We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alamo, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed Emotions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The remodel/renovation at La Fonda is beautiful. The hotel exudes the same character and charisma of other great "old" hotels such as the Ahwahnee. Many in our travelling party had spectacular, newly renovated rooms. That said, the room we were assigned at check-in was not the grade room we reserved when reservations were made five months ago. It was a spectacular disappointment. Although the room was newly renovated, it looked out over a roof complete with scaffolding and other construction related items... that was our "view". No need for an alarm... the hammering on the walls started promptly at 7:00 AM. The front desk was unresponsive when we asked to relocate. Beyond that, the construction detail of the shower rendered it impossible to shower without absolutely flooding the bathroom floor. I'm sure that will be on the "punch list" for the contractor. Unfortunately, we considered our room simply a "crash pad"... which perhaps was a good thing as it encouraged us to get out and enjoy beautiful Santa Fe. On another note, there was a power outage throughout the the area at apx. 2:00 AM. I stuck my head into the hallway and noted that the backup lighting system was on. As the elevator was obviously out of operation, I decided to follow the exit route "just in case". The route that I followed lead to a dead end where construction had "walled off" the route. I tried a different stairway with the same results. I finally found a route to the lobby. Thankfully there wasn't an emergency or we'd have been trapped like rats. Wouldn't you think that someone would have the foresight to post accurate "Temporary Evacuation" signs during this construction period? The common areas, gift shops, and restaurants were beyond expectations. I would absolutely book La Fonda again... but I would also make it absolutely, abundantly, unmistakably clear upon booking that I will not accept a room such as the one I stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    298
    78
    34
    38
See reviews for
211
558
61
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I adored this hotel. The history, the artwork, La Plazuela restaurant, the great shops attached to the building, the margaritas, the location, the rooms! Those perfectly appointed rooms on the renovated fifth floor, with a real wood burning fireplace stocked daily! The tile work is stunning, and that bathtub! Heaven. I appreciated having a fridge in the room. I also loved the "window shopping" displays in the lower hallway.

Because we were there during renovation, sadly the Bell Tower bar was closed, as was the pool. The huge disappointment however was that there wasn't a single location in the hotel where we could sit outside on a balcony and enjoy the great April weather. I located a balcony on the second floor, but they had it locked tight, a disservice to guests IMO.

I also thought the lounge was oddly located with bad feng shui. It was so dimly lit and in that odd interior space, it just wasn't a place we ever wanted to hang out, even with those fab margaritas and live music. Santa Fe begs you to go outdoors, so I hope their Bell Tower bar reopens soon.

If I had to sum it up in two words: romantic nostalgia.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to anything with a balcony, do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Veta, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the La Fonda for 2 nights in mid May. Starting with free
covered parking ( for guests) attached to the hotel, a real plus considering the parking situation in downtown Santa Fe. Follow that with customer service and satisfaction that may be hard to beat, from the room cleaning staff, to food service, front desk, concierge, and all the shops in the hotel, they all were polite and ready to make your stay a good one. The hotel is under renovation
so obviously there will be some noise, it was on and off all day, not that bad and you should be out seeing the sights anyway. We were given a newly renovated room on the 4th floor, walked in and felt comfortable right away, important for us when we're away from home, everything was
fresh and clean, great bathroom, comfortable beds. One hitch was that the TV was not upgraded
yet to rent and play movies so if you need movies bring an internet device. All in all could not have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After having traveled the world, I come to my hometown to experience terrible guest service and not having received the amenities promised in The La Fonda Hotel advertisement. The property is under renovation, the pool is "scheduled" to re-open along with the hot tub in July, the hot tub is open in the La Terraza portion of the hotel, but without receiving a property map of the property at check in, good luck finding it! The bellman dropped my belongings from the parking area, breaking my things, my guests were told I was not checked in to the property. Heaven forbid an emergency would have occurred, the caller would have been told the same thing as were the incoming calls congratulating me on my son's graduation from college. The open gathering room which is an amenity on their suite floor, was locked so we were unable to receive my son's 86 year old grandmother, my son's great aunt's who are older than her, and my parents. The breakfast came incomplete without coffee or toast and lastly, the whole experience was a catastrophe from start to finish. This could have been remedied if the Manager on Duty with his upside down name tag would have been at least cordial in the matter, but he was condescending at best. I have never had an experience like this in my life. A room is supposed to be about the guest experience, even the smallest experience should be a memorable, pleasant experience, not one you go home and cry about and regret.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I sincerely apologize for your recent experience at La Fonda on the Plaza. Our guests are like gold; our goal is to treat you as such. We rely on our guests to let us know when ourservice or amenities fall short of expectations so that we can address issues promptly. La Fonda is in the midst of an extensive renovation of our historic property. When complete in August 2013, the hotel will offer all of the yesterday’s charms with today’s modern guest amenities. I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again so that you may experience the true La Fonda on the Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed three nights. We were upgraded to a suite. It was on the 5th floor of their new wing. Simply gorgeous. The restaurants were excellent. The renovation didn't bother us at all. A more than pleasant place to call home for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I visited during La Fonda's renovation. Our check in went smoothly, and we went to our room. Unfortunately, the black-out curtains hadn't been installed. Not a huge deal, but we do find it difficult to sleep in a room that isn't very dark. We mentioned this to Dennis at the desk, and he immediately rectified the problem by moving us to a room that was perfect! The renovated rooms are very comfortable, stylish, and in keeping with the hotel's tradition of featuring local art in each room. While the renovation isn't yet complete, judging from the room, it will be a great success. As long as La Fonda has employees as thoughtful and responsive as Dennis, a stay here will be memorably enjoyable and pleasant!

Room Tip: Higher is better, and a balcony is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Historic, excellent property. Stay here and walk to everything! You will see why it has such a rich history and so many famous people stayed here over the years. What was impressive was how many local people also gathered here. Be sure to eat at their main restaurant with the painted windows - their guacamole was made table-side and it's the best we've ever had! Several interesting shops too. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.