We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay for SWAIA's Indian Market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Paguate
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay for SWAIA's Indian Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Literally steps away from the Plaza. The recent remodel is spot on. Staff is always courteous and very helpful. Dining in the restaurant is always awesome...what can I say, you really never have to leave La Fonda, the place is historically beautiful. Absolutely no hesitations going back, and I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
188
506
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A lifelong New Mexican, I shamelessly have to admit I have never really taken time to explore Santa Fe, so when my girlfriend told me that all she wanted for her birthday was to get a hotel and spend the entire weekend with me, I immediately looked at Santa Fe as our option.
The location of La Fonda was perfect. During our weekend we were able to explore the Santa Fe Plaza having shopping and restaurants conveniently located, and most importantly museums within 2-5 mins walking distance.
The spaciousness of the suite was beyond what we expected. We had what felt like a full living-room, a walk-in shower, a full bath tub and what we found extremely convenient was the fact that our floor had a private jacuzzi. Did I mention complimentary breakfast in bed? Big thank you has to go out to the Director of Guest Services Adrian Montoya, he along with the rest of the staff was beyond friendly, respectful, pleasant and extremely professional. A+ service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner suites have a great views of the mountains and/or plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed on night. The hotel has been completely renovated. The room was beautiful. The man helping with the luggage was vey helpful. He told us about the roof bar and the Cuban music that night..there was a free concert in the park next door. A band from brazil was playing..we had a wonderful meal. Just a very wonderful and relaxing time. I would stay her again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There are so many neat things about the La Fonda Hotel in Santa Fe. One of my favorites is the Bell Tower at the top floor, which is a bar and soon to be restaurant. It is the perfect place for viewing sunsets, having a drink, and visiting with new and old friends. The restaurant on the main floor is lovely. You may order soup, salad, or a huge meal and enjoy the pretty hand painted glass windows and the sparkiing lit trees. The La Fonda Bar offers cocktails, atmosphere, and often music in the evening as well as a dance floor. Visit all of the interesting shops that surround the hotel, or sit around and watch the interesting people drift by in the lobby. The rooms are lovely and decorated with authentic Indian inspired decor. The La Fonda is located right on the main plaza. So it is a village, inside and out. One would not need to venture afar to have a wonderful time in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: It is crowded on the weekends. They have a good parking garage that will comp you if you have a mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Santa Fe is beautiful, but staying at La Fonda makes it perfect! It is the iconic place to stay! The rooms were wonderful! We loved the walk-in shower along with the windows that open to smell the piñon incense in the air. The hot tub was a nice treat after walking all day and the La Plazuela is not to be missed. The atmosphere at breakfast is wonderful! Not enough good can be said!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Wonderful hotel a stones throw from all the boutiques and restaurants in Santa Fe. Wonderful pool to relax by and have a bite to eat and hear the church bells chime. Absolutely wonderful spa. Breakfast at La Fonda is wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room on the first floor with it's own patio. The room next to us had two v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant at La Fonda is not to be missed! Beautiful and colorful surroundings, attentive wait staff and excellent food. Start with the guacamole made at table-side with ingredients of your choice. We had the chicken, pasta with shrimp, steak and lamb chops and all were very beautifully presented and prepared as requested. Desserts were the flan and strawberry shortcake neither of which disappointed. The nearby gift shop off the lobby is more than a cut above the rest and a good stop on the way in or out!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.