We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fonda Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #8 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Chanhassen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Fonda Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

La Fonda on the Plaza is a treat for all the senses. Fine food, great personnel (especially Jeremy at the desk who helped us tremendously when we arrived late at night), and atmosphere with a capital 'A'. Loved being so close to the Plaza and its vendors. A nearby walk up Canyon Rd is good exercise for the body and your artistic senses. Don't miss sitting in La Fiesta lounge and enjoying the band and the locals who come in to dance. Busy but not crowded; no pressure if you just want to sit and sip and soak up the Santa Fe nightlife. At breakfast in La Plazuela order anything which has the ham shanks! Outstanding! La Fonda is a fine mix of history, art and hospitality. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    239
    68
    33
    39
See reviews for
169
431
55
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nancy Helman was concierge during our stay in Santa Fe, at least at the time we were wondering about the next day's opportunities, and she, specifically, made a huge difference in the value of our time in the area: she provided information about the annual dances occurring on the plazas at San Ildefonso Pueblo - such a rare and interesting event to witness. She had helpful tips about road trips - such as the gorge up by Taos, the Santuario in Chimayo, the museum at Los Alamos and the caldera west of Los Alamos. She's a great asset to the hotel and its guests

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

but perhaps January is not the best time to enjoy all the amenities they offer. It was too cold to sit on our lovely terrace or soak in the hot tub (though we would have considered it if we'd remembered to bring swim suits...) We did enjoy the beautiful and generous complimentary fruit and cheese tray and champagne that were waiting for us when we returned to our room after checking in. And the view of the cathedral was wonderful. We didn't opt for room service breakfast, which was included in the rate, but instead were able to enjoy breakfast from the menu at La Plazuela dining room with the complimentary newspaper at our doorstep. The concierge in the Terrace area helped us find galleries we were interested in, and Steve Wimmer, the concierge on the main floor, was a wealth of information about Santa Fe and helped us plan our day trip to Las Vegas, Nevada. We loved our stay in the Terrace Room of La Fonda--the room was huge, with a sitting area, mini-refrigerator, complimentary coffee and waters, desk area, huge bathroom with tub and walk in shower for two, and of course wonderful bath amenities.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Terrace level rooms-expensive, but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I visited Santa Fe in October, 2013. We had a wonderful vacation and one of the reasons is because of our stay at the La Fonda. It is located right on the plaza in historic Santa Fe. We were so happy to be able to walk right out of the hotel door and be in the middle of all the activities at the plaza. All the shops, restaurants and many of the historic sites were right there. All the hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you truly want to experience authentic Santa Fe you must stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. My room included a wood Kiva fireplace, a gorgeous Frida Kahlo-esque King size bed with sumptuous down duvet, hand painted folk art furniture and an enormous balcony with a view of the Cathedral...I was treated like a queen. As a woman travelling alone to attend an art seminar, I truly appreciated the kindness of the staff who got to know me during my 6 day visit. Kudos especially to Isabel who has worked in the tavern for more than 31 years. She loves her job and she spreads the joy. Music abounds everywhere in this hotel from nightly country swing or blues to a random jazz flavored mariachi band to the flute player who piped me home as I departed. The hotel is a gallery of never ending framed vintage photographs or posters or paintings...the Plazuela restaurant is a twinkling bit of magic with interior fountain and delicious food. Fires blaze in the many kivas throughout the hotel, in front of which invitingly deep club chairs beg to be sat upon...and where conversation is bound to erupt with strangers who are soon fast friends. Will I be back? Oh Yes! Thank you La Fonda for your graciousness and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for room 272
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Santa Fe is blessed with any number of fine hotels, Inns and nightly lodgings. At the top for us stands the historic and fashionable La Fonda. Not only does this grand and attractive hotel offer so many amenities, including a cozy dark lounge, fine gift shop and other shops inside its concourse, its rooms are well appointed and the place is ideally located to enjoy a day of perusing the many shops, stores, Native American offerings and eateries that proliferate the Plaza and downtown area. And the restaurant off the lobby is one of Santa Fe's nicest and most attractive, charming and romantic, not to mention its guacamole prepared at tableside that is as good as guacamole ever gets anywhere in the Southwest. Be sure the catch the sunsets with a cocktail in the bell tower: An indelible memory if there ever was one.

Room Tip: Explain what you need when you make your reservation. They will help for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous with all the charm New Mexico has to offer. Right in the center of the Plaza you are within complete walking distance to all shops and restaurants as well as the Rail Runner. Our deluxe room was beautiful with a comfortable king size bed and small living room area with sleeper sofa and desk; bathroom was clean and spacious with a nice little vanity area for my dolling up. We attended mass right next door at the beautiful historic St. Francis Cathedral and watched the pro bowl at STATS sports bar located a couple blocks from the hotel. Staff was more than friendly and informative about where to go for cocktails, dancing and shopping. We can't wait to go again. If your are in New Mexico's capital you absolutely have to stay here!

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are spacious and convenient for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;