We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful renovation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful renovation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at La Fonda many times over the past decade and find it just keeps getting better and better: food, service, art, decor, etc. They've added an indoor pool, spa, etc. And some always-wonderful things--like it's central location and convenient parking garage, free internet--make it a wonderful spot for a brief or extended stay. It's a great value and the recent room renovations are terrific in terms of bathrooms, decor, linens, amenities, etc. We recently stayed in a Terrace room--with a giant whirlpool bath, big walk-in shower, bidet, two TVs, our own private balcony overlooking the wonderful historic church--what a treat!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hallettsville, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I wanted to book a same sex wedding at the hotel, with a Concierge Level Suite for 5 days, 10 other rooms for about 20 guests, use of the Terrace for the 30 minute ceremony, and then drinks and dinner for at least 20 at the hotel restaurant, La Plazuela. When I didn't hear back from the hotel within a reasonable time frame, I called my Platinum Card Concierge (to save time) and told them of my requirements. The hotel's response was that the Terrace was not a proper venue for a ceremony of this size, even though they have pictures on their website of ceremonies being held there, and that the restaurant would not be able to accommodate our group as they didn't have a private dining room, and that we would be too rowdy. Umm....first, we are all 50+ and have never been the rowdy sort, as our principled upbringing and attention to etiquette would have not made this possible. Not even in our much younger years! So, let's see how much the hotel lost by their boorish behaviour (prices are approximate from their website and do not include taxes):

Concierge Level Room: $439 x 5 days = $2195.00
10 Guest Rooms: $250/night x 2 nights x 10 guests = $5000.00
Dinner and drinks for 20 at restaurant: $35 per guest x 20 = $700.00
TOTAL = $7895.00

I've been in business for many years, and I would NOT want to be the one to explain why we lost that sort of revenue to the owners or general manager.

So, discriminatory behaviour? I'll leave that for you to decide, fellow travelers/road warriors. If it matters to you, the you'll know what to do. If it doesn't matter, then you'll also know what to do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir:

In review of your Trip Advisor comments we believe the following to be a more accurate depiction of the circumstances:

• The venue requested was already booked and not available
• A reception in the restaurant spread across multiple tables and among other dining patrons would have been less than ideal and inhibited the quality of your event
• Alternative venue options were suggested in an effort to help you arrange your celebration
• La Fonda has hosted many same-sex marriages in the past and we continue to book these into the future.

I am sorry that premier wedding backdrop in Santa Fe was not available for the dates you had chosen. We wish you all the best as you embark in this new, exciting time in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at the La Fonda many times over the past 20 years, and everything about the hotel is fabulous. The history, the art, the service, the rooms, the decor, the food, the shops all contribute to a wonderful experience. The recent room renovation was a huge plus! We really enjoyed the oversized bath and shower! Gabe at the front desk is an incredible host and exemplifies the level of customer service of the hotel. The restaurant menu continues to be diverse and exciting for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor over looking the Chapel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grapevine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here about a year ago and loved it. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was perfectly located. I didn't have a car but was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go. I also found some wonderful and reasonable restaurants. My deepest love was my bed! It was really hard to get out of bed every day because it was so comfortable. I had the best sleep ever and really wanted to take the bed home with me. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great location, wonderful service, good special rates, good food in La Plazuela restaurant on site. Gorgeous art throughout. Comfortable rooms. A great place for a little splurge. Great shops in the hotel and nearby, but be prepared to spend some $$$.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

La Fonda is an historic hotel conveniently located on the Plaza in Santa Fe. Quaint lobby, friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, if a bit dated. (Perhaps, that goes with being historic.) Boutique shopping in hotel and nearby. Parking in an attached ramp. Free internet. Restaurant is good, not great, but there are many fine options in walking distance. Off-season group meeting rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This property is a must for anyone visiting Santa Fe, New Mexico! Everything was perfect from check-in to check-out. Our room was amazing, we even had a wood burning fireplace in our 5th floor room, not to mention a balcony that provided us with a perfect view of the sunrise over the eastern mountains! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, food was excellent, and the drinks were perfect. I just can't say enough about this respite from an otherwise hectic week. We will most assuredly be staying here again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.