We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Terrace!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beware of the Terrace!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After discussing our options over the phone with the hotel, we chose one of the Terrace Suites because of the great city views, and the private balcony. We were only there for one night, and when we returned from our dinner to enjoy the terrace, we discovered it had been rented out to a private reception. There were literally people sitting on the wall of our balcony drinking beer. The front desk said "sorry, it will last until 11:00." The next morning, we again looked forward to our private balcony only to discover hotel staff setting up for a wedding right outside our patio. If you are considering booking a terrace suite, be sure to ask if there are any plans for the terrace!

Everything else was great. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, breakfast in La Plazuela was outstanding, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    296
    77
    34
    38
See reviews for
210
553
61
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainier, Oregon
Top Contributor
499 reviews 499 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We actually didn't stay here, but we came over every night to have margaritas on the roof-top bar and watch the sun set. Truly a magnificent event, particularly when there are thunderstorms on the horizon. Then have dinner in the hotel restaurant. Also great New Mexican cuisine.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere cheaper, but enjoy the rooftop bar and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

OK, it's not a four-star hotel, let alone a five-star hotel, but neither are other one around the Plaza (I won't name names but there's one next to the Cathedral which doesn't have any better rooms, cost $ 100 more a night and has $ 20 hamburgers (doesn't include cheese or fries)) which are more expensive, not as convenient and friendly and are basically the same quality. Good: adjacent complimentary garage parking; very friendly staff; great main restaurant; live music seven nights a week; free wi-fi; in-hotel French bakery and coffee shop; very affordable. Bad: small bathrooms; very basic rooms. The hotel rooms are clean and quiet and the hotel itself is historic. I've stayed in all of the surrounding, more expensive hotels between Alameda and the Plaza and now I stay exclusively at La Fonda.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Room carpet was so dirty my wife didn't feel comfortable with our child sitting on it. There were actually holes in the carpet and it was threadbare. The air conditioning did not adequately cool the room. The lobby was beautiful but the room, for which we paid $400, was a dump. We complained to the hotel and they did nothing. The service and food were OK but not as good as such an expensive hotel should be. A very disappointing experience. There must be better places to stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband, baby daughter, and I stayed for 5 nights in a room on the 4th floor, right next to the (noisy) elevator. The furnishings are charming, but there is so much about the room that needed updating. Few accessible outlets, chintzy 80s-style mirror on the wall,leaking faucets on the bathroom sink, and gaps in the tile behind the faucets on the bathtub. The toiletries seemed like a collection that a business traveler would amass at home. Any given day, we had about 3 different brands of soap, shampoo, lotion, and conditioner in our bathroom. It was bizarre, and one of many small but important details that gives the impression that the management is coasting on the hotel's central location and not paying any attention to the whole hotel experience.

The windows didn't all close properly, and the middle window was missing a screen. The cabinet with the mini fridge had seen better days, as had the fridge. Our AC unit was clinging to life. If we turned it off, it wouldn't turn back on, so maintenance had to check it out several times.

The worst, by far, were the mattresses on the two beds. First, the lack of fitted bottom sheets is bizarre. Second, the mattresses were so lumpy and overused, it gave me the creeps. The sides of the bed that had held many a hotel guest over the years were completely depressed, while the middle and ends of the mattresses were still fairly plush. It just underscored how many people had slept on the beds since the mattresses were replaced. I don't even want to think about it. It contributed to 5 nights of pretty mediocre sleep.

Room service was prompt, and the more informal restaurant and french pastry shop both had good food.

The pool was nice, but it's a shame that you have to swim with a view of the parking garage.

The rooms (or at least our room) seriously needs some attention. Yes, the furniture is charming, but there are so many things about the room that screamed 1985 Comfort Inn. If you want an upscale room experience, this is absolutely not the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the La Fonda on the tail end of our road trip. I wanted a place close to the plaza and city center and based on the reviews that I read reserved a room for our stay. It is excellently located and after parking the car in their parking garage, didn't need to take the car out for the entire stay in Santa Fe. The interior of the hotel and lobby is quite nice and we were charmed by the feel of it. Check in was a breeze and we were given a room on the second floor. The room was quite old. It looked clean but really dated and with it's reputation as being haunted, needless to say my daughter wasn't thrilled. This room anywhere else probably would be less than a hundred bucks a night, but it's right smack in the plaza and so convenient that I can see why they would demand as much as they did. I paid $1,000+ for the 3 nights after all the fees and felt like I paid way to much. Like I said, the room was extremely old and the bathroom just as bad...kind of knowing it's clean, but yet not feeling clean. After the first night, both my daughter and I got a couple of bug bites on our arms and legs so I asked for the sheets to be changed, and the subsequent nights were better. The overall service was good and the location great...but would I stay there again...no.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I live in Chandler AZ and my best friend from childhood lives in Indianapolis, IN. We share the same birthday, and we decided to celebrate our 60th birthday together in Santa Fe and stay at the La Fonda with our husbands. The pleasant experience began in the parking garage with helpful attendents and the bell staff. The front desk experience was way beyond expectations, especially due to a lovely lady named Brenda who was superb during our 2 night stay.

Upon entering our rooms, both my friend and I were absolutely thrilled that the Manager of Reservations had provided each of us with a nice bottle of red wine and hand written cards wishing us a happy birthday.

The restaurant at La Fonda is wonderful, especially for those of us who really enjoy Tex-Mex food, and the prices are reasonable for the quality and quantity of the food. Also, my husband and I think that the coffee at La Fonda is the best we have had anywhere.

La Fonda is eclectic, friendly and the service is excellent. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.