We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond of La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fond of La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here during a quick visit to Santa Fe. The hotel is wonderful - historic, beautifully decorated, nice amenities, and a friendly staff. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation, and as a result, they're offering some great rates. The work caused no inconvenience or disturbance while we were there.

Enjoyed the restaurants during our visit. One for drinks and the other for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    260
    71
    33
    38
See reviews for
184
476
55
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here during a meeting. My room was very dark with hardly any day light. There is a lot of construction going on in the building, therefore there was a constant noise level during the day. There are better options in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This place has it all! Location couldn't be better - directly on the plaza. The rooms are perfectly new mexican. Staff is super friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The lobby is welcoming and cozy and going back to our room felt like home. I look forward to my next visit to Santa Fe and will definitely stay at La Fonda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

La Fonda on the Plaza is a treat for all the senses. Fine food, great personnel (especially Jeremy at the desk who helped us tremendously when we arrived late at night), and atmosphere with a capital 'A'. Loved being so close to the Plaza and its vendors. A nearby walk up Canyon Rd is good exercise for the body and your artistic senses. Don't miss sitting in La Fiesta lounge and enjoying the band and the locals who come in to dance. Busy but not crowded; no pressure if you just want to sit and sip and soak up the Santa Fe nightlife. At breakfast in La Plazuela order anything which has the ham shanks! Outstanding! La Fonda is a fine mix of history, art and hospitality. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nancy Helman was concierge during our stay in Santa Fe, at least at the time we were wondering about the next day's opportunities, and she, specifically, made a huge difference in the value of our time in the area: she provided information about the annual dances occurring on the plazas at San Ildefonso Pueblo - such a rare and interesting event to witness. She had helpful tips about road trips - such as the gorge up by Taos, the Santuario in Chimayo, the museum at Los Alamos and the caldera west of Los Alamos. She's a great asset to the hotel and its guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

but perhaps January is not the best time to enjoy all the amenities they offer. It was too cold to sit on our lovely terrace or soak in the hot tub (though we would have considered it if we'd remembered to bring swim suits...) We did enjoy the beautiful and generous complimentary fruit and cheese tray and champagne that were waiting for us when we returned to our room after checking in. And the view of the cathedral was wonderful. We didn't opt for room service breakfast, which was included in the rate, but instead were able to enjoy breakfast from the menu at La Plazuela dining room with the complimentary newspaper at our doorstep. The concierge in the Terrace area helped us find galleries we were interested in, and Steve Wimmer, the concierge on the main floor, was a wealth of information about Santa Fe and helped us plan our day trip to Las Vegas, Nevada. We loved our stay in the Terrace Room of La Fonda--the room was huge, with a sitting area, mini-refrigerator, complimentary coffee and waters, desk area, huge bathroom with tub and walk in shower for two, and of course wonderful bath amenities.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Terrace level rooms-expensive, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I visited Santa Fe in October, 2013. We had a wonderful vacation and one of the reasons is because of our stay at the La Fonda. It is located right on the plaza in historic Santa Fe. We were so happy to be able to walk right out of the hotel door and be in the middle of all the activities at the plaza. All the shops, restaurants and many of the historic sites were right there. All the hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.