We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fonda Is Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rooms from $219
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“La Fonda Is Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

La Fonda is Santa Fe, as I have often heard. Now I know why. This iconic hotel is located next to the Santa Fe Plaza, but somehow it is more the Plaza than the Plaza is. The real Plaza is just a greensward with the Palace of the Governors flanking it on one side. The lobby of La Fonda is the real meeting place in town where you come to be seen and to see and observe others--- either that or the Bell Tower Bar on the 5th floor. You can catch all sorts of interesting bits of conversation. You might meet anybody from your next door neighbor to a movie mogul. The lobby has at least three restaurants including The French Pastry Restaurant, La Plazuela, and a bar and grill where U.S. army operatives used to hide out during World War 2 looking for Russian undercover agents who came to Santa Fe to spy on Los Alamos. There are art galleries just like outside as well as clothing and handbag shops. It's like Santa Fe in miniature all under one roof.

Room Tip: I didn't stay here because it's not pet-friendly. Otherwise it's the only place to be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    328
    85
    36
    38
See reviews for
228
615
66
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain, Co
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was our pleasure to have been able to spend one night at this luxurious hotel right in the thick of things in Santa Fe. We were impressed with every aspect of this beautiful old hotel which was being renovated yet you wouldn't notice. There was no construction noise whatsoever. The staff were friendly and very helpful and we had breakfast and dinner in the beautiful La Plazuela at La Fonda restaurant (huevos rancheros for breakfast and steak fajita for dinner). It was comforting to see that we had a concierge desk right near our room which made things easier when checking out. Free and secure parking and free Wi-Fi were also important to us on our 5-state and 9-night road trip throughout the southwest. I loved the furnishings of the hotel and the beds and bed linen were deliciously comfortable. Our room was wonderfully spacious and we had a little balcony which looked out at the cathedral behind the hotel. The bathroom is exceptionally beautiful and their toiletries are top notch. I loved the upmarket stores in the hotel and spent much time looking around. I would highly recommend you consider this hotel as a place to stay. It's central and convenient to all things in Santa Fe as well as being a famous landmark. We felt so "grown up" and I cannot wait to come back for a second visit. I will be posting our travel story on my website (hopefully by April 20, 2013) if you'd like more information.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm sure La Fonda gets a lot of good reviews as a hotel, but I would like to report on their performance at a special event we attended there last month. It was a 70th birthday celebration held in the New Mexico Room and attended by about 100 people. The most remarkable thing was the exceptional food and service...almost never happens with a big buffet in my experience. We were greeted by a server with a tray full of margaritas...the rest of the evening followed just as delightfully! Considering a hotel where you can hold a special event in Santa Fe? I recommend the La Fonda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My Aunt & I spent a lovely time at La Fonda over the Easter Holidays for three nights. Yes there is construction going on in the hotel, but since we were out and about all day, the construction did not effect us. Our room with two compfy, delicious queen beds was spacious, great towels and robes. A huge closet for our luggage too. Location is outstanding. Right now the pool & hot tub are closed along with the rooftop bar - and they should be open in the weeks ahead. Our last morning we had breakfast in the lovely restaurant and had trout & eggs - a must - only in Santa Fe - so yummy!!! Don't miss out on a walking tour of Santa Fe which begins in the lobby on specific dates. The concierge staff are gems!!! The front desk associates are wonderful too, very helpful. We love La Fonda!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available, spacious and sunny. We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Super great location to step out and walk around the plaza. Old interesting Spanish style but the hallways seem dated and overdone with too much art. Rooms are ok, clean, a couple are spartan. The pool has been closed each of the three times we stayed. The hot tub is a strange crescent shape design and seems outdated. If being on the plaza is your priority this is the place otherwise many nicer choices are not too far away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the La Fonda. The rooms are definitely in need of renovation. We knew that the hotel was under renovation, but did not expect to hear jack hammers up til 9 pm. The noise started again Sunday morning at 7:30 am. Unbelievable! Also, the windows were filthy from construction dirt and blocked by scaffolding. When we reported the noise at the front desk, we were given free parking - big deal! Price was way too high for all of the inconveniences we had to put up with during their construction.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I apologize for the unexpected disruptions associated with our renovation project. Thank you for taking the time to note your experiences – we greatly appreciate any feedback regarding the construction at hand. Typically, our contractors complete any task that requires loud equipment by 6 p.m. I’m very sorry that there was still noise occurring past that hour during your stay and that your exchange with our front desk staff was disappointing. Again, thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. In the future I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in one of our remodeled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I preface this by saying we have never stayed overnight at La Fonda. That being said, we spend a lot of time in and around the La Fonda building every time we go to Santa Fe. La Fonda is an old historic inn and for that it is worth a walk through the lobby and halls to see the old architecture and southwestern decor. You can also get a fabulous meal there. The lobby buffet bar is excellent for an informal lunch/drink and a welcome break from walking and shopping. The atrium restaurant is lovely and the food is good too. I do recommend making a reservation there. Beside that, the halls are full of art work and the adjoining arcade shops are some of the best on the Plaza. The La Fonda complex takes up an entire block. As an extra, the covered parking garage is an excellent, centrally located facility that is reasonable and safe. Friends say that the hotel rooms are currently undergoing some extensive and long over due renovations at this time but I understand that there are some rate specials and that the construction crews have limited work hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.