We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at a quaint location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service at a quaint location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at La Fonda (23rd & 24th of December), and we couldn't be more pleased. The location was ideal, and the hotel itself was quaint, warm, cozy & vintage- yet not falling apart, we had everything we needed in our room. The staff were very friendly, especially Brenda & Jeremy at the front desk & the concierge, Nancy, was incredibly helpful and provided assistance with last minute dinner reservations and tips on how early to arrive for the Christmas Eve midnight mass service.
The restaurant food was authentic & delicious, and we also ordered room service Christmas morning which arrived earlier than promised despite how busy the restaurant was preparing for the Christmas brunch.
We were very pleased with the stay, and will definitely try and stay here again next time we come to Santa Fe. Although we don't have children yet, the hotel appears to be very family friendly and wouldn't hesitate to come back with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    263
    72
    33
    39
See reviews for
185
491
57
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My family and I have stay at the La Fonda every time we visit Santa Fe which is usually several times a year. We like to stay on the La Terraza floor. On our last stay we were thoroughly disappointed by the lack of respect shown to us by most of the management. After failing to honor the original room price they quoted us, the preceded to talk down to us like children. Even the general manager could not give us an explanation as to why our rooms were more expensive than our friend's room who stayed the exact same time and booked a year in advance as we did. We are saddened that the hotel suffers from extremely poor management. Needless to say we are going to try a new hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
La Fonda on the Plaza’s greatest asset is the loyalty of our guests. I’d like to sincerely thank you for your return business year after year. Rates do change throughout the year, so there very well could have been a difference between your friend’s room rate and yours. I apologize for the confusion and hope that we have the opportunity to host you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an older property, but it has much charm. Handpainted furniture, cozy rooms, great beds and pillows linen. Bathrooms are small, but okay. Service is wonderful. We did not have internet access for almost an entire day, for some reason, and we were given a comp dinner - from appetizers and drinks to an excellent entree', dessert and coffee. The main restaurant is great. The cafe offers a lunch buffet with delicious Mexican food. There is also a wonderful pastry shop/coffee house. You can walk everywhere from La Fonda. It's so central! We are definitely going back. Staff impressed us! Power went out for a couple of hours and the staff made sure everyone was okay, were apologetic (apparently when it rains, that part of Santa Fe has some issues with power from time to time). All in all, a great stay. We were told by friends that La Fonda could be 'noisy', but we did not experience that at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I went to Santa Fe for Georgia O;Keeffe's 125th birthday. La Fonda had a special for 5 days which they had emailed me as I was on their email list. They keep track of potential guests. Good idea.
They are on the main plaza and extremely convenient. From check-in to check-out , they were great. Professional. Room was excellent, clean, great bathroom and decorated in good southwest design. That 'package' special included a full breakfast in the main dining room. I ate most dinners there also and the food was excellent. Wait staff great and friendly. The decor is georgeous and tasteful Southwest. There were lots of families.I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This wonderful and historic hotel is right (RIGHT) in the center of downtown Santa Fe. You will love the location and the walk-to everything was fabulous. We enjoyed our room which wasn't huge but had plenty of space, and had a wonderful historic feel. The bathroom was great, and even though they are going through rennovations, it was fabulous. We had a spectacular dinner right in the hotel and loved it. We also had breakfast in the restaraunt, and it exceeded expectations as well. Just lovely. DOn't miss it.

Room Tip: We had room 408-- 4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Good location in the hotel and a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Had a business trip into Santa Fe and decided to stay at the LaFonda again....great stay like last time. Rooms were clean and comfortable....small bathroom, but it's is part of the history of the place. Front desk is very helpful, didn't eat in the restaurant, but looked like it had a full house. Grabbed a burger and a beer while watching the country western band and dancers. Very good food and good staff. Will continue to make this one of my stops when in town.

Room Tip: Ask about the room that looks out over the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Before I moved to Santa Fe (4 years ago), I stayed at the La Fonda twice. One weekend the room was cozy and inviting, but the next trip the room was small and cozy, but the window was nailed shut. I didn't complain because I was so in love with the hotel and its Santa Fe style. After moving to Santa Fe, my family has been going to the hotel for Thanksgiving buffet. For two years in a row we were seated in the La Plazuela dining room. We enjoyed a lovely, casual and relaxing meal in a beautiful dining room. We expected the same experience this year, but it didn't happen. We were ushered into another dining room, which gave the feeling of a cheap wedding reception dining hall. There was no festive feeling at all. No attempt to decorate. We were seated next to the door to the kitchen. I could feel the waiters brushing by me as they hurriedly rushed around. My chair was wobbly. I moved closer to the other two at the table. So, the three of us were in a row. I ordered a Mexican coffee. The coffee was terrible, weak and I swear there was no alcohol in the drink, but I didn't complain. I ordered a beer. The food was OK. I don't know if there was two types of gravy, but the one I tried did not complement my food. The waiters, etc. were rushing around so much, it was not a relaxing environment. Someone came around asking if we everything was OK. I said it wasn't as good as last year. He said "well the food is the same."


I am a permanent vendor at the Tesuque Flea Market. I work so hard to make my booth a special experience for the locals and tourists. If I don't, they won't come back. Well, I won't be going back to the La Fonda for a holiday meal. Oh, our bill was $266.00. That is almost my rent for one month at the flea market. Once a year I wouldn't complain about the bill if our experience had been a memorable one. I felt the hotel was just trying to get us in an out.

I wouldn't still be thinking about this if I hadn't gone into the hotel after Thanksgiving. I have been in this hotel many times in the past four years after Thanksgiving. I have never seen it decorated so festively. The holiday touches can be seen everywhere. It is beautiful. So, I just don't see why absolutely no attempt to make a few festive touches in the side dining room at Thanksgiving was made. There was no attempt. I could have been at the Furr's buffet in August.

I am sure no one will see this, but if you do beware. I still love the charm of the hotel, but I will be trying a different hotel next year for my holiday meal.

If you want an unique, inexpensive gifts, please check out the Tesuque Flea Market.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.