We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
“This place is amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is such an awesome place to stay. The service was great, the rooms were so comfortable and clean. My dad's cousin had her wedding there so that's why we stayed there. But the venue was beautiful for both ceremony and reception. The food... spectacularly delicious! We were served steak, mashed potatoes, and green beans. I didn't hear one complaint about ANYTHING! Amazing amazing location to stay! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone that visits Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    244
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
175
439
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stumbled upon this hotel while visiting Santa Fe. We checked the rates and they were very reasonable, much more reasonable than we thought it would be. Everything was great. The hotel is very old, well kept and totally quaint.

It really gave us a feel for the Santa Fe area. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely pleasant and made you feel welcome.

The only downside was that we had to leave and couldn't spend another night and enjoy not only the hotel but the Santa Fe area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

No complaints for La Fonda. We've now stayed there twice, each time in November...a lovely time to visit Santa Fe! I love the farolitos along many of the downtown building walls. Santa Fe with a dusting of snow is lovely too. This trip we had no snow, just lovely sunny days and crisp nights. La Fonda remains a wonderful location and a very comfortable hotel full of character. I'm curious what is going to be renovated in the next year or so. I hope they keep all the folk art paintings in the rooms and halls!!!

We had a balcony room this time, facing Loretto Chapel. Beautiful location. The streets are quiet, noise did not bother us at all. Previously we'd also been on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool and with a side view to the cathedral. I like being on the 3rd floor. We did have noisy neighbors one evening. The walls weren't as thick as I had thought they were! Normally we do not hear neighbors so these two may have been especially loud. Or drunk.

We especially love that the outdoor pool and hot tub are kept open in winter. What a treat! Also appreciate the included wireless internet. The $12 fee for parking isn't too steep, and when compared to other destination cities, very low. We didn't eat at any of the locations within the building this time. The main restaurant's food smelled and looked very good. There was a fun band playing in the lounge one evening as well, though no dancing for me this trip. Next time!

Room Tip: I enjoy having a high floor. A balcony room is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

You can pay more in Santa Fe I suppose, but why?
The La Fonda is *the* historical hotel and you're right on the plaza.
Wonderful staff, excellent dining, and the rooms are spic-and-span... And quiet.
You will find excellent entertainment most evenings.
Plus the La Fonda manages subtle incorporation of modern convenience.
This is the local's favorite - authentically Santa Fe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We like older hotels with "charm" and this one has both those qualities. In addition, it is pet friendly, and that plays a big part in our choosing a hotel. When we arrived with our well mannered, medium-sized dog (none of that "under 20 lb." stuff), I was asked to sign a well written "pledge" to insure our dog was not left in the room barking or causing any disturbance. Then they presented her with a gift bag with a very nice toy and hand made dog-treat! All three of us were delighted from that point on!
The linens were very nice and the room was appointed with hand painted furniture that that a very Southwest feel. The staff was friendly and helpful. We sat by one of the fireplaces on evening and enjoyed short chats with other guests.
We got a good online price and in a town of lovely inns, would say this one still ranks highl

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This an oldie but googy hotel. Located downtown on the plaza in Santa Fe, it has history as well as ambience. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful, and the restaurants found both in and near the hotel are excellent. Did I mention that the staff are professional, helpful and pleasant? We have lived in Santa Fe for 40 years, but this was our first time spent as lodgers in La Fonda. Highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Plaza or of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment we walked in the foyer, we felt special. The southwest decor is fantastic; the front desk staff are pleasant and helpful; the location right on the plaza is exceptional; the rooms are neat and tidy; the La Fonda restaurant food is delicious, and there's a covered garage for your car. We happened to get a package that included breakfast and free parking at a special room rate and we definitely know we got our money's worth. My husband and I enjoyed our stay tremendously and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.