We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Santa Fe hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Santa Fe hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just spent four nights at La Fonda and had a wonderful experience overall. The hotel is in an excellent location and is full of southwestern ambiance and charm.

We went with my mother and had two Deluxe King rooms for a very good price. But, you must be aware that some rooms have been updated/remodeled and some have not. Our room was newly remodeled while my mom's next door was not, but we paid the same price. So, when making your reservation and when checking in, make sure you specifically ask for a "remodeled" room.

The concierge staff was excellent! The parking garage was convenient. The main restaurant was good and reasonably priced (but there are many excellent restaurants around the plaza area).

My only complaint was that the King size bed, which was very comfortable, was extremely high and difficult to climb into. This could be a challenge for some people.

I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a "remodeled/updated" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    658
    243
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
174
435
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a very historic (think Santa Fe trail) old hotel located right on the plaza in Santa fe... you can walk to everything. Altho' old, it has been updated & the rooms are large & comfortable. It has a good restraurant & a roof top bar for watching the sunset. We got a king at $129 + 12$ for parking so the price was good for the quality..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed a night at the La Fonda and enjoyed quite a lovely experience.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable. More importantly, the service we received was superb. I must commend the hotel for hiring such caring and helpful staff. Everyone was very kind and willing to go the extra mile - especially our bellman, David R., who not only took great care in helping us with our luggage and parking, but also made sure we were able to dine at our favorite restaurant in Santa Fe even though it was solidly booked for the night. Thank you, David!
Another who deserves special recognition is the sweet lady who checked us out, Brenda. Her beaming smile lit up the entire lobby! Thank you, all of La Fonda, for ensuring our time with you was so enjoyable and meaningful. Terry

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a great 1920's era hotel. The staff were especially helpful, friendly and well qualified. The common areas were in excellent condition and the room was nice and well furnished, respecting the original construction of he hotel. I would definately stay there again and recommend it to others.

The minor negatives: The carpets in the room corridors could have been better; the hotel has a lot of interesting history, but this was not presented.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I am currently staying at La Fonda. The room is one of the worst I have ever experienced. I used to stay here on business in the 90's and had fond memories. I am sorry to say that La Fonda has aged badly. Our room is TINY, very tired and nasty. The bathroom floor has not been cleaned in weeks. Seriously dirty. Photos to be posted.

A small flat screen tv is mounted on the wall. Reception is poor and grainy. If you want to watch a movie, even an old one, it will cost you between $12 and $17 each, plus tax. Remote control menu system is very difficult to navigate.

Our room has two double beds. One is shoved up against a dirty window and the other against an old-style wall aircon unit with balky dials. Air blows directly onto the person in this bed.

After four nights, the sheets have not been changed and the beds are minimally made each day. The room is just not clean..... Carpet, tiles, windows, sheets. Yuck.

I was looking forward to visiting what used to be one of my favorite NM hotels. This will be my last visit.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a room in the new section of this hotel. Very expensive for this area, however. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
While I was disappointed to read your recent post,I was thankful to learn that you were still a guest at La Fonda on the Plaza,andthat our Guest Services Director was able to offer you alternative accommodations within the hotel. I hope that your stay has greatly improved,and that you’ve rediscovered why La Fonda was/is your favorite hotel.

Thank you for noting your experience—regardless of the feedback,I always appreciate when guests care enough to inform us about where the property has room for improvement. Cleanliness is a priority of ours, so I was both surprised and shocked to read about the state of your bathroom floor. I have shared your review with our housekeeping department,and promise that this issue has been addressed. And,I’m sorry about your linen service. As we live in the high desert we are very conscious of the need to save water. Linens are turned after the fourth night,unless otherwise requested—in this case,we must have over-looked your request. Again,I’m sorry.

We truly appreciate your return business to La Fonda on the Plaza,and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

It's a once in a lifetime celebration and we made the mistake of booking at LaFonda based on the hype of its website and the convenient location right on the square. What especially caught my attention was the Mexican folk art headboard in the photos that appeared to make this hotel stand out from the other nice ones. Well, we arrived after a long drive from our home in southern NM tired and hungry about 7 PM only to be assigned what must have been the last room in the place (despite reservations made a month ahead of time). My first impression was that a Smurf had thrown up in the place. The lovely headboard in the photo turned out to be a Smurf-blue tacky design, as was the desk & chair, the dresser, the nightstands, coffeetable, side table, a small steamer-type trunk and the lamps---all in a tiny room that included a little alcove with an dingy appearing orange sofa blocking the only window (I thought we had reserved a room with a balcony). In order to get to that window, we had to STAND ON THE SOFA!! The bed looked comfy and there were lots of pillows but it was about 2 ft. away from a blasting air conditioning unit. Forget the authentic, historical ambience because some of us expect a bit more when we're paying $269 the first night and $359 the next night (weekend rates & tax - parking was separate at $12 a day). So we went to the front desk to say the room was unacceptable, only to be told they were full and we couldn't be moved. Back to the (shutter!!) room where I took out my laptop to try to find other accomodations. More surprises! So much for the free WiFi, but that wasn't half as bad as the fact that my husband couldn't get a cell phone signal to call other hotels! Talk about feeling trapped! So we had to use the land line and did find another place. With unpacked suitcase we went to the front desk to ask for a refund since we had prepaid. That's when we were told that because we had booked through an online source, we had to contact that source to get a refund. Subsequent phone conversations today with the reservations manager, it appears, will result in our being refunded only for the 2nd and 3rd nights (when the charge drops to $139), but not the initial night because of the HOTEL policy--and only if we pursue that refund on our own. The room assigned to us was tacky, and in need of a good cleaning starting with the carpet and drapes along with reupholstering the chair and the sofa (I wonder how many others stood on it to close the drapes). I'd recommend also removing the less-than-quality furniture that does nothing more than crowd the room. Many of the positive comments on this site tell me visitors stayed in remodeled sections or the Terrace. Clearly not all of LaFonda's rooms are of that quality and I would recommend that potential visitors to Santa Fe think long and hard about staying there. They should definitely not get swayed by the fancy website. The only positive feature is the location, right on the square--and, possibly, the restaurants that we didn't have an opportunity to try out.

Room Tip: Read the tips. We didn't and should have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. I am sorry that your stay was so short lived, and I was disappointed to learn about your frustration surrounding your time with us. Typically, we go out of our way to accommodate our guests when they are unhappy with their accommodations. As you are aware, the hotel was running at full capacity, so unfortunately, we were not able to provide an alternative room. Again, I apologize. I only wish we could have found means to enhance your stay while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Accompanied a friend who was attending a meeting at the hotel. In the heart of the old town, near cathedral and plaza. Rooms were comfy and quirky, bathroom was large. Coffee and mini-frig nice. Covered parking lot is small but affordable ($12/day).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.