We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the La Fonda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the La Fonda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Where to begin? My husband and I traveled to Santa Fe to celebrate his birthday. We decided to stay at the La Fonda because of its location to the Plaza. We did not have a car this trip so we wanted to be able to walk everywhere. The location is perfect! We arrived quite late on a Saturday night and we were greeted warmly. Our room was lovely and warm and romantic and had a wood-burning fireplace in it. There was a wonderful bottle of wine and a nice birthday card awaiting my husband in the room. What a thoughtful gesture! The room was VERY large as was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and we rested well every night. The hotel was decorated beautifully for Christmas and we enjoyed noticing new decorations daily. The hotel staff could not be more friendly or helpful. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had drinks and dinner in the bar and a birthday dinner in the restaurant (all reviewed separately). Our server in the bar, Isabel, was exceptional. We followed her recommendations and they were great. There is a great wood-burning fireplace in the lobby and we sat in front of it and read the paper every day -- it was like being in our own cozy living room. As others noted, this La Fonda is about to undergo renovations. Consequently, the room rate was excellent -- a very good value. We look forward to returning to the La Fonda soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    304
    79
    34
    38
See reviews for
214
571
61
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Comeon' guys...I read some nasty reviews of LaFonda and I have to respond.
We were very pleasantly surprised at every turn with our stay there recently. While our room was not large by any stretch, it was pleasant and we knew going in that this was an older property and thus did not expect things to be untra modern and slick. In fact that was part of the charm. The location of Lafonda alone is worth an amazing amount, plus having covered parking at a reasonable $12/day. The breakfast was super good and my wife mentioned it was my birthday. The waiter, Gerardo, came back later with a giant cinnamon roll with a candle in it to celebrate. When we left, 3 staff gave me happy birthday greetings as we walked out...how they knew was a mystery. The cocktail waitress has worked there for 31 years. The recent retired bellman/jack of all trades for 60. This is a family owned and operated hotel and not some uncaring chain. This type of property is fast disappearing and we need to support them. The hotel is just starting a hugely expensive renovation which will make it more fastidious for those who retch at the sight of a frayed carpet, etc. but it will retain its charm, although a polished charm. I cannot say enough good things about our stay and the staff who made us feel like kings when the restaurant at a competing hotel down the street tried to charge us for the "free" birthday goodies. Stay here and you will see for yourself.

Room Tip: Try for the king rooms...they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Fantastic family stay. Understated, elegance. Loved our rooms and the unique historic charm of this fantastic landmark!

I think our favorite thing was soaking in the hot tub, looking up at the view of the cathedral, while the snow was falling last night. Just breath taking!

Room Tip: Book rooms on the Tarraza Level - beautiful, quiet large rooms with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandia Park, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you want the full flavor of Santa Fe, the La Fonda Hotel is the place to stay. We went to a wedding there on December 1, 2012. The hotel is very close to the square and it was decorated with beautiful lights, as was the hotel. There is so much history in this city, and when you walk into the La Fonda you feel it, The food at the reception was excellent, as well as the wedding cake. We really enjoyed the hot cider during the cocktail hour. We also enjoyed the French Bakery ( which is accessible to the hotel without going outside) for coffee. Lots of old world furnishings and architecture flow through the entire hotel. The reception hall had stain glass skylights, beautiful!
You will know you have been to Santa Fe after visiting this hotel, close to St. Francis Cathedral and walking distance to the infamous Loretto Chapel with its miraculous staircase.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel in and of itself was great!! They had an amazing staff and it was a great atmosphere to be in! My auntie had her wedding at La Fonda it was truly a delight to see how the staff accommodated her and the whole 2 extended families that were there, it was spectacular. The La Fonda had a New Mexico feel to it which was great to bring people who had never been to this state before! Where the hotel was positioned is perfect for historic adventures and the artwork in the hotel told its own story! The front desk was very quick and efficient with both checking in and out, everything definitely felt so organized.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The staff is amazing, always accommodating and so helpful. My husband and I came with my entire family for a wedding and they were always had so much information to provide to us when asking any question: where to eat, where to shop, anything. The rooms are all beautiful, so clean, very antique and quaint. There is nothing more that I could have asked for from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel is a real jewel on the beautiful historic plaza of Santa Fe. We were there for a wedding and the staff was so extremely helpful and really interested that we had a wonderful experience. Loved our room, it was very quiet and uniquely decorated just like the brochure described. The decor really fits the area. The food in the restaurant was superb, the wait staff very attentive without hovering. This is a place that is worth returning to. We would like to try the private Terrace rooms also, a little more expensive but it would be fun to stay in that area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.