We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fonda Hotel in Sante Fe is an excellent place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“La Fonda Hotel in Sante Fe is an excellent place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I are artists and wanted a short weekend holiday. We are staying at the La Fonda Hotel in Sante Fe, NM and our stay has been excellent. The room is quaint and clean, very comfortable. The staff has been friendly and helpful--love the sitting area with the fireplace.
Can't beat the location--just a short walk to near by resturants, shops and galleries. We highly recommend this hotel for your next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    271
    72
    33
    38
See reviews for
187
505
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed one night at La Fonda in Santa Fe, wished it had been longer. The room was very comfortable - although the small step up to the ample bathroom was a slightly unpleasant surprise at 2am. The dining room was a knockout, and the food superb! The staff was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was so hoping to love this place after reading so many positive reviews and going to Santa Fe on business, looking forward to local flavor in an old hotel, but I was really disappointed. I realize they are going through a renovation, but did not see many negative reviews related to this and was happy to get the "renovation rate" almost half off. I cannot imagine paying full price for this place. Well, this hotel desperately needs an update and I hope things improve after the renovation, but would NOT stay there in the meantime. I am not a hotel snob, having stayed at many a Motel 6 in my time. However when traveling for work I need two things in a hotel: a good night's sleep and a place to get work done. This hotel offered neither. While I agree the place is charming, loaded with old New Mexico flavor, loved all the tile and southwest atmosphere as well as the central plaza location, the room was awful. Really awful. It was very dated, dirty and dingy with a ripped, stained carpet that I did not want to walk barefoot on. The linens smelled like too many chemicals tried to clean them with scratchy thin towels. Cheap, plastic trash cans, dirty draperies, everything worn and tired. I've had cleaner more comfortable rooms in a Motel 6 at half the price, admittedly without the cool Mexican tile. I had the misfortune of having the room at the end of the ground floor, right next to the construction, which was incredibly noisy during the day, as well as housekeeping who cleaned and talked loudly right outside my room well past 10PM. The walls were thin, hearing other rooms' plumbing, the elevator and many conversations. And as far as needing to do work in the room, aside from the unbearable construction noise, the desk chair was very uncomfortable and the only outlet available required that I crawl under a desk to plug in my laptop. I charged my phone in the bathroom. As none of this was acceptable, I asked for a new room and was offered one over $100 more per night or a much smaller, noisier second floor option (if you are above the front desk/lounge it's noisy til past 11PM). So instead I moved to the much quieter and more comfortable Eldorado for just $30 more, after just one intolerable night. I hope the renovation provides much needed improvement. The staff was helpful, but not without attitude. I was not one minute off the phone with Travelocity trying to cancel my reservation when housekeeping was at the door to clean the room. I will say it was one of the more charming exercise rooms I have ever been in and the hotel restaurant was quite good, and, again, filled with southwest charm. I hope the hotel can add that, and comfort, back to their rooms.

Room Tip: Not room 101, anything on the plaza side should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
All of us at La Fonda are very excited about our guest room renovation. Construction projects of this size and nature are always challenging. We strive to offer professional service in a relaxing environment at all times. I’m sorry to learn that our current renovation efforts resulted in a disrupting stay. I apologize. Your feedback helps us ensure that our renovated guest rooms surpass expectations of comfort and efficiency. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel was fabulous- the ambience of being in the heart of Santa Fe, the architecture of the interior, the art work, very friendly staff, very comfortable bed and room, and the restaurant downstairs has such delicious food. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at La Fonda on the Plaze last weekend for four days and had a wonderful experience. This is a great hotel! The location is outstanding - walk out the front door and you are right on the plaza, convienent to shops, restaurants, Canyon Road, museums, St Franscis cathedral, ect. The decor throughout the hotel, including the rooms is all Santa Fe style and provides a true Santa Fe experience. In the restaurant the food was great and the portions good size (especially breakfast). We ate in the restaurant numerous times and each time the staff was friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to be around. This was true for all the hotel staff - very friendly and helpful. The bar had great ambiance and a live band - we all enjoyed ending our nights with a toast and a couple of dances. Our rooms were great - nice size, great decor, with an outside balcony. We all commented on how comfortable the beds were. My family was from out of town and kept commenting thorughout the weekend what a great job I did in finding this hotel. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It was fanstatic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Beautiful art everywhere you look in this historic hotel. We had a gorgeous room courtesy of an upgrade and the advice of the wonderful concierge. Absolutely every staff member embodies the meaning of Customer Service. We will go back again and again!

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms are gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went for a quick weekend.
It surprised us that the staff upgraded rooms at no cost to us and it was a fantastic up grade.
Food in the restaurants was wonderful. Room service was excellent and the food was FANTASTIC!
Over all a great place to stay quiet rooms with very nice beds.
We did pick the coldest weekend of the year; that meant more time inside and we could not have had a better place to stay.
Lovely atmosphere.
Will stay there again!

Room Tip: two couples ask for 500 and 501 two king rooms with 2 private baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.