We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Santa Fe.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Las Cruces
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Santa Fe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

This heritage hotel was recently refurbished and is a gem. It is right on the plaza, surrounded by art galleries and museums and is an easy walk to the New Mexico legislature. The rooms are historic while offering modern amenities like keurig coffee makers and a fridge. A little over priced but considering the prime location...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    298
    78
    34
    38
See reviews for
211
558
61
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mayfield, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at La Fonda. At first was afraid it was going to be another stuffy fancy hotel but it was not. The atmosphere was peaceful and serene. The staff was excellent, helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and comfortable although not many places to sit thing especially in the bathroom. It is located on The Plaza so was easy to walk to a lot of places. The restaurant was excellent. We enjoyed breakfast around the fountain again very serene setting.
The only negative was the parking. The parking garage is very tight so once we parked we did not want to move the vehicle. It also bothers me that a hotel charges it's guest for parking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband, mother and I just spent a week in Santa Fe at La Fonda. It had been 5 years and various remodels since our last stay. it was even better than we remembered. Our rooms were very comfortable, our bathrooms had been nicely updated and all the staff we encountered were warm, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the terrycloth robes provided, the new Kuerig coffee machines, the nightly bed turndown and the chocolates on our pillows. Since we were there so long we had an opportunity to eat in the restaurant (La Plazuela) a number of times and enjoy several evenings in the lounge. On one chilly evening we enjoyed after dinner coffees in front of a nice fire in the lounge. We had the fireplace to ourselves, live music, excellent service. . All in all, it was a delightful week and we cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all kinds of rooms at La Fonda in the past and never had a bad one. If anything we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

A must for every visit to Santa Fe is walking through the lobby of La Fonda, even if we are not staying in the hotel or eating in one of the restaurants. It has maintained the charm of Old Santa Fe through several renovations, and you still feel the aura of the romantic history of the City Different.

We are frequent visitors to Santa Fe, and usually stay in one of several vacation rentals which we enjoy very much. In fact, we had stayed in one for a week before we had to extend our trip a couple of days and decided to stay two nights in the hotel. We were delighted with the room, the convenience of being right in the midst of the activity of the Plaza, and steps away from the lovely restaurant, La Plazuela and cozy Old French Bakery. The staff was friendly and helpful, too.

Breakfast and lunch at La Plazuela were very good...a great place for a leisurely meal with friends and family, again friendly staff who never rushed you or made you feel as though you should be paying rent for your table.

It had been 26 years since we last stayed at La Fonda, and it was so good to see that the renovations had increased the comfort without sacrificing the character of the fine old hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I recently stayed La Fonda for a four-day conference held at this hotel. The hotel has a nice combination of Santa Fe charm and business efficiency that contributed to a productive meeting. The meeting rooms are large and away from high-traffic areas, which mitigates the possibilities of distractions during presentations and discussions. The meeting rooms have lots of room and electrical outlet options, yet have a tasteful southwest decor in every room. There is a business services area near the meeting rooms, which was convenient.

The rooms were nicely decorated, the quality of the fixtures and furniture were top notch, and even though I had a room on the first floor, outside noise wasn't an issue. The only minor thing I would comment on with respect to the rooms was that my room had tile/stone floors with rugs; as a result, there as a bit of an echo when I tried to have a conversation.

Overall, however, given the quality of the meeting facilities and lodging (and the good price), I would return to La Fonda for a business meeting or a family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Great price for the room and the location. The room was nice sized with lovely original art and furnishings. The bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was gorgeous, functional and very clean. Large closet with a safe and adequate lighting. Kuerig coffee maker a pleasant surprise. Couple of fine eating options in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Decor is southwestern with lots of art, murals and sculpture. Recently renovated. Room & and bathroom were spacious with a fireplace and comfortable chairs to cosy into. Good breakfasts in the lobby cafe and a delicious French cafe with excellent cafe au lait and croissants. Hotel is centrally located off the plaza and easy walking distance to almost everything. Really relaxing. Concierge provided lots of info on places to go and things to do in 36 hours.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.