We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed at the La Fonda many times over the past 20 years, and everything about the hotel is fabulous. The history, the art, the service, the rooms, the decor, the food, the shops all contribute to a wonderful experience. The recent room renovation was a huge plus! We really enjoyed the oversized bath and shower! Gabe at the front desk is an incredible host and exemplifies the level of customer service of the hotel. The restaurant menu continues to be diverse and exciting for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 4th floor over looking the Chapel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    639
    237
    68
    33
    39
See reviews for
169
425
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
grapevine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here about a year ago and loved it. The staff was wonderful and the hotel was perfectly located. I didn't have a car but was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go. I also found some wonderful and reasonable restaurants. My deepest love was my bed! It was really hard to get out of bed every day because it was so comfortable. I had the best sleep ever and really wanted to take the bed home with me. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great location, wonderful service, good special rates, good food in La Plazuela restaurant on site. Gorgeous art throughout. Comfortable rooms. A great place for a little splurge. Great shops in the hotel and nearby, but be prepared to spend some $$$.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

La Fonda is an historic hotel conveniently located on the Plaza in Santa Fe. Quaint lobby, friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, if a bit dated. (Perhaps, that goes with being historic.) Boutique shopping in hotel and nearby. Parking in an attached ramp. Free internet. Restaurant is good, not great, but there are many fine options in walking distance. Off-season group meeting rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This property is a must for anyone visiting Santa Fe, New Mexico! Everything was perfect from check-in to check-out. Our room was amazing, we even had a wood burning fireplace in our 5th floor room, not to mention a balcony that provided us with a perfect view of the sunrise over the eastern mountains! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, food was excellent, and the drinks were perfect. I just can't say enough about this respite from an otherwise hectic week. We will most assuredly be staying here again.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything about our stay has been great. We checked in early (11 am) and our room was available. The hotel parking is extremely convenient but didn't work for us because our vehicle's clearance is too high. The front desk were most accommodating and we parked in a public lot close by. The hotel's location is fabulous. The hotel has a wonderful feel - historic yet fresh. The room was understated, with a southwestern feel. The staff very nicely supplied a microwave. The bed and bedding were super. No bath, but nice robes. I got a very good rate, so the room was a good value, too. Great experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were here about a year ago and came back for another stay. The location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful and nicely appointed, and the historic features of the hotel are nicely preserved. The lounge and restaurant serve delicious food. All in all, this is a great place to stay.

The hotel rates are on the high side, but for what you get, they're worth it. We'll be back - again and again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.