We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fonda after the remodel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Fonda after the remodel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have stayed at La Fonda twice since they remodeled all the guest rooms. The first visit was for the Indian Market in early September. Our room was nice, but probably shouldn't have been rented since it was not quite ready to occupy. The light switches did not work, so no overhead lighting. You had to walk in to a lamp before you had light. Bathroom style was good, but the showerhead had such little movement that you had to back up to it, and the shower control then was pressed against your behind. Chairs in the room were not very comfortable, but were unique in that they were leather sling chairs. Worst of all, the internet provided did not work for most of the time we were there. A tech person came to our room, and immediately blamed our Apple computer and IPad as the culprit, stating that the antennas in those devices were not very good. A critique I could have done without. Also, the TV was so far away from the bed, that the remote wouldn't operate without getting up and walking toward the TV. The bed was great, as well as the balcony overlooking San Francisco street, and a great view of the Basilica. Great food at La Plazuela, convenient parking. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with cushioned chairs, or a sofa. The leather sling chairs are not very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    299
    78
    34
    38
See reviews for
211
558
61
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gatesville, Texas
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

After driving 11 hours from Texas in bad weather we were so glad to arrive at this lovely hotel. It is beautiful and Gabrielle and staff at the front desk were so nice and helpful! They went out of their way to make sure our stay was a memorable one!!! The room is awesome.... super comfortable bed and pillows and a fireplace as well. The hotel is located in the middle of everything, so after a day of walking and shopping in freezing weather the fireplace is extra nice! The food and drinks are awesome too. We will definitely be back! Thanks La Fonda for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There isn't a better meeting place in Santa Fe! This lobby is a blast. Get yourself a bottle of wine and have a seat in one of the great old chairs in the lobby to watch the parade. Rooms are very nice...roomy and comfortable. No bathtub in ours but a nicely remodeled shower. 2nd time to stay there and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was married in June of this year, but we didn't get to take a honeymoon until Thanksgiving week. We booked the week at the La Fonda in Sante Fe due to its proximity to the plaza and the rest of the historic section of town. It was wonderful. They upgraded us to a deluxe king and I guess the feature that made it a deluxe was a separate sitting area off the main room. The room was wonderful and gave us some space during the week-long stay. The remodel was done very nicely and the rooms were steeped in the favor of Santa Fe, without being overdone. Overall, it was a wonderful stay. There were only two areas of improvement on the hotel. 1) the spa closed at 4:00pm and 2) the room only had a shower. But we found a spa an 1 1/2 hours away that took care of our soaking in hot water needs.

Room Tip: The food in Santa Fe is wonderful, but making reservations is a really good idea, even at the hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel with a storied history, located just steps away from the history town square and from the central tourist spots and shopping. Staff were very good and attentive. In house restaurant was excellent - better than some of the more highly touted nearby restaurants. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at La Fonda nearly 30 years ago and although I have been to Santa Fe many times since, this was only my 2nd stay at La Fonda. There is not a hotel in the city with a longer, more storied history. It has recently been redone and looks fabulous. They did a great job updating yet retaining the historic feel and importance of the hotel. The location, right on the Plaza, could not be more convenient.
My criticisms are: the rooms are quite small (which cannot be helped considering the age of the building - it would have been cost prohibitive to enlarge the guest rooms) and the lobby is not warm, cozy and inviting and is often overcrowded when compared, say, to the Inn at Loretto's rooms and lobby.
I think everyone who comes to Santa Fe should at least see La Fonda and, if room size is not an issue, stay there once.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were totally thrilled that our room overlooked the beautiful Catholic Church and it was nice to see the snow on the rooftops and lighted luminaries from the balcony. We stayed in room 630 which was lovely and very clean! The floors were wood and there were beautiful wood beamed ceilings. The bed was very comfortable and I definitely will go back. The restaurant also has great selections on the menu. We were offered a free breakfast with our accommodation which was a real treat as well. They have several clothing and also a shoe shop, jewelry, gift shops, etc inside la Fonda which is convenient. The room was immaculate and not a speck of dirt anywhere!!!!
I will definitely go back and stay there again!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 630 very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.