergic to them. If there is a next time, I'll be sure to check with them for a pet-free room, if they're available.

We didn't use the spa or pool, but took a look at them and they seemed nice. Lots of cool shops inside the facility and many more on the plaza, plus an easy walk to several museums and the Basilica of St. Francis. If I stay here again, will probably try to find a coupon special and get a room on a higher floor with a fire place and balcony. The Terrace rooms look really nice. So many nice hotels and B&Bs for the same price in SF, though I think you should at least try this one once for the historical factor and the proximity to the Plaza. The employees were friendly and attentive, and again, a nice historical vibe here that can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Drove to Santa Fe from Denver on a quick weekend trip with my two daughters 14 and 10. The location is excellent. Right next to the Loretto Chapel and The Historic Plaza. The Staff and service was excellent. Rooms were very clean and the food was fantastic- although the food everywhere in Santa Fe is so good. There is a great little French bakery/cafe inside the hotel for breakfast and lunch. Very fresh and portion sizes are perfect. This hotel is a dog friendly hotel and they greeted our dog with a toy and treats and literature on dog sitting services and dog friendly restaurants.
The only set back would have to be the pool and hot tub. But only because it's an old hotel and wasn't intended for a big modern pool. If you have little kiddos, they won't care but it is rather tiny.
There is a roof top bar to watch the sunset that I hear nothing but amazing things about- it wasn't open yet however I will go back to just catch that.
This is a historical little gem of a place. Santa Fe is a sleepy little town/village.. if you don't have patience then don't come here because the design of the city is old world ... walkers delight.. No city grid mentality here.
Great experience and I highly recommend this hotel!
It's easy to see why art and religion and history all come together in this special place.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is so old and soundly made- noise isn't a factor when in the room for the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.