We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel was fabulous in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Auburn, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This Hotel was fabulous in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights. We were upgraded to a suite. It was on the 5th floor of their new wing. Simply gorgeous. The restaurants were excellent. The renovation didn't bother us at all. A more than pleasant place to call home for a few nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I visited during La Fonda's renovation. Our check in went smoothly, and we went to our room. Unfortunately, the black-out curtains hadn't been installed. Not a huge deal, but we do find it difficult to sleep in a room that isn't very dark. We mentioned this to Dennis at the desk, and he immediately rectified the problem by moving us to a room that was perfect! The renovated rooms are very comfortable, stylish, and in keeping with the hotel's tradition of featuring local art in each room. While the renovation isn't yet complete, judging from the room, it will be a great success. As long as La Fonda has employees as thoughtful and responsive as Dennis, a stay here will be memorably enjoyable and pleasant!

Room Tip: Higher is better, and a balcony is a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Historic, excellent property. Stay here and walk to everything! You will see why it has such a rich history and so many famous people stayed here over the years. What was impressive was how many local people also gathered here. Be sure to eat at their main restaurant with the painted windows - their guacamole was made table-side and it's the best we've ever had! Several interesting shops too. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

La Fonda is Santa Fe, as I have often heard. Now I know why. This iconic hotel is located next to the Santa Fe Plaza, but somehow it is more the Plaza than the Plaza is. The real Plaza is just a greensward with the Palace of the Governors flanking it on one side. The lobby of La Fonda is the real meeting place in town where you come to be seen and to see and observe others--- either that or the Bell Tower Bar on the 5th floor. You can catch all sorts of interesting bits of conversation. You might meet anybody from your next door neighbor to a movie mogul. The lobby has at least three restaurants including The French Pastry Restaurant, La Plazuela, and a bar and grill where U.S. army operatives used to hide out during World War 2 looking for Russian undercover agents who came to Santa Fe to spy on Los Alamos. There are art galleries just like outside as well as clothing and handbag shops. It's like Santa Fe in miniature all under one roof.

Room Tip: I didn't stay here because it's not pet-friendly. Otherwise it's the only place to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Co
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was our pleasure to have been able to spend one night at this luxurious hotel right in the thick of things in Santa Fe. We were impressed with every aspect of this beautiful old hotel which was being renovated yet you wouldn't notice. There was no construction noise whatsoever. The staff were friendly and very helpful and we had breakfast and dinner in the beautiful La Plazuela at La Fonda restaurant (huevos rancheros for breakfast and steak fajita for dinner). It was comforting to see that we had a concierge desk right near our room which made things easier when checking out. Free and secure parking and free Wi-Fi were also important to us on our 5-state and 9-night road trip throughout the southwest. I loved the furnishings of the hotel and the beds and bed linen were deliciously comfortable. Our room was wonderfully spacious and we had a little balcony which looked out at the cathedral behind the hotel. The bathroom is exceptionally beautiful and their toiletries are top notch. I loved the upmarket stores in the hotel and spent much time looking around. I would highly recommend you consider this hotel as a place to stay. It's central and convenient to all things in Santa Fe as well as being a famous landmark. We felt so "grown up" and I cannot wait to come back for a second visit. I will be posting our travel story on my website (hopefully by April 20, 2013) if you'd like more information.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm sure La Fonda gets a lot of good reviews as a hotel, but I would like to report on their performance at a special event we attended there last month. It was a 70th birthday celebration held in the New Mexico Room and attended by about 100 people. The most remarkable thing was the exceptional food and service...almost never happens with a big buffet in my experience. We were greeted by a server with a tray full of margaritas...the rest of the evening followed just as delightfully! Considering a hotel where you can hold a special event in Santa Fe? I recommend the La Fonda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My Aunt & I spent a lovely time at La Fonda over the Easter Holidays for three nights. Yes there is construction going on in the hotel, but since we were out and about all day, the construction did not effect us. Our room with two compfy, delicious queen beds was spacious, great towels and robes. A huge closet for our luggage too. Location is outstanding. Right now the pool & hot tub are closed along with the rooftop bar - and they should be open in the weeks ahead. Our last morning we had breakfast in the lovely restaurant and had trout & eggs - a must - only in Santa Fe - so yummy!!! Don't miss out on a walking tour of Santa Fe which begins in the lobby on specific dates. The concierge staff are gems!!! The front desk associates are wonderful too, very helpful. We love La Fonda!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available, spacious and sunny. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.