We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added La Fonda on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Completely Renovated 2013
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Los Lunas, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent one night at the La Fonda hotel in Santa Fe. We had a deluxe one bedroom suite the room was beautiful the beds were wonderful and the veranda over looked the plaza which was breathtaking to say the least. Becky and Pauline who were taking care of the front desk were most delightful and attentive to our needs.we spent some time on the roof top bar which also had stunning views of the plaza.our only regret was that we could only spend one night ,but you can bet that we will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    666
    244
    69
    33
    39
See reviews for
176
440
55
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nm
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at La Fonda on the Plaza in Santa Fe NM
Would love to know what the comforter was that was on our bed so nice.
Was it down or feather?
Brenda was so nice in checking us out on Sat. morning.
We were in room 241

Room Tip: Most comfortable bed we had slept in on our trip to DS and Colo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

spacious, beautiful room overlooking the cathedral. super close to everything. friendly, problem-solving employees. will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We have stayed at the La Fonda on several occassions, but this is the first time we had a manager meet us at the entrance of the garage with a nice parking spot picked out for us. . . .talk about service! There were several desk clerks on duty so check-in was very fast. The room was small and tastefully decorated in a typical Southwestern style as are all the rooms. Drinks on the top floor by the elevator are fun, as is the view of the city. The lunch buffet in the bar is the best value in town. I don't think I have ever met a more friendly and accomodating staff. The La Fonda "is " the center of town!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Pros:

Location, location, location
Fabulous french patisserie in lobby - great lattes and bakery items
Excellent breakfast in lovely bright dining room - nothing cost more than $12 on the breakfast menu, same price for room service - Eggs Benedict, Omlettes etc.
Free wi fi
Complimentary water
Beautiful historic hotel - common areas expansive and pleasant
Great value for room - $200 a night in peak season
Very knowledgable concierge. Knows all the galleries, hours, special openings etc.
Hotel amenities - great shops to browse with good prices. Found a lovely sweater for $100 and nice jewelry for also less than $100.
Good snack shop with pop, snacks, cigars etc.
Friendly staff
Good wall mounted flat screen tv
Nice 5th floor bar with great views at sunset
Lots of hot water
Decent a/c
Our room was very quite - didn't hear a thing

Cons:

Room size
Overall room style
Small bathroom
Really outdated room
No view from room window
No patio
Water pressure for shower
Fan in bathroom
(usual room stuff in a historic hotel)

If you're not expecting a Four Seasons hotel room and are planning to spend most of your time out and about checking out the best of Santa Fe than this hotel is for you! Even our entry level room was fine with the right expectations. (Think European pension type accommodations) The food and art around town is hard to beat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your generous comments and your comprehensive review. We couldn’t agree more with your description of La Fonda as a “beautiful, historic hotel”. Our history, our location on the Plaza, our value and our knowledgeable staff really do set us apart. We also appreciate the mention of The Shops at La Fonda. Everything they offer is unique, sophisticated and creative so it’s no surprise that you found a few things to remind you of your visit. And – while many of our entry level rooms, to use your description, are traditional in size – we feel they are made more appealing by their unique décor and the up-to-date amenities. You will be pleased, by the way, to learn that we’re currently working on increasing water pressure to the rooms. So, when you return to La Fonda, you can anticipate an even better experience. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

If you want a state-of-the-art hotel with modern aesthetics, don't come here. If you want a trip back in time to the grand dame of old Santa Fe, La Fonda is your place. The hotel is old and its long, dark halls are reminiscent of an earlier era in hotel building. Rooms may seem small. But the lobby is humming with activity, the gift shops are brimming with local art, and the rooftop bar serves margaritas that are second to none. I was in Santa Fe for a conference and thrilled to get to stay in La Fonda so I could literally run down the block on my breaks to visit museums and galleries, window shop and view the crafts sold by Native Americans on the plaza. My only complaint involves the "conference food" we were served. For some reason conference organizers selected from the bland American menu instead of Southwestern specials for which La Plazuela restaurant is better known. I do not go to Santa Fe for mediocre pork medallions. Stick to the tortilla dishes and guacamole!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
I am so pleased that you took the time to let us know about your experience at La Fonda, that you enjoyed our historic ambience and that you are such a fan of authentic Santa Fe. I’m also glad that you took advantage of our convenient location on the Plaza – it’s one of the main reasons our guests choose to stay with us. Though your conference organizers may have been less adventurous than you would have liked when selecting the group catering menus, I hope your dining experience at La Plazuela made up for it! We look forward to seeing you again in Santa Fe – and at La Fonda. Thanks, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel is in a great location. If you're looking for a no frills property and something in standard southwestern style then this is definitely for you. We rented a delux king room and were pleased with the comfort of the bed, efficiency of the housekeeping staff, and on average the friendliness of the staff (the lady who checked us out was the only person who wasn't friendly). I would say this property is at best 3 star.

Room Tip: Go for the delux King
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. La Terraza concierge level offers 14 luxury accommodations. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.